We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel,good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramana Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramana Hotel Saigon
Ranked #116 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel,good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

70,000 vnd to the airport 70,000 vnd to district 1.Stayed in room 743 with a view over the city.
Nice size room with a big, big bed. Room was made up twice a day and very clean. Aircon was first class, tv was good and a safe in the room. Good bathroom but shower could have been a bit better.Room service was prompt and food nice. Plenty of choice at the buffet breakfast. Swimming pool area on the 5th floor, nice pool and surroundings, sunbeds and chairs could probably do with changing. E.casino on the second floor. Staff all very polite. All comunal areas very clean. All in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 743 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scruffy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    49
    14
    4
See reviews for
24
42
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ramana Hotel 4 weeks ago for 2 nights. I was first given a room with a view of the back of another building. I had to kick a fuss in order to upgrade. In my original booking through asiarooms.com I had specified that I wanted a room with a nice view! The reception staff are rude, unhelpful and are happy to leave you waiting at the desk whilst they answer a phonecall. Our porter was very nice and helpful though. The reception is grand but the rest of the hotel is sub-standard. When you walk you can feel how cheap and worn out the carpet is.

I was given a token to use the Steam & Sauna room but the facilities were not to standard. Sitting in the jet-pool one could see rust and there was a sewage smell in the jet-pool. The Sauna and steam room were good though. When I tried using the Steam room, the receptionist tried to flog me a massage and was quite forceful about it. It left a bad taste in my mouth. Even though we were given a 30 min free foot-massage, me and my partner didn't bother cashing it in. The "gym" turned out to be few old-fashioned treadmills and an all-in-one body-building kit. The swimming pool was OK but nothing special.

Breakfast was horrendous as the hotel's main clientele are Chinese/Asian people so there was nothing but deep fried and stir-fried stuffs and some fruits. We just had a baguette each and butter and jam. It was a shame as we had paid $3 extra to include breakfast. The next day we didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel.

Location-wise it is around 20 minutes away from the main hub and it'll cost around 60,000 - 70,000 vietnamese dong for every journey in and out of the main hub.

Finally when we were checking out they made a fuss about a missing face-cloth!! I was livid and after shouting at the receptionist to hurry-up (as our taxi taking us to the airport had arrived), she then decided to quicken her pace.

Don't stay there, its just not worth the money although its rated as a 4 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

just stayed there for one night but will not come back. The room was smelly, the whole hotel outdated, the staff partly unfriendly and the breakfast nicely decorated but did not make me happy.
negative: outdated, uninterested passive staff, old bed mattresse, smelly room, night shift of staff did not speak much english
positive: nice view from the room over Saigon, good internet connection, toilet quite ok and clean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The hotel is generally very tired looking & in desperate need of a facelift. The standard is certainly not 4* as they try to maintain - 4* price though so beware!!!!!!! Rooms very large & could be very nice but need a revamp. In fact my room was positively shabby on arrival with the curtains hanging off the rail & the carpet appeared to be very dirty. However the following day the curtains were rectified & carpet appeared to have been cleaned - without any input from self so at least the room attendant was doing a good job. Don't waste your time with the breakfast it is dreadful - the worst coffee that I have ever tasted (not Vietnamese coffee either). Maybe the early birds get a better deal but after 9am forget it.......There is no wi-fi in the rooms although they give you a password for your laptop thus you either have to do your business in the lobby, restaurant or bar using your own device or alternatively use the hotels 3 computers in the lobby which are so close together that you have no privacy. The gift shop is extremely expensive although well stocked. Location of hotel not particularly good certainly if you are a tourist - there are no decent restaurants in the immediate area so you are basically locked in to the hotel for meals unless you go into the city centre by getting a cab on the hotel forecourt.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linafricasuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. The staff over there always smiling and friendly. They have PC at the lobby so you can access internet, just ask the password to log in their computer. However the keyboard have been format to the Vietnam language which i think can be change their setting.

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable.

For those staying there can go for a cheap mani & pedi beside the hotel. There are no restaurants nearby the hotel so I only ate at hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed here as it seemed to be somewhere relatively convenient to the airport the night before I left Vietnam. I was really happy with this hotel and wish I could have stayed longer. I'm not sure how handy it would be to the sightseeing locations in district 1, but it wasn't that much more expensive than a 3 star I stayed in in district 1, and Ramana was a much nicer place. The service was excellent and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. The business centre is open 24hrs and the cafe downstairs seemed very good. There is also a great gift shop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patilkiran_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3nights and found the staff very friendly. It is located away from the usual tourist hub. But still only a 20 minute walk to the central city (Reunification Palace etc). The gym had very dated equipment but adequate. There are some local markets within a few minutes walk too, where you can grab breakfast on the run or do some shopping. The Spa which is located on level 4 is open 24hours if you wish to get a massage (I would definitely recommend one at only USD$14 per person for 1 hour). The only thing we didn't like was the live band which plays in the lobby during the evening, we didn't mind the music, it was just too loud to enjoy whilst eating your meal. The noise from the band or the traffic outside could not be heard from our room and the beds are very comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank towzer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.4 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#99 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vissai Saigon Hotel
Vissai Saigon Hotel
#75 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#112 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
Tan Son Nhat Saigon Hotel
#106 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#32 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 714 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#17 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Property: Ramana Hotel Saigon
Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing