We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel on the backpackers street”
Review of Aston Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Hotel Saigon
Ranked #228 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a new little hotel located right on the main backpackers street. It is in excellent condition and has very clean amenities. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always happy to see you when you get back.

The hotel is on Bui Vien St which is full of bars, restaraunts, massage places, tourists and hawkers. This may be a problem for some people that are looking for peace and quiet, but myself and my girlfriend were very happy with the fact that we could step out of the front door and get food and beers straight away. It is a good party atmosphere every night.

The hotel itself is very good, especially considering the price, we paid around $50 a night for one of the better rooms. The staff are very friendly and will help with any enquiries you might have. They recommended an excellent massage place just around the corner (which was very professional and we went back every afternoon for the remainder of our time in Saigon). We also booked all of our tours through them and were very happy.

When we checked out we had to wait until 9 pm to get on the sleeper bus to Nha Trang. The staff let us store our bags while we killed some time (check out at 1200). They also let us have a shower before we went to get on the bus too.

Little touches like that are what makes this an excellent hotel. We have booked another night there for when we come back to Saigon (before we fly home to Australia).

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingie_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel was near-new when we stayed there (December 2012). In general, the property is very well kept. Our room was quite spacious (twin room) and the bathroom was very nice and a decent size. The shower was a proper cubicle (unlike many other bathrooms i have stayed in in Asian hotels, which are more like a shower hose with no doors or enclosure to stop the shower water going everywhere). The bathroom also came with a very good amenity kit (toothbrush and toothpaste, razor and shaving cream, cotton buds, shampoo, conditioner and body wash). The room came with two free bottles of mineral water each day (if it was cleaned).

The window from our room looked out onto the street below (Bui Vien). The room had cable TV, which had a great selection of cable channels and the TV reception was perfect. We had no issues accessing the free WIFI either.

The hotel is in the backpackers district, which I didn't realise when I booked it. This was a minus for me, because it was full of seedy characters, thieves (one of our friends had her handbag stolen from a bandit on a motorbike) and was quite busy and noisy. The sound of music blaring from the nearby bars travelled up to the room and kept us up at night well past midnight every night. Also, it was a little bit of a hike upto the nicer end of town (around the Vincom centre etc).

Breakfast was made to order and the western breakfast (bacon and eggs or sausage and eggs) was very good. The Asian-style breakfast was a little dissapointing.

The staff were friendly and helpful and helped us organise to have laundry done etc.

Our complaints were minor - we kept having to specifically ask for the room to be cleaned because the staff didn't seem to come in and do it as a matter of course, even when we lit up the sign for 'make up the room'. This was a little frustrating after we came back from long days of sightseeing to a messy room and the water and amenity kits hadn't been refreshed and the towels hadn't been changed. There was also no iron in the room.

Other than this, I would recommend people to stay here if they want to be close to the action of the backpackers district. It was very well priced and a cut above other accommodation in the immediate vicinity. I myself wouldn't return because the area was a bit too noisy and chaotic for my liking.

Room Tip: If you have the option, I'd choose a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahLenaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel. The location is right on the main backpackers road. It is located right next to one of the biggest and most popular bars. We stayed on the 2nd floor and were a little concerned about how noisy it might be but the room was fairly quiet. It was not completely silent but the music was very faint... The workers at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and the breakfast wasn't bad. This hotel is a great value with a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice set up and good location. Stayed for 3 nights. Lots of restaurants and eatery nearby. However, can get quite noisy at night as the pub downstairs would blast their music up throughout the night. Limited but decent breakfast selection.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitedaisy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Aston for 2 nights during a weekend away to Ho Chi Minh in December 2012. Immaculate rooms and lovely spacious bathrooms, free WiFi, TV, stocked fridge. Everyone from the Manager to the Porter was extremely friendly and helpful! They had no problems when we wanted to change our original booking from a standard to a deluxe room, helped us with directions and recommendations and called bus companies to change our tickets on our behalf. The quality of the location would depend on the individual traveler...the street we stayed in was amazing and seemed to come alive at about 8PM, with no shortage of bars, restaurants, curio shops and massage parlors (which definitely came in handy for our aching feet after a LONG day exploring the beautiful city) just a few meters away. It was central enough to get to any of the interesting places to see on foot - we walked all the way to the zoo and back, visiting the Opera House, cathedral, post office and War Museum on the way (a whole day's exploring but definitely worth it!). We also booked a tour to the tunnels which we really enjoyed!! The breakfast was sufficient, a plate of fruit and yoghurt, and a selection of either eggs and bacon/sausages with a baguette, or noodles with pork (yummy!) etc... Don't expect complete silence in your hotel room, but then again after hours on your feet wandering the streets nothing can stop you from passing out cold as soon as your head hits the pillow! PS: Make sure you know how far the hotels are from where you get dropped off and picked up etc., after being bombarded by taxi drivers we were silly enough to take a taxi to the hotel before orientating ourselves with a map, which turned out to be a 300m walk from the bus stop! (Mekong Express)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night when we arrived in Saigon and rebooked for 2 nights when we left Saigon 15 days later. This hotel is excellent - comparable to the very good ones in the UK. We stayed in both a standard and deluxe room. The standard room had no windows (which we knew when we booked) and it is definately worth paying for the deluxe room as this is better in all respects. The hotel is very new, clean and the staff are friendly particularly the main porter who was so nice. Breakfast is ok and the hotel pick up fee is extremely high so get a taxi from the airport instead (ours cost 160,000 vnd) or 8 dollars compared to the hotel which was over 3 times more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjw967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very impressed for a £25 a night hotel. Despite being next door to two of the noisiest bars around, as soon as you walked into the lobby silence prevailed. The room was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom was almost luxurious. Breakfast was basic but of good quality. The staff were fantastic- only speaking basic English but incredibly helpful. We'll stay again and highly recommended it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#73 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,115 reviews
0 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#156 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
271 reviews
0 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#83 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#170 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
29 reviews
0 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#143 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
212 reviews
0 mi away
CCentral Hotel De Tham
CCentral Hotel De Tham
#37 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel Saigon

Address: 27 - 29 Bui Vien st, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 468 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $29 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ASTON Hotel is a newly-built hotel 2012 located on the central District 1 and within the tourist area of the Hochiminh city. Our hotel approximately 25 mins from the TanSanNhat International Airport. There are many tourist attractions around such as Ben Thanh market (8mins walking), the Saigon River, War Museum, the Notre Dam Church, and the Reunification Palace... The famous BEN THANH MARKET (the inside opens from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm; and the outside opens from that time till midnight); you can enjoy a lot of dishes of Vietnamese cuisine; buy souvenirs or something special as gifts for family… Central Bus station(opposite to Ben Thanh Market); to go to Cho Lon China Town, take the bus number 1 to get there, or visit BINH TAY or AN DONG MARKET (wholesale; open from 6:00 am till 6:00 pm) Especially, the Bui Vien and Pham Ngu Lao bustling area (commonly known as the backpacker area), where there are lots of tourist desks, tailor-shops, coffee shops; nightclubs, restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, Banks, ATM (Commonwealth Bank), currency exchange desks.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing