We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value Budget Hotel in Pham Ngu Lao Area”
Review of Kim 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kim 2 Hotel
Ranked #58 of 914 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Budget Hotel in Pham Ngu Lao Area”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Since our flight from Manila arrived in Ho Chi Minh at 1am, we're able to avail their US$12 pickup service at the airport just to be safe, because we're pretty much aware that just like any other cities in the world, there might be bad guys lurking & waiting for us.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I'm quite bemused that the entrance of the hotel is already closed & the receptionist had just waken up to accommodate us & give us the best tasting, cold watermelon slice as a welcome to us (it turns out that they usually close their doors at 12mn, but you may still go out even after they've closed the main entrance. You just have to doorbell your way to get in to get their attention). And because we're too exhausted with our flight & pretty much hungry, the watermelon is gone in just a couple of minutes! :)

After the usual check-in procedures at the reception area, we were fetched to our room at the 3rd floor (I'm not quite sure if it's the 3rd floor. It's just above the terrace), we were blown away by the neatness & big space of the room. We had a great view of the street below in front of us. The toilet & bath is excellent! The room also has a mini refrigerator to make your drinks cold. That's a great value for a US$17, 1st class room in this part of Pham Ngu Lao.

In addition, the receptionist is really kind & helpful, considering he is really having a hard time pronouncing some English words (I forgot his name though.. my bad). He's the first person (out of the many Vietnamese) in Saigon to remind us to take good care of our belongings, by instructing us to always place & tuck our bags in front of us, because there are so many snatchers/pickpockets (maybe in motorcycles) who might snag your valuables away.

Overall, our experience Ho Chi Minh City is very memorable & definitely worth it, even if we only stayed for 1 day & 2 nights only. We'll definitely come back again! :)

Room Tip: Go book the 1st class room fronting the street below. It definitely is worth the money, although the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvsdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    23
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
27
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The setting for Kim 2 is just off the main backpacker street in District 1, and on arrival we had a fantastic welcome from the guy on reception who instantly went into a brief tour of the area with a map setting out where we can eat and drink and sights to see around the city, he informed of us trips but never pressured us into anything. With the vast array of hotels in the area the best way to get good reviews is having someone like him on reception. The room is clean, modern and probably one of the best rooms we have stayed in since we have been in Vietnam. The area is vibrant, bustling and full of really cheap but very very tasty food. Walking to the other parts of the city is easy (apart from the mopeds) and tours onwards to other destinations can be easily arranged from any of the vast amount of agents in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuffyoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Kim 2 is located on Do Quang Dau, which is a bit quieter than the main street in the Pham Ngu Lao tourist area. The hotel is either new or recently renovated - all the room furnishings were in excellent condition and the bathroom was spotless. The A/C and hot water worked fine and there was good water pressure. There was complimentary soap and shampoo in the bathroom. The minibar was well-stocked and the prices very reasonable. Breakfast was available but not included. There is a balcony/deck overlooking the street where you can have breakfast in the morning,.

The rooms vary a bit depending on whether they have a window or not. Note that there is only a staircase, and it is a bit of climb to the higher numbered rooms. The reward, though, is that the higher rooms are quieter in terms of street noise.

But the best part of the hotel was the staff. They work really hard to make their guests stay pleasant. In particular, front desk clerk Nim was awesome, helping me over and over again answering questions and booking tours. His English was excellent and he was a real pleasure to work with. Another of the staff actually helped me across the street when I was having trouble finding a space in the traffic.

Room Tip: I had room #4 and I think it was probably the best room in the place - top floor so it was quiet, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dash34td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights but could have stayed longer. It wasn't flash but for what we paid it was great. Awesome air con, cool little terrace where you can sit and watch the colourful characters of the street. Great and unbelievably cheap food only a couple of doors down. The staff are funny and try hard to speak to you in English, very friendly and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenely1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

you can get lost when u arrive in Saigon during the fist minutes..where to sleep.to put your bags ins secure clean not expensive place.
if you arrive by bus, like most of the people who don't book hotels in advance and prefer to explore the place..u ll be dropped by the park, near Buy Vien ...
a 3minutes walk from there..just have a look in Kim 2 hotel, a very warm welcome..very good staff, clean place, serious, and ..safe!
tks to them..i ll go back there with pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznań
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with very friendly staff. I had big room which is not really big but big enough for 2 peaople. It has also window with street view.
Enyoyed this place and for 20$ its very hard to find enything better.
Big + for a friendly and warm atmosphere!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We went to Ho Chi Minh 4 times and everytime was good! The price is affordable and the staff is really lovely! They took care of our motorbikes every evening and every morning!
The rooms are very clean, with big windows, and the bathrooms also very clean and new.
There is fridge, air con, space for your clothes, and the bed is very good quality too! I do not hesitate to recommend them!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#43 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,967 reviews
0.9 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,565 reviews
0.4 mi away
New World Saigon Hotel
New World Saigon Hotel
#38 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim 2 Hotel

Property: Kim 2 Hotel
Address: 17 Do Quang Dau Street, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 914 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kim 2 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Kim 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing