We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hidden gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #164 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 6, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2008

The hotel is fine, room and breakfast were good. The facade was under wraps so I couldn't see it. The location is lousy: on a very busy intersection far from the city centre and inconvenient if you want to be near downtown: it can easily take a half hour with average traffic. I had a local businessman visiting me and when he got to reception shortly after my check-in at 7:30 pm they told him that he had to be out of my room by 8:00 pm! I find this totally unacceptable. So don't book this hotel if you want to be near city centre or if you plan to have anybody visit you in your room, regardless of gender or appearance!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nordick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

I stayed at this hotel when it was still the Amara, so my impression could be outdated since it's been at least 2 years since my stay. I had booked on asia-hotels.com and received a decent rate. As others have mentioned, the front and entrance to the hotel looks awful, and I remember my Uncle was traveling there at the same time and took me and my husband to the hotel and he was totally freaking out and wanted to get us rooms where they were staying at the New World. Now, I had already booked, and we haven't even seen the rooms yet so I didn't want to jump to any conclusions, and I'm still glad to this day that we didn't leave. Our room was fine! Nice city view of the crazy un-ending stream of pedestrians and mopeds. Huge King bed and super comfortable, with clean linens and pillows. Large room layout, nice-sized TV, with a large comfortable American style bathroom. I was just coming from Japan so this was a big relief. Breakfast was included with our room rate, and the choices were unbelievable. I really enjoyed my meals here, and for whatever reason they made excellent steak sandwiches via room service. I think my husband had at least three of them during our stay! The only sketchy thing we noticed was one time, at breakfast, a Japanese businessman was hanging around with much younger Vietnamese women, and I am only assuming it was for unsavory reasons. Other than that, my husband and I weren't harassed or anything. They pretty much left us alone except for when we needed something. The gym is small, and pretty useless but not bad if you wanted to just do a little cardio. The rooftop pool was nice, small but well maintained. I would probably not stay here again, but if you've booked I would give this place a chance. When we visited the New World Hotel to see my Uncle and Aunt, we weren't impressed and were glad we stayed at the Amara. The only thing we liked at the New World were the tennis courts.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MonkeyNPrinceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

27 Sep 2008, 8.30am (Vietnam time)

I am not sure how Amara was run previously.

But I understand that the owner has changed hands since May 2008. It is now called Ramana. Certain renovations had been done. The new management has certainly "cleaned up" the sleazy acts observed by travellers in earlier reviews.

Step into Ramana Hotel today, and it is a clean, neat, proper, and pro-business place.

No doubt the physical surrounding is not as posh as Duxton, which is in the heart of HCMC (District 1), it is definitely a worthy hotel.

Having stayed in Duxton Hotel (Saigon) for the past few months (each time for a couple of days) on business trip, the comparison with Ramana fHotel rom a business person's angle is inevitable.

The new Ramana is competitive in terms of value for money, 1-to-1 comparison with Duxton, maybe more depending on how you negotiate with the hotel. One great plus is its nearness to the airport, free WIFI at the lobby area.

I write this review so that travellers looking at past reviews of this hotel would know the actual situation and that the hotel has turned around with the new management since May 08, and changes effected in June/July 2008 (which is very recent).

I have just made the switch from Duxton to Ramana, and so far my experience has been delightful. Room service level no difference from Duxton. Very pro-business place.

Mind you, I am just a business traveller and not an employee of this hotel, nor have any stake in this hotel. Just want to spend a little time this morning (feeling fresh with great anticipation to explore the surrounding places near to this hotel) to write this review to set the record straight, and do this refurbished hotel justice.

- from a frequent business traveller to Vietnam (from Singapore)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BusinessTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Lovely hotel, which offers a bit of a break from the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh City. Our room was large and clean, and we were really pleased to glimpse a western bathroom - separate shower and bath, yay!

Because the hotel is geared towards business people, internet was really quick and the business centre was of a good standard. There is also free wi-fi in the downstairs lobby.

Small but well equipped gym, which was appreciated by us as we had been craving a bit of exercise. The pool is small but lovely and we spent quite a few hours swimming and laying poolside reading.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Barefoot_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

During our 6 weeks journey through Malaysia, Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand, my wife and I stayed for 3 nights in Amara Hotel. From all the hotels, I would say this one was average, which means it was pretty good !

Location is not great, but within 10 minutes you are in downtown HCMC, taxi's are very cheap as long as you use the meter !

The room is not too big, but it was clean and had a nice bathroom. The breakfast was great, lots of fresh breads and fruits.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hugo_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Very tired and dull hotel. Many Asian hotels give great extra service on the club floor - Amara actually charges more and gives less than what regular guests receive (e.g. breakfast). In general, food was poor. Lousy location a long way from center of town.

Staff was disinterested and unmotivated. Asked for a late checkout and was told they would get back to me. They never did. And my biggest peeve, they accused my girlfriend of being a prostitute when we returned to the hotel one night. No apology. Nothing. Absolutely unforgiveable. One of the worst hotel experiences of my life. Stay anywhere but here.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank traveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#86 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aristo Hotel
Aristo Hotel
#75 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#42 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#41 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
464 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
Bay Hotel Ho Chi Minh
#89 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
229 reviews
3.2 mi away
Charm Suite Saigon Hotel
Charm Suite Saigon Hotel
#124 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing