We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very nice staff, food was great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #160 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed over Christmas. Staff were more than helpful. They really could not have been nicer. Food was very good. Rooms nice enough, hot water, no problems with AirCon. Hotel is located about 10 minutes from centre (3 us $ by taxi - use Vinasun - were reliable and honest). The location isn't the most scenic but gives you a good idea of local life - close to traditional Market, some nice clothes shops, small pharmacies etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdyTempest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Ramana Hotel Saigon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night before flying home from HCM City and in all honesty I was pleased it was only the one night.
The hotel is adequate for a one nighter, the rooms are in little out dated and require a major refurb but are clean. On a positive note the staff were friendly and were happy to help. We left the hotel to find a restuarant for dinner, but having walked a total of thirty minitues could not find one. We ended up going back to the hotel and eating the buffet there which was overpriced and not the best.
This is not one of the best 4 stars in HCM City and I would recommend keeping a wide birth and choosing another even if it is further from the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_China_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Ramana is a nice 4-Star hotel away from District 1.

Good service from hotel staff. All staff are friendly and speak English. Hotel management competent and professional.

Room was clean, but a little dated. Bathroom was nice - Bathtub with separate shower stall and brightly lit sink/vanity. Hot water came out instantly and water pressure is good.

Air conditioner works great. Can control from Low to High setting from bedside control panel. Free in-room wifi with decent speed.

Only a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the airport depending on traffic. Hotel lobby, dining area, and bar/cafe seem to have been renovated recently. Good selection of diverse foods from the kitchen. Bar tenders were smart and gave good advice about the city.

Liked Best: Friendly service, helpful staff.
Liked Least: Window partially blocked by next building over.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinjaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We were booked into this hotel by Jetstar when they cancelled a flight. The hotel is large and impersonal. The room we were allocated was old and the woodwork around the edges definately needed updating. The view from the window was of a brick wall about 2inches from the window. The double room bed was very small by hotels of this *rating eg. double australian size not queen or larger.

The hotel and in particular the room that we were allocated stunk of cigarettes and smoke.

Worse for us was that we couldn't seem to use the phone in the room and rang the operator to assist - he said he would fix and ring us back - after 1/2 hour he hadn't. So I went to the business centre where the phone also didn't work. Then went to reception and the manager rolled his eyes at me when I asked why the phones don't work he then let me go into his office to make a call.

When we arrived at this hotel there appeared to be little eating options around the hotel so you may be stuck with the hotel food. Which I am sure would be OK for a couple of nights but you could need some variety if staying longer.

We ended up leaving after approx 2 hours as this is definately not the type of hotel that suits us. Our $50 backpacker family room in District 1 was far more stars than this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent one night in the ramana as we had to overnight in ho chi minh.... It was dreadful. We had booked on line and prepaid 48 hours before but as it had been a national holiday their own system had not been updated and they had no record of our booking. We had confirmation by email which we repeatidly sent to their email to no avail- we ended up paying to print it in the morning when the buisness centre opened. The front desk called us continually until almost midnight to tell us he had not recieved the email despite us showing it to him on our phones. It was extreamly stressful. The hotel itself is tired, big, and impersonal and even for a one night layover I would avoid - there is far better in HCMC

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ljohnson1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Ive read the reviews before we came to Vietnam about this hotel and it was like 50/50 so we thought oh well lets give it a try ,best decision i have made this year.
This hotel was spotless, the staff were all to happy to help you, your room gets serviced 2 times a day everything works,hot water is great view not bad for suburbs but we did have amazing sunset veiw from our 7th floor room.

I saw the review about the food prices and all i can say is are you for real??They have by far the best seafood buffet 3 nights a week for 300.000 VND thats about $16 Aussie ,my god you would pay no less than $50 for something of less quality in oz, good thing also is you pick your own fresh seafood and they cook it for you right there and then ,the salad bar was awesome.
What we did is eat in on seaood nights and ate at the local restaurants other nights.

We are not in the city but seriosly it cost like $3 aussie to get to city and same for airport make sure u make them use the meter and be carefull of taxi scams at airport ,1 guy when asked how much to the hotel said $20US needless to say what i told him to do ;))

Buffet breakfast was fresh and plentifull

Honestly we are travelling through 10 cities in asia and this hotel has rated No1 for the star rating on what we expected .

If you go to a five star you will pay alot more than this hotel for the room and the food and i dont believe the service or rooms would be any better.

Also get out and explore the local area , we walked everyday ,one time for 4 hrs just going through the markets and stalls ,we never felt uncomfortable at any time.

Thigs you have to do are go to cu chi tunnels they have english guides who take you around and in the tunnels ,fantastic day trip ,and do the floating markets on the mekon another good day trip.

All in all thankyou for a very comfortable stay all Ramana staff

We will def be back ;0)

Ohh and it does have free wifi and lan in your room

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruise1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Hotel location is bad if you wish to discover the surrounding areas on foot. Very difficult to find other decent food outlets nearby the hotel, so we end up eating in the hotel a lot. There's only hotel one restaurant too. The hotel offers many Western TV channels that are great. Service is excruciating during breakfast. I usually end up being the "waiter" in my group clearing plates and pouring coffee! No one seems to really know what to do or doesn't have a proper system in place. The group consists of my parents and aunts/uncles (senior citizens). Highlight of the stay: Our 3 hours spa treatment in the hotel. Given a choice, I would pay a little more to stay in an international 5-Star hotel. I would still recommend this hotel but with caveats.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tye_Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#90 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aristo Hotel
Aristo Hotel
#79 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#93 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#103 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
442 reviews
1.4 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#97 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
408 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#87 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $53 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing