We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #146 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here one night to catch our plane in the morning. The rooms are somewhat outdated, but large, and with huge beds. Breakfast looked good, but tasted disappointing. OK if you do not require anything special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTraas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    57
    16
    6
See reviews for
30
44
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for three days on my tour to Vietnam.I would rate it as 4 star as it has a swimming pool, gym and sauna.The rooms are what is anticipated of a normal star hotel.However the hotel is situated far from town centre.at night you can walk out of the hotel to taste stall foods.You can cross the road and taste authentic Vietnam coffee but caution it is a nightmare to cross the road.If you dare there is a high likelihood of being almost knocked by a motorbike.I had to ask the hotel staff to help me to cross the road.There was a traffic light nearby.Thinking it was safe to cross there, i was mistaken.Even in red lights the motorcyclists dash across.Shocking for a Communist country where I thought rules were strict.One of the best things about the hotel is its wonderful breakfast,Overall except for its location, the hotel itself is good.The staff are courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back as rooms infront have to face a never ending traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohaniyer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On arriving at this hotel we found that they had cancelled our reservation and so they left us in the reception for 1/2 hour while they tried to find us alternative rooms. The hotel is shabby, run down and there is smoking allowed so the corridors smell of smoke even though our room didn't. The location is also in no-man lands, it's neither near the airport or near the main area so you are always resigned to taking taxi's anywhere. There are better hotels and better areas to be in for better prices, so I would shop around and avoid this hotel, honestly the worst we stayed in over our entire 3 weeks of travelling in South East Asia.

Room Tip: If you do book here, specify no smoking rooms. No room has a good view its too built up so dont pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

70,000 vnd to the airport 70,000 vnd to district 1.Stayed in room 743 with a view over the city.
Nice size room with a big, big bed. Room was made up twice a day and very clean. Aircon was first class, tv was good and a safe in the room. Good bathroom but shower could have been a bit better.Room service was prompt and food nice. Plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast. Swimming pool area on the 5th floor, nice pool and surroundings, sunbeds and chairs could probably do with changing. E.casino on the second floor. Staff all very polite. All comunal areas very clean. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 743 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ramana Hotel 4 weeks ago for 2 nights. I was first given a room with a view of the back of another building. I had to kick a fuss in order to upgrade. In my original booking through asiarooms.com I had specified that I wanted a room with a nice view! The reception staff are rude, unhelpful and are happy to leave you waiting at the desk whilst they answer a phonecall. Our porter was very nice and helpful though. The reception is grand but the rest of the hotel is sub-standard. When you walk you can feel how cheap and worn out the carpet is.

I was given a token to use the Steam & Sauna room but the facilities were not to standard. Sitting in the jet-pool one could see rust and there was a sewage smell in the jet-pool. The Sauna and steam room were good though. When I tried using the Steam room, the receptionist tried to flog me a massage and was quite forceful about it. It left a bad taste in my mouth. Even though we were given a 30 min free foot-massage, me and my partner didn't bother cashing it in. The "gym" turned out to be few old-fashioned treadmills and an all-in-one body-building kit. The swimming pool was OK but nothing special.

Breakfast was horrendous as the hotel's main clientele are Chinese/Asian people so there was nothing but deep fried and stir-fried stuffs and some fruits. We just had a baguette each and butter and jam. It was a shame as we had paid $3 extra to include breakfast. The next day we didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel.

Location-wise it is around 20 minutes away from the main hub and it'll cost around 60,000 - 70,000 vietnamese dong for every journey in and out of the main hub.

Finally when we were checking out they made a fuss about a missing face-cloth!! I was livid and after shouting at the receptionist to hurry-up (as our taxi taking us to the airport had arrived), she then decided to quicken her pace.

Don't stay there, its just not worth the money although its rated as a 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

just stayed there for one night but will not come back. The room was smelly, the whole hotel outdated, the staff partly unfriendly and the breakfast nicely decorated but did not make me happy.
negative: outdated, uninterested passive staff, old bed mattresse, smelly room, night shift of staff did not speak much english
positive: nice view from the room over Saigon, good internet connection, toilet quite ok and clean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is generally very tired looking & in desperate need of a facelift. The standard is certainly not 4* as they try to maintain - 4* price though so beware!!!!!!! Rooms very large & could be very nice but need a revamp. In fact my room was positively shabby on arrival with the curtains hanging off the rail & the carpet appeared to be very dirty. However the following day the curtains were rectified & carpet appeared to have been cleaned - without any input from self so at least the room attendant was doing a good job. Don't waste your time with the breakfast it is dreadful - the worst coffee that I have ever tasted (not Vietnamese coffee either). Maybe the early birds get a better deal but after 9am forget it.......There is no wi-fi in the rooms although they give you a password for your laptop thus you either have to do your business in the lobby, restaurant or bar using your own device or alternatively use the hotels 3 computers in the lobby which are so close together that you have no privacy. The gift shop is extremely expensive although well stocked. Location of hotel not particularly good certainly if you are a tourist - there are no decent restaurants in the immediate area so you are basically locked in to the hotel for meals unless you go into the city centre by getting a cab on the hotel forecourt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linafricasuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#98 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
398 reviews
2.0 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#49 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
937 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aristo Hotel
Aristo Hotel
#92 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
430 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Central Hotel
Golden Central Hotel
#83 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#86 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Property: Ramana Hotel Saigon
Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing