We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #20 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Pullman, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel was a bit far from the downtown area and you have to take a taxi cab to get to the sights and back. The hotel itself was quite nice, the breakfast was good, and the staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Allison J,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments here

We are located in the middle of city center & airport which is very convenient for going to both of those places. It's unlucky for us as there is some of our customers refer to stay near the central then they will not be satisfied with our location... But as you could see, we are always trying to provide the best services to our guests, to make them feel they are staying at home. I beleive you could feel it as well...

We do hope the distance from town wont prevent you to comeback with us next times...

By the way, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

Best Regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    251
    62
    19
    6
See reviews for
115
310
98
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

been there last week for business.
very comfortable bed and very nice breakfast. especially the vietnamese rice noodle was so good.
About 10 min from the airport and very near to the center point where i visited for few days.
very satisfied with its service and i will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: i stayed in grand room. ask for upgrade for just little extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Mr/Ms James C,

Thank you very much for your useful comments


We will keep up & enhance out service better and better to make sure that your next stays will be better than this good time

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you and your family!

Best Regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

nice hotel, the staffs and crews was so very nice and really helpfull they speak english fluently, thank you so much :)
the location may quite dissapoint you but i really like the lobby, full of books :)
Breakfast was great i really like the taste ... when we too exhausted from the trip, we still can enjoy read the novel at room, i really love this hotel
the place nearby the airport but also need only 15 minutes go to the central of saigon, the hotel's receptionist will help you to get a cab if you want go to see around the saigon
the room was very comfortable, neat and clean event it's a little bit small .. the bathroom also nice

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank yantioniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Yantionel,

Warm greetings from The Alcove Library Hotel!

It's delightful to receive your great comments here. Thank you very much

We hope you will get back with us again soon

Best Regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

The location may quite disappoint you but everything about the hotel is worth it. The facade of the hotel is alright but nice.

The rooms are very comfortable though it's not that spacious but big enough for you to move around.

Friendly, nice and great english speaking staff. They really do care about their guests.

The Saigon Roadhouse offers a cozy ambiance dine in experience. The view from the resto balcony doesn't offer much what Saigon has to offer but if you just wanna chill and relax a bit, i think it will do. Nice interior.

Cute, artsy lobby. Excellent wi-fi. :)
Overall, it is definitely worth every penny.
Interior is great. Definitely, we'll be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lanceefied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Lanceefied,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel as your home far away from home

It is great to know that you love our hotel and you had a good stay with us. And thank you so much for writting wonderful comments here

We are looking forward to serving you again soon. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

Best Regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Although this hotel is not too far from the airport, two cabbies had a hard time finding it, probably because of another street with similar name.

However, we had a good time once we were there. The rooms were modern and clean. The breakfast was great. I reached the breakfast 15 minutes past the time it ended but was served fast and with personal attention in the roadhouse café.

We got excellent directions and assistance for an onward trip to the Mekong delta - complete with a driver, tour guide, accommodations - all at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mr Hemant M,

Warm greetings from The Alcove Library Hotel, Saigon!

Thanks for giving great comments about us. We are a bit hiding away so some taxis cant find us for the first time, but almost the taxi driver know us quite well...

It's delightful to know that you and your friend were enjoying staying with us and very satisfied with our services. We are going to keep non-stop improving to serve our customers better and better

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
326 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The pictures and the reality of the outside match, not so much the rooms. Lovely aromatherapy in the lobby, and uber cute french courtyard in the midst of Saigon city bustle. 15 minutes cab ride from the airport (60,000 VD or about $3 US).

Booked 2 nights in the city which was just fine for us, we much preferred the slower pace of Nha Trang and other smaller cities. Staff were very kind and helpful. If you try and book their airport service (claimed on their website), it's $17 US one way.

The room: very basic. The floors were Ikea laminate, which meant any Movement on the floor above could be heard. The bathroom separated from the bedroom by a glass sliding door, not terribly private. The safe didn't function, and even with assistance from the staff, wasn't easy or intuitive. The walls of the shower were in poor disrepair, and although somewhat clean, looked awful, with no fewer than 3 different colors of caulking and cracked tiles. The windows couldn't be opened, and were opaque glass, on the outside, you could see the mesh (cage), no possibility of any viewing. The small window above the bed could at least offer a view of the weather outside. The air con functioned, albeit loud.

Breakfast: breakfast is offered in their Roadhouse grill on the top floor, fine for this meal, no ambiance for any other meal of the day (I believe they offer hamburgers, and other western dishes, not appealing to us at all, we are here for Viet food!). To start the fruit plate was very good they were apparently sold out of bread ( ! ) so items were limited. Pancakes were chewy, coffee nothing to write home about (certainly not the great coffee we had everywhere else), second day breaki (at least they had bread) about the same.

Area: a couple of quite good local restaurants on the alley/street of the hotel...and a couple good cafés in the area for decent coffee too.

Overall, ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Ecowoman,

Thank you very much for staying with The Alcove Library Hotel and spending time to post comments here

We are a small boutique hotel so number of rooms are little. But we provide almost the amenities & services of a 4 star hotel in town

As the law, next door houses can not make opened windows to look over to neighbours. So our windows just for getting some natural birght. This made you disappointed but we are very sorry, we cant change law even we really want...

Some of not good points we will be trying to improve. We do hope your next stays will be much better than this time

Once again thank you very for your comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

this is my 3rd stay in this hotel and the it excels in 3 ways, it feels like home away from home, the staff are well trained and informed (especially when they treat you like family), and everything works without fuss.

the location is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle and in 30 mins you are in District 1 or a 10 min ride to the airport.

a definite respite from the hustle and bustle of HCMC .....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teck88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Teck88,

Thank you very much for always choosing The Alcove Library Hotel to accommodate yourself when coming to Saigon!

And also thank you very much for your great comments. We will keep up and maintain our good standard as well as we will improve it better and better

We are looking forward to welcome you back again very soon. Please take good car and Merry Christmas!

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing