We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, quiet and new hotel in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.”
Review of Gia Vien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gia Vien Hotel
Ranked #33 of 959 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We had previously stayed at The Beautiful Saigon (the first one on the main road) but chose this hotel for one night after returning from a tour because we thought it would be much quieter given it is tucked into a side street rather than amongst all the action on the main road. We thought this place was great. Almost everything was new, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff excellent. Breakfast was also good - a mix of good Vietnamese (excellent chicken Pho) and western food. We stayed in a superior queen room for c. $46 AUD a night which while on the expensive side, was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

This bright and cheerful new hotel is right in the middle of the tourist district near the river and could not have been nicer. The decor is lovely, breakfast has been steadily improved since the opening, with some familiar western items prepared to order for those who save adventurous food for lunch. Great fresh-brewed coffee, too.

The staff were helpful and knowledgable, very reassuring when one is a woman traveling alone. I felt safe and appreciated their kindness.

Room Tip: There will be all kinds of world music in the nearby park some evenings that you can hear from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NW_traveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Gia Vien Hotel is the new kid on the block in Bui Vien in District 1 in Ho Chi Minh City. Right in the middle of the action but far enough away from the noise to give a good nights sleep.

The hotel is pretty new so all the romms are new and everything works well. This hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and efficient.

My Vietnamese wife and I stayed at Gia Vien for three nights. We booked the deluxe room but were upgraded to the VIP room so at $40 per night I consider it to be great value for money.

Room Tip: VIP rooms are expensive but excellent but for those on a tight budget the standard rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petermurph59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

By far this is one of my best bargains by far. The location is superb surrounded by restaurants shops cafes and other low to midrange hotels. This is brand new and beats all the rest in its range.We were given 30% off and an upgrade. Breakfast can be better but for the price it is an excellent win win to all. I stood in march and i am staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHADIADNAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children) so we had to book 2 rooms. The rooms we got were close to each other, but they did not have any window. They were not very big, but brand new and very clean.The stuff was very friendly (their English was not great but good enough to understand us). The hotel is located in the middle of the backpack area so very convenient to restaurants, shops and budget tours.
The breakfast was a bit poor but all together we found this hotel a great value for money.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor and they did not have any window. Ask for higher floors where room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonellaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've just stayed at Gia Vien Hotel for the first time (2 nights), and my impressions are favorable. The hotel is new, and the rooms and common areas are fresh and clean.

The Standard rooms are small and some do not have windows, so request a Standard room with window, or upgrade to a higher-grade room, if natural light is important to you. My first night was in a room without a window, and at my request the staff moved me to a room with windows the next morning. The room without a window was certainly comfortable and quiet, but there was a slightly disconcerting sense of being in a cave. For me, the Standard room with window (a small window in the sleeping area and a very small upper window in the bathroom that brightens the bath area with natural light) would be preferred, but I would accept the windowless room in a pinch.

The beds in both rooms were delightfully comfortable, with plush pillows and comforter. Doors and trims are wood, and the bathrooms are tastefully appointed. The shower is luxurious, with powerful water pressure and instant hot water.

Breakfast is included in the room price, and it is served downstairs in a room off the Reception area. The coffee is hot and delicious and you can help yourself to refills (same with the orange juice and fruit). There are several menu choices, and the servers will help you select vegetarian options if you ask.

This hotel is offering a grand opening promotion, and I paid $32 per night for the Standard room. Not sure how long this promotion will run, but I feel it is a very good deal. You can find cheaper rooms in this neighborhood but they won't hold a candle to the quality and pleasant ambiance of Gia Vien. Pleasant, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If a Standard room with window isn't available, you can ask to be moved to a window room later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable rooms, we booked a superior and were kindly upgraded to a deluxe on the 5th floor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great if you enjoy being near the backpacker area.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nayoung_VDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
Liberty Hotel Saigon Greenview
#109 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dragon Palace Hotel
Dragon Palace Hotel
#180 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#9 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#83 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#81 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gia Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gia Vien Hotel

Address: 175/4-6 Pham Ngu Lao Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 01, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 959 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $27 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gia Vien Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gia Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing