We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is nice, service is lacking”
Review of Blue Crab - CLOSED

Blue Crab
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Crab opened its doors in February 2012, with a staff dedicated to fresh seafood & other great dishes in a fun, casual setting at the most reasonable price in town.Our seafood comes from the same supplier as and most of all the 5 star hotels in Saigon. Whether your looking for fully prepared meals; delivered to your home or office, Dinner outdoors on our patio or in our dining room, or special order party platters with our newest service "Fresh Seafood On Ice"We Guarantee Your Satisfaction!Come and See why Critic's are Raving about Us!"Infusing the delicious smells in the air wetting our appetites....a venue worthy of our support" -Saigon TimesBlue Crab "...has some of the most well prepared and cheapest seafood in town" -AsiaLife Magazine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food is nice, service is lacking”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Disclaimer: I have not yet eaten crab here.

My wife and I have been here a few times now as it is a nice restaurant close by. Both times we feel like the meal was soured by non-existent wait staff. The first time we visited they definitely had an off night (looked like they were training up new staff, and/or their more experienced staff were not around), but we came back to give them a second chance. The second time the food came out much more quickly and the service was nicer, however when we wanted to get the bill or ask for another drink, we could not see a single person to flag down.

Nonetheless, the food is of fairly good quality - although there's no particular dish we would request. If you're ordering starters, specifically request that you would like it brought out first. Both times our entrees came out after our main dishes.

We may go back again in a pinch, but for the price we would need a fair bit of convincing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy Dinner”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

chic place with fantastic food. you can choose to cook them the way you like. the sauce prepared for the crab was amazing tangy tamarind. not crowded at all. and absolutely value for money for the stuff we ordered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottingdean, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just simply Unbelievable food”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Unquestionably the best food discover of 2014. Behind the homely setting lies simply the most delicious, fresh and under priced comfort seafood and other delightful dishes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HanoiTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charges are in detail check before eating”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

food was ok but prices are a bit high. also they charge by grams on blue crab however, we do not know how many grams so it could be any gram they tell you.

they charge you the customer for credit card service charge of 3% i ha. been around whole vietnam but this was the first.

the crab lobster is like shrimp size. the mussels were old and dry even in soup. the shrimp was also frozen and then put in soup

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Seafoods Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

If you were driving through Thao Dien Ward (district 2) you probably wouldn't pick this place....why not you ask? Because it's off the beaten path from the two main streets. Next time you're in D2 you better take the extra two minutes to find Blue Crab. This place was fantastic!

The service was great, the prices were good, the owner (Alex) was extremely friendly and the food was delicious. Alex speaks perfect english so hes a great guy to gather information about the city from. My fiancee and I ordered a four different dishes and shared them. My favorite was bacon wrapped lobster, her favorite was the blue crab in tamarind sauce. We will be back multiple times and plan on bringing every friend that comes to visit.

Enjoy this delicious hidden gem of Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott_and_Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Crab also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing