We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such good value”
Review of VietNam Inn Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VietNam Inn Saigon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such good value”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at $28 dollars night, in a standard double room on the eighth floor and were very, very happy with out stay. The hotel is very centrally located, and the staff at reception speak perfect English and are very helpful. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding and towels were clean and soft. The locations is amazing, very central to the backpacker district and just down the street from the market. All taxi drivers were able to find the hotel easily enough, if you tell them the address. The staff were very helpful, and we were able to also hire motorbikes through them without an issue. The rooftop bar also has a great view. The staff out the front of the hotel go above and beyond to assist you in getting a taxi, and helping you load your things into the cab. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody going to Saigon. We were in shock that a room that great cost so, so little.

The aircon wasn't that great, but we didn't spend all too much time in the room, and it was comfortable enough.

Room Tip: The higher rooms towards the front of the hotel have the most incredible views. If you are getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljh2356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    192
    94
    42
    43
See reviews for
7
78
218
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights and it was brilliant!

We were welcomed by really friendly and professional Vietnamese staff at the reception, who were very helpful and genuine. Our experience of the staff made our stay; we found the young guy at reception with glasses particularly lovely! :) They advised us with where to go for good food, drinks, etc and even posted a letter for me (free of charge).

It was a great location, opposite the park, 1 mintues walk from the main backpacker road, 5 minutes to the market and 10 mins to the War museum.

The building was modern, clean and the dorms where light and spacious, with good shared bathroom facilities on each level. There was a cool bar/chill out area with free computers and a pool table!

The buffet breakfast on the top floor was really yummy - especially the pancakes! (If it was included in the price, it would have been even better!)

We booked day trips to the Tunnels and the Mekong Delta through them, which were great value and also our bus to Cambodia (which was brilliant).

My only tip would be to change it's listing on Hostelbookers, as it still comes up with it's old name Ruby Hostel (which no longer exists), so it gets quite confusing when you are trying to find it.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Only paid £4.50 for a dorm bed in the middle of Saigon, about 5 minutes walk from the main backpackers district and easy walking distance to some of the main tourist attractions, including the war museum. Staff were helpful and help organised tours and a taxi to the airport, dorms were clean and the shared bathrooms had the best showers we came across in our 3 weeks in Vietnam. Would definitely recommend for value accomodation in Ho Chi Minh. Nice rooftop bar with cheap food and drinks as well at the top (obviously) of the hostel where breakfast is served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheezy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels ive stayed in. They charge me for only $6 a night for mixed dorm. The room is very clean and cold. They lockers and reading light per bed. The staff is very accommodating and will assist you all the time. It has free internet dart and billiards table at the mezzanine floor. Located along le lai street very near to the main tourist areas of pham ngu lao and bui vien.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Vietnam inn Saigon! Room was clean when we arrived, great size room and bathroom, air on worked fantastically. Location is also great across the road from a lovely park and main backpackers area. Roof top restaurant was super to.Lounge area on the 1st floor was nice, but never anyone around to purchase a beverage from at the bar. Great little tourist center where you can book any tours you need at reasonable prices in reception. Only down side was the extra $5 on top of the room price to have the room cleaned.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathaliesweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit and found it excellent, cheap, clean and good value food in the roof top restaurant.

There is a little travel agent on the ground floor and we found them to be brilliant. Great value and so good to organise and follow up on things. We booked a couple of trips and each one was handled brilliantly

Room Tip: Room 803 has an amazing view with floor to ceiling windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Myself and a group of 7 friends stayed in the mixed dorm rooms for a total of 6 nights. The dorm rooms were very spacious and incredibly clean with lockers provided. The a/c was incredible and very refreshing after a long day in the hot and busy city of Ho Chi Minh. The bathroom was also very clean with glorious hot water showers... this great hostel has definitely spoilt us for the remainder of our SE Asia trip!

There are 2 communal areas, the rooftop restaurant/bar and 1st floor bar with pool table and computers. Although not too lively, they were a good place to meet other backpackers and have a few drinks before heading out. The main area at night is the backpackers street which is simply a 5 minute walk across a small park (although walk around and not through at night time) and it is also very close to a great market.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and we were able to book tours through them. We arranged a day trip to the Cu Chi tunnels and a 3 day 2 night homestay tour of the Mekong River. Both of which were great and amazing value for money.

Overall, a great hostel and fantastic value for money when on a tight backpackers budget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
Hideout Hostels Asia - Saigon
#10 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#13 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#5 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
29.9 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 538 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VietNam Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VietNam Inn Saigon

Property: VietNam Inn Saigon
Address: 200 Le Lai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 538 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — VietNam Inn Saigon 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vietnam Inn Saigon is the biggest and the best hostel in Ho Chi Minh City (HCMC) (Saigon) with over 190 beds, and the only one in Vietnam with a 9th floor, open air rooftop bar overlooking the heart of the city... If you are young at heart and looking for a great time, this is the place to be. We have events every night, whether it is a live Western DJ, pub crawls, pool tournament, karaoke, or drink specials, you are sure to have an unforgettable experience that you may not remember. We are located in the heart of the city, District 1, Pham Ngu Lao, Bui Vien area, but a couple blocks away from all the noise and craziness of the bar street. We are within walking distance to all the famous tourist attractions including: Ben Thanh Market, War Remnants Museum, The Opera House, Cathedral Church, Reunification Palace, and Chinatown. Shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs surround the hostel. About Vietnam Inn Saigon: The hostel was specially designed for backpackers looking to experience a colorful, friendly and sociable atmosphere. In addition to a safe, low cost, centrally located hostel we also provide: -Free breakfast from 7:00AM - 10:00AM. -2 free draft beers, each night you stay with us. -Nightly drink specials. -Biggest and best pub crawls in the city 3 nights a week. -Secure lockers in each dorm (please provide your own lock). -Lockers in the lobby and behind front desk for extra security. -Large 9th floor rooftop bar with pool table and bar games each night. -Computers you can use in the lobby. -Free WI-FI throughout the building. -Reasonably priced laundry service. -Free hair driers for loan from front desk. -Security card access to elevator and dorm rooms (there is a deposit). -CCTV video monitoring in all common areas. -Chill-out room with beanbag chairs, TV, books and magazines on the 1st floor. -24 hour reception and security, no curfew. -Free secure luggage storage room. -Free motorbike parking. -Free map and advice. -Towel rental with deposit. -We offer tour, bus and transportation services. -We can help you to renew your Visa. -Airport pick-up and drop off service available for a reasonable rate. -We only accept cash in the local currency VND. Accommodation Information: Vietnam Inn Saigon features extremely clean, cozy, newly decorated Private rooms (Deluxe Double Room, Family Room) and 12-beds Mixed dorm rooms with other facilities including elevator, bar area with Pool table, outdoor terrace, hot shower, A/C, free Hi-speed Internet & Wi-Fi throughout the hostel, lockers in dorm rooms, large, clean and bright shared bathrooms, tour booking, free maps and traveling advice, fax and printer at front desk for a small charge, laundry service, airport pick-up and drop-off service. Location Information: Just 5 minutes walk to and from the Backpacker area, and the tour bus drop off area. Our hostel is opposite 23/9 Park. Don't make the mistake to take a taxi, it is just across the park from your tour bus. 10-15 minutes walk from Ben Thanh Market and the local bus station. We offer Airport pick-up service for a reasonable rate. We are around 30-40 minutes from the airport depending on traffic. Cancellation Policy: Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 24 hours before arrival. After this date, charges will be applied by the property up to the first nights cost of the reservation, unless otherwise stated in the property's conditions. Deposits paid are non refundable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your VietNam Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing