We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cyclo Resto

Cyclo Resto
Ranked #10 of 3,136 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vinkeveen, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Wonderfull, simply the best in HCMC! We will come back! Great food, great service! Very fresh and surprising!

Not hard to find.

Helpful?
Thank mvdloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,280
    293
    106
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“yes, great but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

the place is very nice and original as it is on the first floor in an alley, 3 small tables on the terrace overlooking the alley and a couple of big and long tables inside. The place is really hard to find, Google Maps indicates the wrong street. Food was OK, but be prepared to an excess of attention and friendliness which is pleasant but unlikely sincere - seems a marketing strategy.
I did not like the fact that I could not chose anything, as there is ONLY ONE set of small dishes that you can get. Overall, I am happy I went there, but consider that it is not a proper restaurant. It works in the same way at lunch and dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great dinner experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

visiting because of my curiousity of this place. i came with my wife n 1yo baby. the sign is quite small, people may think, it is the place for cooking lesson instead of place to eat. menu is set...appetizer shrimp fried, soup, chicken, fish, quick fried vegie with beef. the taste is ok for basic dinner. the staff r so friendly. i love the concept, cooking lesson with fixed set menu resto. sometimes this is what u need when u want to taste local flavour without figuring out list of menu.
writing a comment on their wall... is a plus too

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TONNY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dinner in HCMC for a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Yesterday we went to Cyclo Resto with the whole family (including 11 months old baby). We found the restaurant through TripAdvisor and it was definitely worth to go there! After a whole week in HCMC this was the best food we had, truly Vietnamese but with a twist! There is only a set menu for 125k VND, which seems to be the same for a long time already, but it was superb!! Especially the shrimp starters and melon soup was delicious! The restaurant is hard to find and it doesn't look promising from the outside (small alley, small stairs to go up, ...) but don't let this hold you back!
It's a must go!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_welkenhuyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very original in Saigon and in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Very good dishes served by nice young people full of joy and spirit. The whole world is on the walls.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godolinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyclo Resto also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cyclo Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing