We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dinh Phat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dinh Phat Hotel to your Saves list
Dinh Phat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141-143 Calmette, Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was comparable to others in the same price range that we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam. The market is very close to the hotel, and you are also within walking distance to the museums and other buildings of interest. The staff was helpful but not overly in your face. The shower head is weird and does tend to get stuck, but it can be fixed. Breakfast was the only disappointment. Mostly Asian choices (that turn out super greasy) and horrible coffee. Why advertise "Vietnamese" coffee if you're really serving instant? Overall a pleasant hotel that I would recommend for the price.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side of the hotel and could be awfully noisy. It was also on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trubeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
20
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for just one night in December 2012. Very happy with our choice for a short stay. The hotel has limited facilities but it's very good value. The hotel is in an old building but seems to have been extensively renovated. Our room was huge, modern and very clean, with a new bathroom and spa bath. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the Vietnamese breakfasts are good. And unlike many multi-storey buildings in Vietnam, it has an external fire exit which is good for peace of mind when travelling with small kids.

The hotel is set right in a commercial area so there's not a lot for tourists around the immediate location, but Ben Thanh market is only a 5 minute walk away. Taxis are cheap and plentiful if you don't like the idea of crossing 8 lane roads with small kids in tow. There's also a park very close by with outdoor gym equipment and a playground to occupy the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provence
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our first hotel in Vietnam and we stayed for 3 nights. First impressions were of an extremely friendly and helpful staff and a very clean and quite spacious room.
The beds are extremely hard (as was often the case in Vietnam), it is not a quiet hotel by any means (again not unusual in Vietnam) and the breakfasts are on the poor side (but this IS Vietnam).
Initially we tried to find a restaurant which did not involve crossing the road which is in itself a terrrifying prospect - but in Saigon you can't just live on one side of the street and since there are no bridges or underpasses for pedestrians or even traffic lights then playing chicken with the scooters is the only option. Fortunately they don't go very fast and if you leave them to avoid you (rather than the contrary) then you soon become accustomed to this crazy traffic.
Sure there are better hotels than Dinh Phat but very few better-value hotels - we paid €351 for 2 large rooms for 3 nights - it was the cheapest hotel by far during our 2 weeks stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

First of all the location is pretty bad with out being awful... there are no decent restaurants around its about 10 minutes walk to the backpacker area with hundreds of places to eat and a long walk in different direction to palace and museum and shopping centres... so you would expect this place would be cheaper but its not.

The rooms are plain but have everything you need except the bed which is like cement, i found it hard to sleep and would wake up with sore ribs.

Breakfast is only available until 9am and is very basic.

I am positive you can find somewhere better value in saigon and everyday i was here i was annoyed at my self for not finding somewhere better!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimburns4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel was inexpensive, within walking distance to attractions, and the staff was fantastic. Everyone was very helpful and spot-on with recommendations for tours and restaurants. Rooms are clean-and I am using the free wifi to write this review!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank innej2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Awesome service location and rooms! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Great breakfast, the rooms were new clean and well equipped with safe toiletries and free water. Short walk to market and sights.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgilanpour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the hotel booking for 8 nights after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, There was a hanging sign on the Hotel enterance stating "New Opening Specials" or somehting similar. No problems checking in and was taken to our room pretty quickly, very clean and well made up room and it looked as though it had had some recent new work done on it.

The only negatives we had about the Hotel were the beds, I've stayed in places all over asia and realise they have firm to hard beds, this was but far the hardest I have ever slept on, having a sore back dosent help but it was realy hard. The other thing that the staff need to do is turn off the television in the Foyer and stop watching soapies and playing blackjack on the computer when clients are about, Breakfast was really disorganised and we saw several people not bother waiting for it the meal itself was average and drinks were hard to get and seemed to run out all the time, I think the Hotel maybe has new staff and I felt it dosent reflect some of the previous reviews in my opinion. We checked out early after 3 nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upnorth1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#113 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#74 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
zoolut Stay 278
zoolut Stay 278
#105 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
An An 2 Hotel
An An 2 Hotel
#72 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mai Anh Hotel
Mai Anh Hotel
#179 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#71 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinh Phat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinh Phat Hotel

Property: Dinh Phat Hotel
Address: 141-143 Calmette, Nguyen Thai Binh Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dinh Phat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dinh Phat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing