We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mid-Range Hotel on Don Khoi”
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huong Sen Hotel
Ranked #53 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on the popular and tourist friendly street of Don Khoi. We stayed for 3 nights and booked for around 50-60 US prior to our arrival. We had a standard room facing the street which other reviewers said were noisy, I didn't think it was at all. The AC worked perfectly, nice laminate flooring, big firm bed, nice TV, and great bathroom. Only downfall of the bathroom is that there is a huge step-up and step-down from the tub so don't break your neck. The breakfast was very good and had a range of international and Vietnamese options. The pool on the top floor is really small but worth going for a dip in the hot weather. It's also very clean. The reception staff were very helpful and they answered so many questions about travelling etc. for us. Also, they booked us a bus with Phuong Trang (Orange travel coach buses - They'rethe best) and we were very grateful about that. The hotel is right near two giant and famous hotels - The Sheraton and the Caravelle and this place is very near all the hotspots of HCM. If ever back, I would definitely book the Huong Sen.

Room Tip: If you're coming from the airport, make sure you have the address. There are many hotels that ha...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOFlyHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Huong Sen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 590 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the Huong Sen Hotel is super - you have everything (attractions, the Saigon River, restaurants and shops) within walking distance. I wasn't nervous walking in the neighbourhood after dark on my own.
The staff are friendly and very helpful; I asked for directions and places to eat and always got very good advice.
My room was huge and very clean and the aircon worked well.
I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had previously stated in another hotel less than a block away but they had no availability.

Found this as close by and similar price but with a pool. Very refreshing after a day walking around HCM.

It was my partners birthday while we were there and when we returned to the room found a nice arrangement of roses with a card wishing him a happy birthday.

Large range of options for breakfast, soup and eggs particularly good, pancakes a little disappointing.

Staff very helpful. Just make sure when you get a taxi you show them the name if the hotel. Our taxi driver took us to Bong Sen, thankfully it was only 100 or so metres down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacalyn Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A excellent hotel in the centre of District 1. The staff are friendly and try hard to assist with any requests. The porter is excellent and offered security advice everytime we left, and suggested places or drinks and to eat. My room is large, and quiet with a separate bathroom (with a large bath), a little balcony overlooking the streets and good air conditioning. Breakfasts are more the adequate and we found enough choice to satisfy our tastes. A lovely terrace bar offers drinks and snacks and some cool afternoon relief. The swimming pool is small but adequate and nice to come back after a day in the heat and cool off. The Saigon River is a few hundred meters to the left and large tax free shops and the sights (pretty much within walking distance) to the right. Would not hesitate to recommend Huong Sen as good value for money in an excellent location.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Albanylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel, two nights each on either side of a week in the south. Large room with balcony (our request), excellent bathroom, good air-con, WiFi worked, breakfast excellent, tv and impressive that they supplied tea leaves and tea pot with the kettle etc. Used rooftop pool once, on the small side but clean and good. We were also able to leave a suitcase in storage for the week. Staff at reception were extremely efficient, helpful and polite. Security and cleaning staff also excellent. We were walking distance to most things including Ben Thanh market, Opera House and Reunification Palace. Took taxis to a couple of restaurants, extremely cheap. No dramas about using meters.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise which was no issue to us but if you're a light sleeper, request room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My son and I just stayed there for a few nights. This was our 2nd visit here. The last was 5 years ago. The Huong Sen was a pleasure as the last time.The hotel staff was well informed and tended to all our needs. There was good air conditioning, a cold mini fridge, coffee maker,a room safe, a coffee maker, immaculately clean and a great location. We walked to the Opera House, Notre Dame, the Reunification Palace, The War Museum, the Military Museum and you're within 2 blocks of the Saigon River. It's about a 10 USD ride from the airport to the hotel if you prepay for your taxi ride before you exit the terminal building. .It was 190000 VND through Saigontours taxi service. This was from the domestic terminal. I did read some negative comments from another review about the included breakfast. I disagree. We found plenty of choices. They even had an egg station for eggs to your liking. This is an honest 3 star hotel. We would for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 767captlarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This little gem of a business traveler's hotel is centrally located near major shopping and tourist attractions. Service was good, wi Fi worked--slow but it worked. Laundry was great, breakfast acceptable. And there are some great restaurants in the area. Also, a bar with draft beer around the corner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pnc47292019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#64 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#51 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#62 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#21 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,625 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#103 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $57 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing