We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in some respects - Poor in others” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramana Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #119 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good in some respects - Poor in others”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ramana certainly lived up to and exceeded expectations regarding the quality of room for the price we paid. The decor was nice and it was well kept up.

The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with a good selection of western and Asian dishes.

Our only complaints were with regard to front desk and location. The hotel never seemed to have money to exchange for USD, Swiss Francs or HKD. There is one bank down the road but that didn't help on weekends and evenings. The hotel staff only managed to find $50 in VND and this was the case day after day. I think it may have been a ploy as there seems to be a little side business going on with other hotel staff as they would run out and change somewhere 'outside' as rates not quite as favourable. The hotel could sometime manage an exchange but there was a problem of not having small notes and if you could accept half a million dong instead of the 550,000 they could probably find the money. If you stay there - change your money outside when you have the chance.

The hotel is in District 3 and a 10 -30 minute ride to restaurants, bars and tourist type destinations which are primarily in District 1. You can add another $10 - $20 a day in taxi fares to the cost of your room if you're going for leisure.

The hotel seems to cater to tour groups so the location is neither here nor there for them as they're bussed around

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HK355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    49
    14
    4
See reviews for
23
40
19
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here one night to catch our plane in the morning. The rooms are somewhat outdated, but large, and with huge beds. Breakfast looked good, but tasted disappointing. OK if you do not require anything special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTraas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for three days on my tour to Vietnam.I would rate it as 4 star as it has a swimming pool, gym and sauna.The rooms are what is anticipated of a normal star hotel.However the hotel is situated far from town centre.at night you can walk out of the hotel to taste stall foods.You can cross the road and taste authentic Vietnam coffee but caution it is a nightmare to cross the road.If you dare there is a high likelihood of being almost knocked by a motorbike.I had to ask the hotel staff to help me to cross the road.There was a traffic light nearby.Thinking it was safe to cross there, i was mistaken.Even in red lights the motorcyclists dash across.Shocking for a Communist country where I thought rules were strict.One of the best things about the hotel is its wonderful breakfast,Overall except for its location, the hotel itself is good.The staff are courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as rooms infront have to face a never ending traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohaniyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arriving at this hotel we found that they had cancelled our reservation and so they left us in the reception for 1/2 hour while they tried to find us alternative rooms. The hotel is shabby, run down and there is smoking allowed so the corridors smell of smoke even though our room didn't. The location is also in no-man lands, it's neither near the airport or near the main area so you are always resigned to taking taxi's anywhere. There are better hotels and better areas to be in for better prices, so I would shop around and avoid this hotel, honestly the worst we stayed in over our entire 3 weeks of travelling in South East Asia.

Room Tip: If you do book here, specify no smoking rooms. No room has a good view its too built up so dont pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

70,000 vnd to the airport 70,000 vnd to district 1.Stayed in room 743 with a view over the city.
Nice size room with a big, big bed. Room was made up twice a day and very clean. Aircon was first class, tv was good and a safe in the room. Good bathroom but shower could have been a bit better.Room service was prompt and food nice. Plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast. Swimming pool area on the 5th floor, nice pool and surroundings, sunbeds and chairs could probably do with changing. E.casino on the second floor. Staff all very polite. All comunal areas very clean. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 743 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ramana Hotel 4 weeks ago for 2 nights. I was first given a room with a view of the back of another building. I had to kick a fuss in order to upgrade. In my original booking through asiarooms.com I had specified that I wanted a room with a nice view! The reception staff are rude, unhelpful and are happy to leave you waiting at the desk whilst they answer a phonecall. Our porter was very nice and helpful though. The reception is grand but the rest of the hotel is sub-standard. When you walk you can feel how cheap and worn out the carpet is.

I was given a token to use the Steam & Sauna room but the facilities were not to standard. Sitting in the jet-pool one could see rust and there was a sewage smell in the jet-pool. The Sauna and steam room were good though. When I tried using the Steam room, the receptionist tried to flog me a massage and was quite forceful about it. It left a bad taste in my mouth. Even though we were given a 30 min free foot-massage, me and my partner didn't bother cashing it in. The "gym" turned out to be few old-fashioned treadmills and an all-in-one body-building kit. The swimming pool was OK but nothing special.

Breakfast was horrendous as the hotel's main clientele are Chinese/Asian people so there was nothing but deep fried and stir-fried stuffs and some fruits. We just had a baguette each and butter and jam. It was a shame as we had paid $3 extra to include breakfast. The next day we didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel.

Location-wise it is around 20 minutes away from the main hub and it'll cost around 60,000 - 70,000 vietnamese dong for every journey in and out of the main hub.

Finally when we were checking out they made a fuss about a missing face-cloth!! I was livid and after shouting at the receptionist to hurry-up (as our taxi taking us to the airport had arrived), she then decided to quicken her pace.

Don't stay there, its just not worth the money although its rated as a 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

just stayed there for one night but will not come back. The room was smelly, the whole hotel outdated, the staff partly unfriendly and the breakfast nicely decorated but did not make me happy.
negative: outdated, uninterested passive staff, old bed mattresse, smelly room, night shift of staff did not speak much english
positive: nice view from the room over Saigon, good internet connection, toilet quite ok and clean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#92 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#66 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#110 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#49 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#17 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Hotel
#182 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Property: Ramana Hotel Saigon
Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing