We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 27 Grill - CLOSED

27 Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, American, Seafood, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 27 Grill is an affordable, casual, upscale establishment in Ho Chi Minh City consisting of a completely open kitchen built of marble and polished stainless steel, Glass covered wine cellar, and rustic yet warm furniture and decorations. The restaurant boasts one of the highest dining experiences in Vietnam with unparalleled breath-taking views of Vietnam's largest city. The restaurant also features an al fresco dining option located on the rooftop of AB Tower. 27 Grill is lead by Danish Chef Camilla Bailey.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I been in a lot of steak house around the wold, but i think this is one of the best place in been and even better when you think of the price you pay. I know you are in vietnam and every thing is cheap. But the meet you get at 27 Grill is the same as the one you get in other steak house over seas. We shared 4 starters and had one AUS Ribeye and one Wagyu ribeye. All cook perfect and hot. After you can go to the Chill skybar below the restaurant for cocktail. This is a place to see and eat if you come to Vietnam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HJSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    18
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Have had better in Ho Chi Minh..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Chill is a great venue; fantastic views and an awesome atmosphere on Thurs, Fri and Sat night. However their new restaurant didn't impress me or my friend. The starters were nice, nothing special but nice. My steak was fatty and contained hard pieces of gristle. The fries are exactly the same as the ones they give you at McDonalds and the macaroni and cheese was dry and lacked any kind of flavor. My mushroom sauce didn't seem to contain any mushroom in it?! It was so watery it seemed to have been made out of a packet. After trying it I didn't touch it again.

We didn't try dessert but they did seem to have quite a nice selection. Towards the end of our meal the waiter gave us a comment card and kept coming back to our table to see if we had filled it out yet. The service had been good up until this point. I won't be going back, I can find better steak in Saigon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonniethepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shawncscott, Manager at 27 Grill, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Bonniethepug,

We appreciate your valuable feedback and comments regarding our newly opened restaurant, 27 Grill. Could you kindly contact me directly at shawn@chillsaigon.com as I would like to follow up with you directly in the hopes of improving our food and service.

I believe that since your visit we have changed out meat supplier as well as the French Fries because of quality and consistency. I assure you that our sauces are homemade and not out of a packet however there is no excuse for the watery sauce and absence of mushrooms.

Once again I apologize and hope you contact me directly as I would personally like to invite you back to 27 Grill.

Kind Regards,

Shawn Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“27 Grill HCMCity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

You missed it if you weren't here on this Wednesday night, oh yeah. Menu to die for, steaks at your command and service beckons - My man Edward Guan has a legion ready for ya. Tenderloin & veggies were made-to-order succulent success! Walk down the steps and see Greg at the bar. HoChiMinh's best seat and greet is right here at Chills then at the bar - you did miss it if you not at the CHILL! These guys bring the best from international locations and are DEEE veloping the city... I mean be serious and get your butt up to the top floor o' this flight! They takin off!! Screamin great night and I am back to hassle you for more whiskey and those green gin shots - blastin out of control!!! Hey CHILL, yal'll are TEN our of FIVE on the ratings! Sorry, not photos, go make your own!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I love steak, and this place is excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're a vegetarian, go away. This place is for meat lovers, followed by party goers.

Great location, amazing views, 5 mates, champagne, red wine, two great Danish Chefs, and some of the best steaks that I have tasted (Austrailien Waygu Ribeye, US Choice Ribeye and Iberian Pork from Spain). I would definitely recommend you visit this place if you are in Vietnam and you want a good feast. Post meal, go to the Sky Bar and terrace just underneath the restaurant.

Pricewise, total was around 2,500,000 mill Vietnamese dong per person (5ppl) - just over USD 100 dollars.

Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pushworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

First of all the location of the restaurant is second to non. You literally dine on top of the world, or at least on top of Saigon. The first thing you experience is the enormous kindness of the staff from the minute you enter the premises. You are treated with a smile from everybody from the doorman to the manager.
But the most amazing is the food; we have never in our lives tasted so great food. A blend of the best ingredients, treated with the most professional touch from the Danish star chefs, and presented with grace. We were blown away and for us this restaurant is like the Eifel tower in Paris, even though we know it we still return every time we are back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kimomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 27 Grill also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing