We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good potential but...”
Review of Quan Bui

Quan Bui
Ranked #91 of 3,761 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: QUAN BUI IN HO CHI MINH CITY Once dearly called Diamond of the Far-east with the luxury level overriding that of Hongkong or Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City is now the most populated city in Vietnam. Modern office skyscrapers, amidst Oriental style pagodas and food stalls along the street, create a dynamic urban area in very special sense. Dining in Saigon is quite easy and it is not a place where you will easily go hungry, regardless of your budget. Some of Vietnamese restaurants which cater to the business community are quite Westernized. If you insist on a crisp, white table cloth, we don't have it. But for those who want to enjoy real Vietnamese & Home made food and contemporary Saigon living, forget about all the tourist restaurants with their white linens and bloated prices, and instead dine where the Vietnamese do. Surely, you'll have a best experience once you try at Quan Bui. Quan Bui - Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine/ 17A Ngo Van Nam, D1 Quan Bui - Vietnamese Bistro/ First floor 39 Ly Tu Trong, D1 Enjoy your memorable stay in Viet Nam. QUAN BUI - AUTHENTIC VIETNAMESE CUISINE Nowadays many people can afford to eat good food in fine restaurants but they still have a subconscious desire to eat dishes which remind them of simple rural life and family warmth. The problem now is that most people with average incomes are quite busy and have very little time to make these country dishes at home. By listening to the needs of our customers, we at Quan Bui restaurant have gradually expanded our business, explored and developed our menu to offer traditional dishes in a home cooking style which fully captures the tastes of Vietnamese cuisine. To do this we use only natural ingredients for preparing the meals and never use artificial flavour enhancers (eg MSG). Delightful and fulfilling experiences for our customers are our paramount concerns. Therefore our service and cleanliness are basic, never-to-be compromised principles for us. We use real chicken stock in our soups and hot pots and we ensure the freshest ingredients by selecting suppliers carefully (getting to the markets early every morning). A speciality is our home-made tofu - which is deliciously and expertly prepared by our chefs in the open kitchen. Quan Bui Restaurant was ranked 17th out of more than 800 restaurants in Saigon on Tripadvisor (one of the most respected websites for tourists) so the restaurant's customers include many people from around the world (check us out and add your own comments, please!). Among the foreigners who frequent the restaurant are Japanese customers - who are known for their high standards and fondness for fine differences of flavour. Like all patrons, they adore the ambience and stylishness of our culinary space. Come and experience the real Vietnam! You will love it!
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This nicely decorated place could be a very good restaurant in town but things need to be reorganized. Staffs are friendly but inefficient, and not very welcoming. A huge messe in the stock management for drinks and wines. They have no idea of the remaining wines in there stock... But one thing sure, door is good.... Big potential but really need to have more attention...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThanhHuynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danh T, Owner at Quan Bui, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear TH,

Thank you so much for your visited our property, and thank you for your much honestly comment. We hope to see you again and def change from the drink list.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Tran Danh - Manager | QUÁN BỤI
Tel: +84 (8) 3602 2241 | +84 (8) 3829 1515 | Mob: +84 914 008835
Email: danhtran@quanbui.vn | www.quanbui.vn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 489 of 758 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant via the local Ho Chi Minh tourist guide (grab a copy as soon as you arrive) and it certainly lived up to its advertising review...food was cheap and delicous, staff attentive and the restaurant furnishings full of old-style pictures adding to the atmosphere. The Manager who greeted us when we arrived was spot on in the dish suggestions, especially the passionfruit custard dessert which was superb. Well worth the visit and highly recommended.

2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danh T, Owner at Quan Bui, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for for review, we look foward to serving you again near future.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Tran Danh - Manager | QUÁN BỤI
Tel: +84 (8) 3602 2241 | +84 (8) 3829 1515 | Mob: +84 914 008835
Email: danhtran@quanbui.vn | www.quanbui.vn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were very excited to come here but left very disappointed abot the lack of service. Food passable if unexciting.somewhat overpriced compared to otherVietnamese restaurants. Wont be returning

2  Thank robert186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

While we've enjoyed weeks of nothing but wonderful food throughout Cambodia, the Mekong and HCMC, Quan Bui exceeds all. Fresh, delightful and innovative flavours, perfectly prepared, and delivered by attentive and helpful staff in a casual, cruisy and comfortable setting on a quiet cul de sac just off Le Thanh Ton. A night to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JalanJalanScruffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danh T, Owner at Quan Bui, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear JalanJalanScruffer,

Thank you very much for your dining at Quan Bui and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that your visit exceeded expectation. Your nice comments are highly motivated to our team who take pride in their dedication for best service kept up at Quan Bui. They know that their constant efforts are rewarded by having such compliments, like yours.

Once again, thank you for supporting Quan Bui. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Tran Danh - Manager | QUÁN BỤI
Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine - 17A Ngo Van Nam, Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, HCMC
Traditional Vietnamese Dining - 8 Nguyen Van Nguyen, Tan Dinh Ward, District 1, HCMC
Tel: +84 (8) 3602 2241 | +84 (8) 3829 1515 | Mob: +84 914 008835
Email: danhtran@quanbui.vn | www.quanbui.vn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stylish but low key dining room on the ground floor, benches to sit at on a table for 4 or banquettes around the walls.Table setting/crockery definitely chic for Saigon/this price. Old communist/tourism posters decorate the walls. You can buy the crockery - We ended up buying 4 Pho bowls as we were so taken with them. Young helpful friendly staff keen to please: we asked for their recommendations and were not disappointed. Started with a seafood salad with grapefruit segments, light , fresh and very tasty. For mains: fish in tamarind sauce and crab hot pot with vermicelli - both excellently executed. Courtesy plate of fresh fruit served with a pot of excellent Ginger tea ( with real ginger pieces and a pouring jug of local honey) to finish. Our waiter Tuan Anh did a great job. Clearly a place that really cares about the food and customer experience. We will be back next time we are in Saigon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danh T, Owner at Quan Bui, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear philipreddaway,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we very much appreciate you taking time and writing to us.

I am glad you enjoyed your meal, anh very much appreciate that your highlight our staff's name.

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Tran Danh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan Bui also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Quan Bui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing