We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with small dong”
Review of Five Oysters

Five Oysters
Ranked #68 of 3,578 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Seafood, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Oysters Restaurant proposes an authentic and fine Vietnamese cuisine, especially seafood. It is located in the busy Bui Vien St. but not in the noisy part of this backpacking street. You can choose a seat in front of the resto to watch people walking and the traffic or a table inside to dine in the cozy dining space. Since the resto owner's hometown is Long Hai beach where is famous for seafood and oysters, you can find seafood and other local food here really fresh. Not like amost other restaurants in backpacking area which are owned by foreigners, this resto is 100% Vietnamese. Check out this place if you 'd like to try a True Vietnamese kitchen in Saigon.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We tried their pho (35,000 VND) and seafood fried rice (60,000 VND). All we wanted was to have quick bite, but I was surprised at quality of food there. pho was good (and cheap!), but I loved their fried rice. Very basic dish, but I could tell they know how to cook things. There are many seafood menu, and many looked promising, and fun (saw steamed shark, and never had one yet!).

Beer was cheap too. :)

Definitely I'd like to try again there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank satoshinfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear TNote,
We could not recall you but thank you very much for your comments! We are glad you did like your meal at Five Oysters and also your nice comment about the food and the rate. At Five Oysters we always try to bring the good food to our guests with the lowest price as possible. We do hope to welcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Man Ho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,066 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

This resturant is a small place in the backpackers area. The chicken pho I had here for lunch was the best I have had. It was fresh, chicken pieces good quality and noodles just right. I think it cost 35000 dong (1.75 AUD). The service was a little slow considering we were the only people in the place but worth the wait. They have a lot of seafood dishes listed with some daily specials which I assume change. Good juices and cold beer too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jvhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Jvhs,
Thank you for visiting Five Oysters restaurant and now taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had voted for our Pho as the best one. It's really encouraging. We do hope to welcome you back very soon in future.
Best regards,
Man Ho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This small restaurant is quite cosy. The food is good, tasty and delicious. Price is ok, not too expensive and service is very good. I went there on Saturday and there was a live band playing, which is a plus. Dont know if they have live music everyday. All in all, I'm satisfied with the restaurant .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tieu_Thanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Tieu_Thanh,
Thank you so much for the review. We are really happy to read that you did enjoy cuisine and service both at Five Oysters. Thank you for the support and patronage and we do sincerely hope to welcome you back soon in future in our Restaurant.
Thank you and best regards,
Man Ho and Five Oysters team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just came back from the restaurant, and the food here is the best we have tasted in Vietnam. Delicious and very tasteful vietnamese food that sparkles in your mouth. Every new bite tastes different from the previous. The restaurant has only existed for 1,5 months, and will hopefully soon find a well deserved high ranking on tripadvisor soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Byge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man_Quang_Ho, Manager at Five Oysters, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Byge,
Thank you so much for reviewing us on TA with such great comments! I am sure all the team will be delighted to read how nice experience you had with us. Thank you again for your time and for share your experience at Five Oysters with us and other fellow travelers. We do hope to welcome you again soon at Five Oysters.
Best regards,
Man Ho and all the team of Five Oysters,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Thank noenoe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Oysters also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Five Oysters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing