We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramana Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramana Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Ramana Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. The staff over there always smiling and friendly. They have PC at the lobby so you can access internet, just ask the password to log in their computer. However the keyboard have been format to the Vietnam language which i think can be change their setting.

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable.

For those staying there can go for a cheap mani & pedi beside the hotel. There are no restaurants nearby the hotel so I only ate at hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pune, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed here as it seemed to be somewhere relatively convenient to the airport the night before I left Vietnam. I was really happy with this hotel and wish I could have stayed longer. I'm not sure how handy it would be to the sightseeing locations in district 1, but it wasn't that much more expensive than a 3 star I stayed in in district 1, and Ramana was a much nicer place. The service was excellent and the rooms were very nice and comfortable. The business centre is open 24hrs and the cafe downstairs seemed very good. There is also a great gift shop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patilkiran_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3nights and found the staff very friendly. It is located away from the usual tourist hub. But still only a 20 minute walk to the central city (Reunification Palace etc). The gym had very dated equipment but adequate. There are some local markets within a few minutes walk too, where you can grab breakfast on the run or do some shopping. The Spa which is located on level 4 is open 24hours if you wish to get a massage (I would definitely recommend one at only USD$14 per person for 1 hour). The only thing we didn't like was the live band which plays in the lobby during the evening, we didn't mind the music, it was just too loud to enjoy whilst eating your meal. The noise from the band or the traffic outside could not be heard from our room and the beds are very comfortable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank towzer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed over Christmas. Staff were more than helpful. They really could not have been nicer. Food was very good. Rooms nice enough, hot water, no problems with AirCon. Hotel is located about 10 minutes from centre (3 us $ by taxi - use Vinasun - were reliable and honest). The location isn't the most scenic but gives you a good idea of local life - close to traditional Market, some nice clothes shops, small pharmacies etc.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdyTempest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night before flying home from HCM City and in all honesty I was pleased it was only the one night.
The hotel is adequate for a one nighter, the rooms are in little out dated and require a major refurb but are clean. On a positive note the staff were friendly and were happy to help. We left the hotel to find a restuarant for dinner, but having walked a total of thirty minitues could not find one. We ended up going back to the hotel and eating the buffet there which was overpriced and not the best.
This is not one of the best 4 stars in HCM City and I would recommend keeping a wide birth and choosing another even if it is further from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_China_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Ramana is a nice 4-Star hotel away from District 1.

Good service from hotel staff. All staff are friendly and speak English. Hotel management competent and professional.

Room was clean, but a little dated. Bathroom was nice - Bathtub with separate shower stall and brightly lit sink/vanity. Hot water came out instantly and water pressure is good.

Air conditioner works great. Can control from Low to High setting from bedside control panel. Free in-room wifi with decent speed.

Only a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the airport depending on traffic. Hotel lobby, dining area, and bar/cafe seem to have been renovated recently. Good selection of diverse foods from the kitchen. Bar tenders were smart and gave good advice about the city.

Liked Best: Friendly service, helpful staff.
Liked Least: Window partially blocked by next building over.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjaExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We were booked into this hotel by Jetstar when they cancelled a flight. The hotel is large and impersonal. The room we were allocated was old and the woodwork around the edges definately needed updating. The view from the window was of a brick wall about 2inches from the window. The double room bed was very small by hotels of this *rating eg. double australian size not queen or larger.

The hotel and in particular the room that we were allocated stunk of cigarettes and smoke.

Worse for us was that we couldn't seem to use the phone in the room and rang the operator to assist - he said he would fix and ring us back - after 1/2 hour he hadn't. So I went to the business centre where the phone also didn't work. Then went to reception and the manager rolled his eyes at me when I asked why the phones don't work he then let me go into his office to make a call.

When we arrived at this hotel there appeared to be little eating options around the hotel so you may be stuck with the hotel food. Which I am sure would be OK for a couple of nights but you could need some variety if staying longer.

We ended up leaving after approx 2 hours as this is definately not the type of hotel that suits us. Our $50 backpacker family room in District 1 was far more stars than this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.1 mi away
Windsor Plaza Hotel
Windsor Plaza Hotel
#73 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#26 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
Eastin Grand Hotel Saigon
#42 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#16 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
1.6 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#46 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing