We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Five Oysters

Five Oysters
Ranked #58 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Oysters Restaurant proposes an authentic and fine Vietnamese cuisine, especially seafood. It is located in the busy Bui Vien St. but not in the noisy part of this backpacking street. You can choose a seat in front of the resto to watch people walking and the traffic or a table inside to dine in the cozy dining space. Since the resto owner's hometown is Long Hai beach where is famous for seafood and oysters, you can find seafood and other local food here really fresh. Not like amost other restaurants in backpacking area which are owned by foreigners, this resto is 100% Vietnamese. Check out this place if you 'd like to try a True Vietnamese kitchen in Saigon.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great restaurant in back-packers district. Staff friendly and very attentive. Had the oysters Kilpatrick - for those from Aus/Perth these are not the same and not as good. Nice oysters though - just a different slant of the dish. We had the 5Oysters spring rolls - excellent, the pancake which was also excellent and the pho which was very good - drinks very cheap all in all a very good meal and worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EddieOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear EddieOnTour,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to write such a great review.

Glad to hear that our staff served you well. We are sorry when the oysters Kilpatrick served were not as your expection. Luckily we found you finally enjoyed them. We are putting a lot of effort to make all the food and drink better and better everyday, hopefully you enjoy them much better when you have a chance to come back our place.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    430
    153
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap & Delicious Food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located in the backpacker area, this small cafe/restaurant is well worth visiting. The food was delicious and incredibly cheap. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Dace11,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to write such a great review.
Glad to know that you like our food and prices.

We've been putting so much effort to serve our customers the best local food we can provide at the most reasonable price. We are here today because of the great customer like you. We really appreciate it.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Try it”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I went with a group of friends from Australia. We checked out the reviews and thought we'd check it out. The people were very friendly despite a slight language barrier. The area is a bit full on near the backpackers distract but the restaurant itself was really lovely. The food was beautiful and very reasonably priced. Aussies- be careful about ordering the oysters, they are way bigger than home. They were delicious though and no problems at all the next day. I reccomend this place to other travelers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougie1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Dougie1485,

Thank you so much for your visit and taking your time to write such a great review.
We are glad to hear that you had a great time at our restaurant.

Also, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed much our food and services, especially our big & fresh oysters. Hope the dinner at our restaurant became a part of your good memories in Vietnam.

Again, thank you for your review. We really appreciate it.

CAM ON!

Best regards,
Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT Vietnamese Pancake and Spring Roles”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We loved our food here. The beer is cheap (~15,000 dong) and the service is superb. We had the Five Oysters Spring Rolls and my husband swears they are the best he's ever had. I loved the Vietnamese pancake. We would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nat9Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nat9Toronto,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to write such a great review.
Glad to know that you like our Vietnamese pancake and Five Oysters spring rolls.

We've been putting so much effort to serve our customers the best local food we can provide since we opened the restaurant. And it'll be our restaurant's 1 year anniversary next month. We are here today because of the great customer like you. We really appreciate it.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, value and service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant three times on our visit to Vietnam and it would have been a lot more if we had have discovered it earlier. What a great experience. Fabulous food, excellent service, from friendly, happy, helpful staff. The food is fresh and delicious and amazingly cheap prices. We will definitely be back on our next visit and highly recommend Five Oysters

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Samantha D,

Thank you for your visit and taking time to write such a great review.
We are glad to hear that we are serving you well.

We try to make our best effort to provide the perfect dining experience to our customer. There are a lot of things we need to improve and it's a long journey ahead. But guests feedback such as yours motivates us a lot. Thank you so much.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,
Man Ho, Five Oysters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Oysters also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Five Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing