We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming hotel & lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #20 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“charming hotel & lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 15th-24th March 2013 (9 nights) whilst we were celebrating my 21st birthday.

We actually found the fact that the hotel was further out in discrict 3 to be a bit of a bonus...1) it was somewhere to escape the really touristy parts of town, i.e the street sellers on the backpackers district/ Siagon center never sleep!! 2) we used the pool at the expensive REX hotel on one of the days and we found that our hotel was SO much nicer!! Alcove Library is such a bargain compared the the bigger posher hotels in the center. 3) we started using the number 3 bus into town, i know taxi's are hardley expensive..but we'd say its part of the fun ;) 4) you can actually walk to the shop in district 3 without being hassled by street sellers.

About the hotel it self; I'm not sure they are used to people staying as long as 9 days, but they definitely got used to us being around... the staff were lovely, always asking about what we had been up to today, what we had planned for tomorrow...nothing was too much trouble. They even set my room up nicely on my birthday, laying my flowers out in a heart on the bed and a complimentary cake! :D. On the last day our flight wasn't till the evening so we had left our bags at reception to pick up later that day, they even let us get a quick shower in a free bathroom before our flight!

Overall, a very nice hotel...with very friendly staff :) x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaTravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Amanda,
We are very glad that you left happy with a memorable experience during your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel and found our property worth staying for. We highly appreciate for giving us a good rating. It is really lovely to hear our guest noticed our efforts in providing better products and services.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    251
    62
    19
    6
See reviews for
116
310
98
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A lovely little hotel, perfectly positioned 15 min taxi from the Airport and 15 min taxi from the city centre market area.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and the room was clean, well decorated and well equipped. Fantastic value for money.

The restaurant/cafe on the top floor has some nice views of the surroundings and does wonderful burgers and bar food.
The breakfast was nice but a little limited and small portions, but don’t let this put you off as we are big eaters

Perfect for a short stay and very accessible. The pre-arranged airport transfer was also very well organised and flawless service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinaranft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Tinaraft,
We are so thankful for your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel and really highly appreciate your lovely comments regarding our hotel, service and staff. We are very glad you found our hotel worth paying for. Nothing more encouraging for us than to be recognizes of the effort to make our guest happy and satisfied.
Once again, we truly appreciate everything and hope to welcome you and your family back in very near future!
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel the night of the 10th of March and the night of the 14th
The first night we arrived on a late flight and the taxi driver got lost taking us to the hotel wich was ok for us because we agree on the price of the ride in advence, so we took it as a small tour around the city he had to call the hotel to be able to arrive
When we arrived the staff was waiting for us and they were very friendly they gave us room 401 since the moment we step out of the elevator I felt a bad odor and when we got in to the room the smell was stronger my mistake we did notnask for amroom change, we were tired and I thought that maybe closing the window and settting the aircon very cold wolud help to get rid of it, wrong thinking the smell got worse and I did not had good night so I let them know about it in the morning before we left the hotel and to make sure they wold not give is the same room or a room on that floor on the 14th The strange smell was maybe from a drain however the smell in the bathroom was not as bad as in the room. Besides that the room was very comfortable and clean.
That morning we had a nice beakfast however if you like to have a good full breakfast do not order the pancake "The Floffy" is just one plain not that floffy pancake, that was my husband choice I order the eggs and they were very good plus they have croissants , bread, fruits, yogurt and juice. While we were waiting for our transfer to arrive at the lobby Miss.Moon the general manager came to say hi and to introduce her self and to ask for our stay it was a nice gesture,not expected I told her that we gave our feedback to the front desk and she said she would talk to them then we let her know we were coming back on the 14
When we arrive on the 14th they were waiting for us and gave us a room on he second floor nicer room bigger bed with a Kitchenette, fridge, microwave, we did not need all that but it was a nice specious room you could still feel the smell but not as bad as the other room on the 4th floor I hope they can solve the smell problem that and the location were the only reason I did not give them all 5
The hotel was very clean I put 4 as I said because of the smell
We were leaving on a very early flight and had to leave the hotel by 5:45 am and I had my doubts about if we were going to be able to call a cab and get on time due to the reviews and our experience when we arrived because even though the hotel is well placed for the airport is a bit out of the way for exploring town and a bit hard for taxis to find. We were surprised on how fast a taxi arrived to pick us up that night to take us to district #1 for dinner after dinner the taxi driver that took us back to the hotel also got a little lost but not a lot .
The next day the taxi arrive very fast and we were on time to take our flight the front desk said that the ride to the airport should be about 70,000 VND however the taxi put the taximeter and it was 65,000 and when my husband gave him 80,000 and told him to keep the change the taxi driver show him a note that they had on the window of the taxi that specify the airport transfers were 100,000 VND we thought that due to the short distance they just set a flat fee for us was still ok like $5.00 usd
I forgot to mention that when we came the second time we experience the turndown service on the room with a nice note and mini chocolat they also gave us a voucher for two beers at their bar and also since we were leaving when the restaurant was close they arrange us a to go breakfast box with fruit, yogurt, toast and 2 hard boild eggs

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alona13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Alona,
Thank you for sharing your experience and recognizing our strength in service. Otherwise, we are very sorry you were uncomfortable on the smell in the room. We have checked the concerns you have raised and indeed we found out some problems. Our maintenance immediately finds the way to fix it. We do hope that it will not be happened in future. Once again, on behalf of all Alcove staff, we would like to impress our appreciation your information because you have given helped us improved to avoid letting our future guests the same.
We look forward to welcome you back and let you see the improvement we made after you alerted us.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the Alcove at the beginning of March. I chose it because it was near the airport and I had a late arrival (which was in fact delayed until ridiculous hours of the morning). Still the taxi found it fine and the reception had waited up for me.

The room was exactly what I needed. Clean, modern and relaxed AND it is quiet - which is amazing for any Asian capital city. For the price it is great value for money. It is certainly near enough the centre of the city and it's attractions unless you feel it imperative to be 5 mins away from everything.

The staff were so nice, whether in the restaurant in the morning or at reception. Willy was the reception head when I stayed and I can't emphasize enough how helpful he was. What a good job!

So if you are looking for value for money, a location near the airport and great service, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmandSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear EmandSi,
We are so thankful for your stay with us and really highly appreciate your lovely comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel.

Nothing more encouraging for The Alcove Library Hotel staff than to be recognized of the effort we spent to make our guest happy and satisfied. Again, we truly appreciate everything and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is what you wish for. I has a unique stile and not at all like other hotel branches like Sheraton, Scandic, Clarion etc. It has a personal style and you feel you are at home. I can really recommend it and the breakfast and the restaurant has very good breakfast. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmaep98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,
We cannot say thank you enough for all of your lovely comments! We truly appreciate your staying with us and your recommendation to your friends. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has first of all, a great style. Its really nicely decorated and the rooms are very beautifull. But thats not all. when we were there i couldnt stop talking about the quality of both the matress and the bed sheets. I just never experienced anything like it and was just wishing i could "zap" the whole bed into my own bedroom. The breakfast was great on the rooftop bar or in bed, and the staff was super friendly and professional, though in a relaxed way. I would highly recommend this hotel even if you think the location is a bit out the centre its all worth it i promise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Stefanie,
Thank you for talking time to share your impressions. Nothing more encouraging for The Alcove Library Hotel staff than to be recognized of the effort we spent to make our guest happy and satisfied.
We highly appreciate your staying with us and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you, your family and your friend soon.
Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was such a nice hotel, incredibly helpful bright staff and beautiful modern, classy, well decorated, spotlessly clean rooms. Lovely bathrooms. The rooftop restaurant / bar was great with a great view of the city. We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here toward the end of our trip and the chic, quiet calmness of this hotel was just what we needed. The only thing I would have changed is they have white material (perspex?) on the windows (maybe it's ugly outside?), and I always like to look outside, no matter what is there, it would have been nice if we had the option to draw that material aside (like a blind). Otherwise thumbs up all the way.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the rooms where really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Many thanks for your sincere feedback and share your impressions. We thank you for alerting us with your concerns and suggestion about windows. We are now step by step to deliver at a high standard of service and guest’s satisfaction. We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the not so distant future.
Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing