We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Friendly Staff, Standard Room”
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Huong Sen Hotel
Ranked #49 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Location, Friendly Staff, Standard Room”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was able to walk just about everywhere from this hotel. The main market is a 30-40 minute walk away. The room itself was a fairly basic 2.5-3 star hotel. The staff was helpful in relaying messages and helping me to navigate the city. Breakfast was a bit better than average and had a range of Western and Asian options. I chose the hotel because it was the host hotel for a friend's wedding--I don't feel so strongly about the experience that I would necessarily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intlprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    306
    75
    26
    6
See reviews for
124
204
68
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

After visiting HCM three times and staying in three different hotels from 5 star Legend hotel to Blue Diamond I'd recommend Huong Sen over the others for value if you've got a family to accomodate. It's in a great location, well priced, you can get a larger room to include kids and best of all it has a pool - also great for kids. Price was around US$90 for family room for the night

Room Tip: Ask for a room without carpet. Actually that would be my advice for any hotel in Asia (other than 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ross E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aus
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel was one of those which initially leaves you wondering "could I have done better elsewhere for the same money?" You walk past others that look newer/brighter. However, I spent 3 nights here and was comfortable with my choice. Room was a good size with a massive bed. Wifi worked well. Breakfast good. Staff overall very pleasant. Pool on the rooftop was enough to cool down after a day of exploring and they were happy to serve us food and drinks (incl. beer and cocktails) at very cheap prices. It is located in the nice part of HCMC and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid_Fernwilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mordialloc, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel was a great cheap hotel in a great spot in Saigon.
The breakfast was nice but boring and repetitive.
The pool was tiny and one had to go up a weird stairway to get to it, but it served as nice relaxing and cooling place after a long hot day.
The rooms were a little tired but still the linen and cleaning was pretty good. We had the front corner room overlooking the crossroad, (this kids had the side view which was more quiet) it was interesting and educational watching all the activities and goings on from it.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as an ideal base for checking out all that Saigon has to offer the family touring.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a balcony room, it is worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank isaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramsbottom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

A lovely clean and friendly hotel in the centre of Saigon. Location is very good, its kept clean and has some great facilities, including a roof top bar and pool. The breakfasts are good (only meal i had there) and there is free wifi throughout the hotel. For the price it really is a good hotel being in the largest city in Vietnam, exceeded my expectations

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

There is nothing fancy about this hotel but it is comparatively cheap and very well located.
The staff is relatively friendly and helpful (easily accommodated a change of room to avoid the street noise). The rooms are decent and clean (slight moisture smell in some rooms, a classic in this tropical region, but allergic guests might suffer from the old carpet).
There is a nice rooftop bar that offers a relaxing observation of the busy district's night life. The rooftop pool however is ridiculously small and has 3 chairs cramped between the wall and the water (3 strokes and your "lap" is over - this should not really be advertised as a pool).

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are nicer but they seem to be all located on the street-side of the hotel which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cedayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Upmarket downtown Saigon hotel. Superb buffet breakfast, mixing Vietnamese & Western. Lovely little rooftop pool. Comfotable generous rooms with air-con.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarbourneFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
Sunland Saigon Riverside Hotel
#63 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#48 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
869 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
Grand Silverland Hotel & SPA
#30 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#98 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Property: Huong Sen Hotel
Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing