We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Fresco's

Al Fresco's
Ranked #590 of 3,147 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been here twice as sit down customers, and we love it, the ribs are wonderful, the pizza's are yummy and the staff very helpful. It is clean and has a nice atmosphere. You choose between thin and thick bases . . the Take Away is a greats service, order on line, and it is delivered to your hotel room . .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    19
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pork Ribs anyone?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the place I would go for really great pork ribs.
Taste - mouth watering delicious
Quantity - huge, so be careful on the portions you order.
Ambiance - good lively atmosphere
All these factors, together with a cold beer makes this place must if you visit HCMC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cold Reception”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I went to rediscover Al Frescos after ten years and was thoroughly disappointed . I ordered a cappuccino and got tepid water with froth . I cancelled my food order after they tried to make it again and the same cup turned up after ten minutes still cold . Never got to try the food but looking around the other tables I am glad I didn't . Don't waste your time or money on this place .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saigonnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Much Crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I haven't spent much time in-restaurant as I've done delivery only, so I'll comment just on the food.

It's crap. It tastes nothing like American pizza. There's almost no sauce, the crust is thin and unappetizing, the cheese is tasteless, and that's about it. Overpriced and you NEED to use ketchup to make up for the lack of sauce. Expect little, but pay a good bit.

Delivery is decent in time and where they go, but don't expect the guy to have change for you, so have exact amounts ready (but tip your driver all the same).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReviewDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Western food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great Western food (pizza, fried chicken and hamburger). They also have Australian comfort food as well as Asian appetizers. But what I like most here is their spare ribs. One of the best that i have had in a long time. The service is nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fresco's also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Al Fresco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing