We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good, but can do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #18 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but can do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem in Phu Nhuan district, 5 min drive from the airport. However, like other members mentioned, it was not easy for the cab driver to locate the hotel as it’s located in a small alley way, Nguyen Dinh Chinh. Our taxi almost got into an accident as the alley only allowed one car to enter and there was another oncoming vehicle which jammed up the road. In the end we were stuck on the cab waiting for the vehicles to clear before we could get past, which resulted in our cab fare being twice as much as it would have been.

Anyhow, the hotel itself is charming with the little garden and the library backdrop. The room (alcove queen) was clean and basic, but we felt there was more potential for it in terms of deco and space allocation. The water pressure from the tap was intermittent, at times strong and at times weak, which was a little awkward and uncomfortable when taking a shower. Hardware aside, the hotel is filled with a lot of human touch and service was top notch. The front office staff (Clarkson and Ms Moon) knew us by name and served with a smile all the time. My mum and I went on a rugged motorbike tour after checking out on our last day and upon return to the hotel to pick up our luggage, the staff allowed us to shower in one of the guest rooms before going to the airport. It was a nice finishing touch for our stay there. We wouldn’t be keen for a return visit if not for the awesome service.

Just newly opened in October 2012, we wouldn’t fault the hotel for the lack of character in the guest rooms. However, we were really looking forward to some nice book shelves, or photo frames of HCMC/Vietnam on the walls in the rooms, just like the lobby itself. Maybe this is something the management can look into.

Overall it was a pleasant and worthy stay, comparable to other 4-star boutique hotels in downtown areas.

Room Tip: Rooms in Level 4 was a tad noisy from the restaurant upstairs. Opt for Level 3 rooms for a quieter s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockjunkiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Rockjunkiez,

Great thanks from The Alcove Library Hotel Management and team!

You comments and ideas are well received and we are on progress of improving and changing to serve you and our guests better
We are going to keep up the warm, friendly and conscientious service as what you had been experienced. And also we will fix the matter you just shared like water pressure, for example, in a soonest time
Located in a small alley as you mentioned, yes it is a bit inconvenient but we assure that it is very convenient for moving as our hotel is in midle of airport and city central, it is a hideaway place from the noise of the city, and this brings you a peaceful time, isn's it? We do hope so

Once again thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your experience about us. We beleive that it would be much better for your next stay in the future

Best regards,

Moon/ Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    215
    47
    19
    2
See reviews for
93
253
77
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Alcove is a great hotel in a quiet street well situated in a very busy city.We stayed just the one night on a stop over and eat dinner and breakfast in the restaurant we were happy with our meals and the service was great, as others have commented cocktails and spirits are not there strong point but beer and wine no problems this would not stop me coming back..Thanks to all the staff for an enjoyable stay and can i suggest when you stay use the hotels airport transfer service our driver was great..Many thanks.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank renmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Renmark,

Great thanks to your simply but delighful comments. We are ready to serve you for a longer stay soon!


Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in Saigon for 3 days 2 nights. I chose the alcove library hotel because of the library concept and the cozy little garden outside the building. When I reached the hotel, it looks exactly like the picture in the internet. The atmosphere was good. The staff are very polite and friendly. My room is located at level 2, it has a small area that can view the lobby from top. I really love it. The amazing part was the first night i back to hotel, a little note and a small box of chocolate laying on my bed, and I opened the note, it was a short story written on the paper! It was a very touching service. And I received this little note the next day with a different story.... Hotels can be pretty much the same in everywhere, but how their service touch the customer hearts, will make this stay and trip memorable!

Room Tip: 2nd level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jschuanyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ms Jschuanyx,

Warm greetings and best regards from The Alcove Library Hotel!
Highly appreciate for your nice comments. Your good experience would help many guests to know more about our hotel. We do hope your next stays in Saigon will always be with The Alcove.

Sinserely yours,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

this is the kind of hotel you get engagement photos taken in as its so stylish, cool and well, beautiful. i know this, because a couple were doing just that when we arrived, far to early for check in , but were still swept up to our beautiful junior suite within 15 minutes. we had been staying right in the centre of hcmc for a couple of days, but wanted somewhere quieter and closer to the airport for our last day.
and this just could not have been better. the staff were just lovely, the room was brilliant, it was quiet, and you could even have a drink outside in the small garden without hearing traffic, touts, or having men trying to clean or glue your filthy old 20 year old sandals together for the 100th time. it also has a bar overlooking the city where you can sit outside, but dont bother looking at the cocktail list...when we were there, despite a gllittering array of spirits on show, they didnt do cocktails. perhaps the mixologist was on a week off, who knows. it didnt make any difference to us, but a couple of german business men got a tad annoyed that they couldnt have whisky, and went off sulking. tant pis!
there are bars round about that are basically the family living room, the hotel will get you a taxi if you want to go down town, and the taxi to the airport, which is a mere 2km away cost us $2us.
its a lovely hotel, really nice staff, have to mention jennifer in the roadhouse bar/restaurant who was so sweet i could have adopted her, lovely lovely people. really nice hotel. and there are books galore...what more do you want?

Room Tip: the suite room was only £55...it had a toilet with a rain shower, to die for...and in the unlikely e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lushchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Lushchica,

On behalf of The Alcove Library Hotel team, I would like to send a great thanks to you for staying with our hotel and spending time to share your wonderful experience about your stay here.

Yes you are totally right to say our hotel is a place for engagement! We have quite alot of couples coming here for wedding shooting because our hotel has a very special unique design in Saigon, and it is quiete & relax enough to hide away from the noise of the city and enjoy the peaceful time of love
And yes it should be a glass of cocktail or a shot of whiskey for stary night (colorful lights of the city) at our roof top bar would make it be a perfect place. We think it could happen for the next of your arrival with us!

Once again thank you very much for choosing us and highly appreciate for your great share

Best regards,

Moon/Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked a superior room. It was spacious, very clean and modern!

Staff is friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed our breakfast with a nice view each morning. Complimentary breakfast buffet is limited so make sure you order some pancakes or scrambled eggs (it's included in the price).

You'll sleep comfortable and don't even think about being disturbed while sleeping. It's a quiet area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mahu13,

Delightful to receive your good comments here with our best regards!
Yes we dont have a huge buffet breakfast for our actual number of guest rooms at the moment, but we are willing serve more than enough as guest request, and especially care about quantity of foods
We are awaiting to serve you better in your future stay with The Alcove Library Hotel!

Thank you so much for your share

Your sinsere,

Moon/Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was our first ever trip to Saigon and we choose our hotel based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed!! It was a wonderful 4 days.

It is a little boutique hotel located outside the city centre (only a short and cheap taxi ride away). We loved the decor especially the shelves of books in the reception area. The room was clean and comfortable.

Every single member of staff could not have been more accommodating or helpful. On arrival, the duty manager (Miss Moon?) met us and made us feel at home. A personalised list of restaurants, museums and places to visit was made along with practical advise on which taxi companies to avoid.

The breakfast menu was small but delightful. A simple and light breakfast is a welcomed alternative to greasy, buffet styled breakfast usually available from hotels in South East Asia. The roadhouse grill restaurant also serves excellent burgers. Whilst I am not normally a fan of eating in hotel restaurants, I will make this an exception despite the excellent street food available.

Each day, the staff were attentive to our needs - free flow of ice coffee, loan of umbrellas on the rainy day, etc.

The downside? It doesn't have the facilities of a 5-star hotel e.g. swimming pool. Its not within walking distance to the city centre BUT, the area around the hotel was full of life and infinitely more appealing than the hustle and bustle of the city centre. There were loads of side streets and markets to explore. The people were friendly (although they should stop riding their motorbikes on the pavements!) and the street food would rival that of Singapore, Bangkok etc for a fraction of the price.

We were sad to leave but we look forward to going back again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avkwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr Wong,

Thank you very much for choosing The Alcove Library Hotel as your home far away from home in Saigon. It's great to hear that you were really enjoying your 4 days in our home!
We soon will have a sister hotel of The Alcove which is quite near this one and you can spend your time at it swimming pool in your next stays either with this Alcove or the sister Alcove one
We do apreciate for your great comments on Tripadvisor and surely we will keep up and develope the good services that we have for better and better
We are looking forward to welcome you back to The Alcove Hotel in a very near future

Thanks and Best Regards

Moon/Ms,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived early via Bangkok and it was so well received by the hotel I was shocked! No excess fee, no hassles, no delays...simply gave us another room (same grade as we had booked) that was ready and away we go!! They can't do enough for you here. On arrival we were ripped off by the taxi driver by a few pounds and without a hesitation the hotel complained on our behalf to the cab company!!...add the help they gave us arranging train tickets to our next location, the service we have received when setting up for our first trip out and it all adds up to a great place to stay.
A small negative is the location...tucked away in a side road (accessed by a road right next to a VW dealership.....keep an eye for it) and a little difficult to find BUT WORTH THE EFFORT!!!
We can't fault the feel and function of the hotel, just great.
We are back again on our way to Bangkok and will book back in here no question at all.
It has a cool kind of rooftop bar come restaurant, sensible prices not the usual rip off at all.
Give it a go its a great place to stay if in HCMC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Perry B,

Thank you very much for both your stay and for taking the time to share your impressions at The Alcove Library Hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and had so many nice things to say. Nothing more important to us than to hear what our guests felt about our service which we tried to deliver at a high standard.

We look forward to welcome you at The Alcove Library Hotel. You might be interested without repeat guest program so just drop us a line if needed.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#13 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
2.1 mi away
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
#14 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#30 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,693 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#26 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
2.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#9 of 426 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 426 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing