We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #19 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for short stay”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is really great. Only 10 minutes form airport ideal for short or long stays. Hotel was amazingly clean and up market for the price. Room was great again very clean and all you need. Breakfast was the best we had in Vietnam and included in price. Rooftop bar is also handy. They offer airport pick up for $23 US but you should not pay more then $7US for a taxi from airport. Staff were great and organized us a private tour of the Cu Chi Tunnels in very short time which was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Danny,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience at The Alcove Library Hotel. We truly appreciate your staying with us and are very happy to hear your impressions about our breakfast, accommodation and staff.
On behalf of all associate, we would like to say thank you very much and we would be honored to welcome you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    265
    63
    18
    6
See reviews for
120
329
103
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Alcove is a charming little hotel with beautiful decor and wonderful staff. I wish we'd had more time there!

Pros:

- the "library" in the lobby is gorgeous - floor to ceiling shelves, ladder and a large and wide selection of books. Of course, not many people have the time to read while on holiday, but this is such a lovely touch that you feel compelled to make the time. Each floor has a little poster with a cute literary quote - simple but effective decor!

- the rooms are basic, but comfortable - decorated with nice clean lines and well- maintained.

- the front desk staff are very friendly and efficient. The manager (can't remember her name) was very helpful, with tour tips and recommendations for activities in Hanoi, Hoi An and Danang, as well.

- the breakfast at Roadhouse is plentiful and well-prepared. The staff are ever so helpful and the food arrives quickly.


Cons:

- the toilet in my parents' room was temperamental and, despite my Dad complaining several times, nothing was done about this. Thankfully, it was only a very slow flush and there were no unhappy accidents.

- the airport transfer is woefully overpriced, but we felt it necessary to book this as the hotel is difficult to find. (Once you know where it is, though, it's easy enough to direct taxi drivers).

Room Tip: The "06" rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdzN_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for posting your review about us. Nothing more encouraging for our staff than to be recognized of the effort we tried to make our guest more happy and satisfied.
We highly appreciate your staying with us and very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Concerning about airport service, we try to give the high-class service with private car, welcoming staff at the airport. We also tried to offer the competitive and suitable rate.
We do hope your kindly understand and looking forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel. You might be interested with our repeat guest program so just drop us a line by email whenever you needed.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Located 5-10 minutes drive from the airport (about 100 000 VND), this hotel is quite unexpected as it's in a small street which does not look fancy at all.
Once arrived though, it's like a little haven in the middle of the crowdy and noisy city.

Very clean, nice service at the reception and in the breakfast room, its really a good choice for those who are looking for a comfy place near the airport. It can also be a good choice for those who stays few days in town

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Tiboo,
It is very nice of you to spend time and efforts sharing your experience with us. Thank you for recognizing our strong points being a hotel located in the middle of international airport and downtown as well as our unique design.
We are happy to hear the feedback of our guest who stayed in and experience our service. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for our last night in Vietnam to finish our trip in Vietnam on a high. Unluckily things has not gone as expected...
One of the main reason for choosing this hotel is because it is located close to the airport and, because we were arriving very late from Danang, we thought it was a plus to find a hotel on a short taxi ride.Unluckily we had not realized that it is on a small street unknown to most taxi drivers. I gave the taxi driver the hotel phone number and after having him talking to the hotel stuff it still took quite sometime to find it. We arrived very late at the hotel (1.30 am) and the receptionist took very long to photocopy our passports while our boys wanted to go to bed. I suggested to the stuff to keep the passports until our check-out later that morning. At 6.30 am we have been all woken up by a call from the reception telling us to pick up our passports after breakfast!! We have all been woken up by the call and none of us has been able to go back to sleep. Pity! We had planed to sleep till 8.30-9 to recover a bit from the late night
The room was quite small and had a small window that lets on to a narrow shaft.
Breakfast wasn't very exciting. We had pancakes that took very long to be made and 2 of them were burnt underneath (maybe the chef was expecting us not to notice it). The croissants were finished when we arrived, the fruit selection was rather poor and there wasn't any cereals.
The hotel looks very stylish and the library at the entrance is very beautiful (our boys found some very nice books to read) but we missed all the small things that makes a hotel a very special one. It is a stylish hotel a bit too pretentious for what it is in reality. In the same price range,we could have had a better night somewhere else. All together it has been quite a disappointing experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonellaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Antonella,
We are very sorry to hear your experience in the hotel. We have double-checked all the concerns you raised and indeed we found out some problems. We apologized when taking you long-time in check-in procedure due to the problem of photocopier machine which fixed immediately on the day after. Furthermore, all of our staff had taken advanced training in service to eliminate mistake in wake-up call and serving breakfast ... Once again, we highly appreciate your feedback because your valid information helps us to avoid letting our future guests experience the same.
Otherwise, from now on, besides the map we attached in booking confirmation, we also have direction in both Vietnamese and English. It will be more convenience for taxi drivers when finding hotel. We do hope that the service we offered step by step will get more satisfy from our valued guests.
We look forward to welcome you back and let you see the improvement we made after you alerted us.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small little hotel down a back alley about 10mins from airport ( with no traffic, with traffic 30mins ).

Great street presence and very pretty with the front courtyard area. The lobby has a mini library in it with all books from different genres, made the time waiting for taxis pass very quickly.

Hotel service was great. Front door boys were always smiling and helpful, front desk were always happy to organise anything we wanted. The do tours with the happy tour company so you can book from here.

Upstairs dining area was really cool, an American roadhouse feel to it and the prices were fairly decent for a hotel.

Only complaint would be the hot water in our room, the heating system seemed to be faulty, it would go hot and cold during the shower and then finally shut off. We got it fixed but had it happen again.

The hotel can be hard to find at times, but take the taxi card the hotel gives you and a map you can get from the hotel, taxis can generally work it out from there. About $5 to get into the heart of district 1.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonR745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Simon,
Many thanks for your sincere feedback during your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel. We are very happy to recognize all of the great things about our hotel, concept, service and especially the staff. On behalf of all associates at hotel, I would like to thank you for your stay and taking the time to share your experience. For the unexpected issues about water, we are very sorry to hear and immediately fixed it.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and experience in hotel, we truly appreciate them. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I have given this hotel a 4/5 and we had a great time at The Alcove Library Hotel. It has a boutique feel to it and has lovely high ceilings throughout. The best part of the hotel is the staff who are warm and helpful (e.g. they offered us a take-away breakfast when we had early starts).

However, it did not start well. After our one and a half hour nightmare at the airport visa desk, followed by the discovery that our bags were no longer on the baggage reclaim conveyer belt, the last thing we needed was to find out that the hotel had failed to provide our airport pickup.

The hotel is fairly basic (e.g. you are shown how to turn on the hot water in your room when you arrive) and, being hyper-critical, there were one or two occasions where things went wrong (e.g. we booked a tour from reception including an 8am hotel pickup that actually arrived at 7.30am so we did not have time for breakfast).

Overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliewhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Charlie,
Thank you for your spending time and sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear some of your problems at the airport visa desk and pick-up luggage. And this caused we were not able to serve you well on transportation. Otherwise, we alerted already to tour operator since receiving your feedback.
Once again, we highly appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is not in district 1 but we didn't find this a problem as taxis are cheap. The hotel staff and especially the front desk were very helpful and the hotel was modern and bright. The breakfast was good and in the same restaurant the burgers were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Andre and Hannah,
Thank you for recognizing our strength being a hotel with good location, unique design and staff. We are happy to hear your feedback and experience and it really has extremely value for our staff as the motivation in serving guests.
Again, thank your staying and hopefully, we will have the honor to welcome you at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.5 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,533 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
241 reviews
2.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,287 reviews
2.3 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#33 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,977 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#47 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing