We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really wonderful experience! Great concept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #20 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really wonderful experience! Great concept”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for two nights while in HCMC. The hotel is located halfway between the airport and the city. A taxi to the city centre costs around 50000 Dong ($2.50) and takes 5 to 10 mins, during peak hour it takes a little longer.

We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The room was neat and clean. The breakfast delicious. The lobby gorgeous. The lofty restaurant - very cool. The price - great.

The only two things I could fault the hotel on were the water pressure in the bathroom. The pressure fluctuates every few seconds and can be frustrating. There was also a slight odor in stairwell which was being masked by some fragrant oil candles. An extraction fan could probably deal with this problem and I know that the staff are aware of this. The room was not at all smelly so this wasn't exactly a huge problem.

Overall the hotel was a very lovely place to call home during our time in HCMC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishaa_iskraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear PatooshaLove,

Great thanks for your wonderful share on tripadvisor.com

We hope you are all fine, and planning for next rrip to Vietnam again

Its very good to hear that you really enjoyed staying with The Alcove Library Hotel. Located in a quiet area, near the airport but it also near the city center, that is our convenience. We highly appreciate that you valued us and recommend us to your friends, and share your experience here for everyone to know. It's very meaningful to us

We are also sorry for some of your not good exprerience as water pressure unsteadable or smell in corridors... The water matter is already fixed and the smell treatment is on the last stept of solving... it will be ended very soon

Once again, thank you very much for choosing us and giving good comments about us. We do hope you and your friends will have us in your first choice when you are planning back to Ho Chi Minh City in the future

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    273
    64
    20
    6
See reviews for
127
342
106
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Beautiful Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Alcove Library Hotel was our first hotel experience in Vietnam. This boutique hotel is very modern and clean offering excellent service with a cheerful, pleasant staff. We loved the location. It wasn't too far from the airport and since we are big walkers and try to walk everywhere, we found that it was within walking distance to interesting main attractions and wonderful restaurants.

The rooms are very quiet with superb comfy beds and pillows providing a perfect environment for a great night's sleep. Breakfasts were also wonderful although they take your breakfast order the night before so you have to predict what you might be hungry for in the morning. The only minor criticism for me is the bathroom. While interesting in design, clean and modern with a sliding glass door, it is quite small for two people's use with really no place to put your toiletries. I found it difficult and a bit inconvenient to manage my contacts without a counter or shelf.

All in all, it was an excellent stay though. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you have two people and there is an option for a larger bathroom, you might want to consider this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucindaVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear LucindaVan,

Warm greetings from The Alcove Library Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City!

It is great to hear that you really enjoyed staying with us. Your share is very helpful to us here. Thank you very much

Maybe last time you stayed in our Twin room? There are only 3 twin rooms dont have the marble shelf for toiletaries as that's the point to make it's defferent to the other categories, but other rooms are installed the shelves. We think we will arrange you into other room category for next of your stay for more convenient since you have many batroom stuffs then

Once again thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future

Best Regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

20 minute to centre of city, which suits some, but next time will stay closer to the action. Rooms were clean and nice, pretty small though. Shower was not the best, in fact it was poor. Pressure fluctuated. Turn down service was nice touch. Staff Friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Mr Chris P,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel to accomodate yourself in Saigon

We appreciate for your share on tripadvisor. We are not in the central as out concept is hiding away, but it is very convenience to the airport. And actually it also takes around 10-15 minutes to town. So we really hope that it will not be a big matter for your next choice...
About the water presure, that was just a temporary matter. We already fixed it

We do hope you will give us another chance to bring you a better stay in the future

Thank you and best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Alcove recently as part of our honeymoon. The staff at the hotel are wonderful and extremely helpful and breakfast was amazing on the beautiful roof terrace.
One very big minus for us was the fact that our room (301) smelled very strongly of sewerage.
But this may have been a temporary situation. We loved our stay at the Alcove and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Bongosis,

Warm greetings from the Alcove Library Hotel Saigon!

We wish you a very happy life after married and forever. It's great to hear that you enjoy your honeymoon trip, and saved time to share your experience...

We are also sorry for the incident about smell happened in your stay. We fixed that problem now

Once again thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon

Regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I love it
Nice hotel and very clean
Friendly service
close to the airport
Lovely garden
peaceful feeling
acceptable price
I will introduce to my friends when they visit ho chi minh city
i would love to stay long term in the suite room with kitchen and working desk

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Tran D,

We highly appreciate for your great comments. Yes our Suite room is very convenient for staying, special for long stay. Kindly reserve if you are making up your plan!

Further more, big thanks for your sharing that you will recommend our hotel to your friends. Please kindly suggest them to book direct with us via email alcove@alcovehotel.com.vn, we will have best offer to them

We are looking forward to welcome you back and welcome your friends in the near future

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband found this hotel when travrling for business so I got to try it for myself in June 2013 on his next trip to Ho Chi Minh City. Great find and would recommend for a couple if reasons... first, the location is convenient to both the airport AND downtown. Taxis had no trouble finding it if you keep the "taxi card" the hotel offers handy. The hotel will also provide transport service from the airport upon request - at no charge. Second, the room was well maintained and if it was just my husband and me would have been perfect for the 4 nights we were in town but we were also with our 2 month old baby and the room became cramped with a crib and her things. As a mother I appreciated the efficiency kitchen in the room to prepare the baby's food. Will definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ms Suzanne K,

We are really appreciate for your great comments which are really true with our hotel. Currently we have free airport pick up for all bookings which is reserved 2 days prior to arrival date.

We do hope The Alcove Library Hotel will be the only choice for you husband for his business trips to HCMC and for your holidays then!

Once again thank you very much and we are looking foreard to welcome you back soon

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A real jewel!!!! Trully !!! Been to HCMC several times and this is the one !!!!! Located a little away from the zoo of district 1, but for 5000 VND and a bus ride (#4) on Van Troy,15 minutes,and you are in the heart of things !!!! Wonderful to cruise around the hotel,delight breakfast on the rooftop restaurant,and best of all !!! The Staff !!!! A tribute to the vietnamese people...Helpful,friendly,smily....in other words,GENUINE !!!!! And I do travel for a living !!!! Try it,it is worth the xperience !! And you will not be disappointed....I guarantee it....ENJOY.....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FranckOThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FranckOThomas,

We are delighted to reveive your great comments here. Thank you very much for spending time to share your experience about staying with The Alcove Library Hotel

We will always trying to maintain & develope our services and we do hope that you and our customers will feel it better & better for every stay in the future

We are looking forward to welcome you back again

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#18 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,019 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa Song Saigon
Villa Song Saigon
#2 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing