We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean sociable hostel”
Review of VietNam Inn Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VietNam Inn Saigon
1 review
“Nice clean sociable hostel”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I arrived in HCMC alone and went to a hotel that a couple on my bus were staying in because it was easy and i was tired. But the next day i moved here because i needed something more sociable as a solo traveller. I met lots of people within minutes and the foyer is great for meeting people and the rooftop bar is cheap and very sociable. Beds were clean and comfy and air con was baltic which was great. The staff didnt have great English which made things a bit hard but the girls on the tour desk were always happy to help. Security is good, swipe cards for everything. One issue i had was that there was nowhere to leave my passport/valuables once i had checked out. I had a night bus and didnt want to carry everything on me as several people had been robbed around the hostel. They have lockers behind reception but they were all full of towels and they werent willing to move themvand i didnt want to leave it all in the.luggage store that people were in and out of all day. So i used a friends locker instead.
Also the location isnt great the road is busy and we heard of.quite a few people getting things snatched along the road.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    192
    94
    42
    43
See reviews for
7
78
218
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Slept here severall nights in a doubble room. The hostel is known for good value dorm rooms, but the double rooms are worth mentioning as well. Rooms are big, good bed, spacious bathroom And of course, very attentive staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building are a bit too hot, because of the big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Floortje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A few hours after checking out i realized i didn't get my deposit back. When i came back to ask for it i was met by denying and laughing staff. I'd rather eat 5 dollars then to sleep there again.
Other then that bad experience the beds are decent, showers are alright and the rooftop bar has free pool witch is a good way for solo travelers to meet new people. But after walking around close by a realized i can do a lot better for a lot less. High ratings its not always a good thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctopdolladawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIETNAM-INN-SAIGON, Manager at VietNam Inn Saigon, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hello everyone
We have CCTV protected you, don't worry.
But you should to make our mistake, and the we'll replay for you see what happened.
We'll sorry and refund to you if our mistake.
But you didn't want to tell us about you at that moment (what time you checked out?). You just said "you leave your key here before and you don't want to pay late check out at 14:15pm. Let's check out for you quickly and don't charge your key lost."
When we request you come to our CCTV room to check together, and then you didn't want to come.
You accept to pay after that. And then you write something like your comments.
We thinking what happen to us???
Please, everyone thinking about this story. And you should think carefully before you say. Because we are not children!!!
Welcome to VIETNAM INN SAIGON.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and found it met my needs for the nights stay. WIFI, rooftop bar, with a good section of drinks, however the food is not very nice! The view from the roof makes up for that.
The shower and toilet are in a cubical together and the water was cold both times I went in.
Close to the main strip with bars and restaurants. Like a 10min walk and the makets are also a 10min walk away to.

They also have a travel information desk to help you continue your trip and the different modes of transport.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarrahdeExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Easy to find, walking distance away from many attraction! Great place to meet other travelers. Great atmosphere to the roof top bar! Pool table and darts. Staff are very helpful. Dorms are basic, very good price. Bathrooms look new. Good shower pressure!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Overall it is a good hostel. Dormitories are kept very clean. They have a bar which is a good place to meet fellow backpackers. Service is good. I booked the chu chi tunnels, Mekong delta tour and my bus to Phnom Penh through the hostel and they where excellent tours and the price is decent. Its also a short distance to the war remnants museum, its about 10, 15 minute walk and its as short walk to the many bars and restaurants of Saigon. Overall I had an enjoyable stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gkm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a fantastic place to meet fellow backpackers in a clean and modern hostel, also great for booking trips and tours. Good bar/common room with a pool table and free popcorn. The only place for a backpacker to stay in Ho Chi Minh!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
#10 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#13 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#5 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
29.9 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VietNam Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VietNam Inn Saigon

Property: VietNam Inn Saigon
Address: 200 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — VietNam Inn Saigon 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vietnam Inn Saigon is the biggest and the best hostel in Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) (Saigon) with over 190 beds, and the only one in Vietnam with a 9th floor, open air rooftop bar overlooking the heart of the city... If you are young at heart and looking for a great time, this is the place to be. We have events every night, whether it is a live Western DJ, pub crawls, pool tournament, karaoke, or drink specials, you are sure to have an unforgettable experience that you may not remember. We are located in the heart of the city, District 1, Pham Ngu Lao, Bui Vien area, but a couple blocks away from all the noise and craziness of the bar street. We are within walking distance to all the famous tourist attractions including: Ben Thanh Market, War Remnants Museum, The Opera House, Cathedral Church, Reunification Palace, and Chinatown. Shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs surround the hostel. About Vietnam Inn Saigon: The hostel was specially designed for backpackers looking to experience a colorful, friendly and sociable atmosphere. In addition to a safe, low cost, centrally located hostel we also provide: -Free breakfast from 7:00AM - 10:00AM. -2 free draft beers, each night you stay with us. -Nightly drink specials. -Biggest and best pub crawls in the city 3 nights a week. -Secure lockers in each dorm (please provide your own lock). -Lockers in the lobby and behind front desk for extra security. -Large 9th floor rooftop bar with pool table and bar games each night. -Computers you can use in the lobby. -Free WI-FI throughout the building. -Reasonably priced laundry service. -Free hair driers for loan from front desk. -Security card access to elevator and dorm rooms (there is a deposit). -CCTV video monitoring in all common areas. -Chill-out room with beanbag chairs, TV, books and magazines on the 1st floor. -24 hour reception and security, no curfew. -Free secure luggage storage room. -Free motorbike parking. -Free map and advice. -Towel rental with deposit. -We offer tour, bus and transportation services. -We can help you to renew your Visa. -Airport pick-up and drop off service available for a reasonable rate. -We only accept cash in the local currency VND. Accommodation Information: Vietnam Inn Saigon features extremely clean, cozy, newly decorated Private rooms (Deluxe Double Room, Family Room) and 12-beds Mixed dorm rooms with other facilities including elevator, bar area with Pool table, outdoor terrace, hot shower, A/C, free Hi-speed Internet & Wi-Fi throughout the hostel, lockers in dorm rooms, large, clean and bright shared bathrooms, tour booking, free maps and traveling advice, fax and printer at front desk for a small charge, laundry service, airport pick-up and drop-off service. Location Information: Just 5 minutes walk to and from the Backpacker area, and the tour bus drop off area. Our hostel is opposite 23/9 Park. Don't make the mistake to take a taxi, it is just across the park from your tour bus. 10-15 minutes walk from Ben Thanh Market and the local bus station. We offer Airport pick-up service for a reasonable rate. We are around 30-40 minutes from the airport depending on traffic. Cancellation Policy: Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 24 hours before arrival. After this date, charges will be applied by the property up to the first nights cost of the reservation, unless otherwise stated in the property's conditions. Deposits paid are non refundable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your VietNam Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing