We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest restaurant of Ho Chi Minh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Oysters

Five Oysters
Ranked #58 of 3,106 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Five Oysters Restaurant proposes an authentic and fine Vietnamese cuisine, especially seafood. It is located in the busy Bui Vien St. but not in the noisy part of this backpacking street. You can choose a seat in front of the resto to watch people walking and the traffic or a table inside to dine in the cozy dining space. Since the resto owner's hometown is Long Hai beach where is famous for seafood and oysters, you can find seafood and other local food here really fresh. Not like amost other restaurants in backpacking area which are owned by foreigners, this resto is 100% Vietnamese. Check out this place if you 'd like to try a True Vietnamese kitchen in Saigon.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nicest restaurant of Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The interiour is nice, the food is great but the staff is just amazing. They are so polite, caring, love to explain dishes and they speak english really well. You can eat three courses with two persons - including really nice seafood - for only $20. Don't miss out on this great little restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannevanvuure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Suzannevanvuure,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and recognizing our team's effort.

I am happy to see that we made every attempt to ensure your experience with us was the best possible. "Nicest restaurant in HCMC" is a wonderful compliment.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to your return.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in the future.

CAM ON!

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    404
    147
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced as well as having some very cold beers on hand - again very well priced. If all this was not enough, the service there was second to none.

I found myself at Five Oysters a number of times during my stay in Ho Chi Minh City mostly thanks to Loc whom I had some great chats with during my extended lunches. It was great to have a such a great person serving people and he seemed to remember everyone by name that walked by on the street.

I look forward to going back to the Five Oysters for another chat with Loc very soon and to get stuck in to their wonderful menu and their deliciously cold beers

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarcialN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear MarcialN,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and recognizing our team's effort.

I am happy to see that we made every attempt to ensure your experience with us was the best possible.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team, especially our nice staff, Mr. Loc and we look forward to your return.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in the future.

CAM ON!

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Only qualm is beer tap a little slow and the snails got away.

Service staff duyen is simply great.

Oysters were fantastic....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Chen S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and recognizing our team's effort.

I am happy to see that we made every attempt to ensure your experience with us was the best possible.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team, especially Ms. Duyen and we look forward to your return.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in the future.

CAM ON!

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place in spite of freshness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The place was nice,the food are good, the staff are friendly (knowning people would look for their place because of tripadvisor. I honestly have to say.. they are pretty simple, but the environment that brings you a good interest.
They dearly need to advertise well (bigger sign board,Entrance to be more appealing) I was totally exhausted by the time i got there. It took us over 1 hour to look for a place. The address and the location direction isnt enough on this trip advisor. Look for "DUC VUONG HOTEL" on google, or CRAZY BUFFALO club location first. Once u reach to the Crazy Buffalo club alternate to Pizza hut, then you better ask for the name of the road.We have been asking direction,showing name of the road since way up and no one can recall it. or look for the park Le Lai and Pham Ngu Lao, then you go ahead asking step by step. People are jus blind folded seeing you saying " no " first instead of reading the direction with you.
Getting back to the restaurant.. not the cheap ones but fair price,portion abit small it's good if you get to sit inside or outside not to be distracted by the kids who are trying to sell you their souvenirs,if you have your sympathy..you are stuck there..before you buy from them.. make sure you bargain. Some speak good english too! :D

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Isabel09,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and recognizing our team's effort.

I am happy to see that we made every attempt to ensure your experience with us was the best possible.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to your return.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in the future.

CAM ON!

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Deep fried snapper was beautifully cooked and served, shrimp and pork spring rolls were excellent and the mango smoothie lovely. The cost at a little under VND 200,000 was very good value. Service was also fine as mentioned by many others. So why only 4 stars? Does the management really have to let what was a procession of street sellers into the restaurant? When there, I didn't see anyone buy anything from them, but I did see other customers annoyed by this as I was. Not sure about returning and can't wholeheartedly recommend because of that, but certainly would if this annoyance was fixed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robertoIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear robertoindonesia,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and recognizing our team's effort.

I am happy to see that we made every attempt to ensure your experience with us was the best possible.

I will be delighted to pass on your kind feedback to the team and we look forward to your return.

By the way, we are sorry for letting some street sellers get into the restaurant which might disturd our customers and you a bit.

We are looking forward welcoming you and your guests again in the future.

CAM ON!

Warm regards,

Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Oysters also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Five Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing