We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most stylish and chill out hotels ive stayed in in asia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alcove Library Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alcove Library Hotel
Ranked #17 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of the most stylish and chill out hotels ive stayed in in asia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel has first of all, a great style. Its really nicely decorated and the rooms are very beautifull. But thats not all. when we were there i couldnt stop talking about the quality of both the matress and the bed sheets. I just never experienced anything like it and was just wishing i could "zap" the whole bed into my own bedroom. The breakfast was great on the rooftop bar or in bed, and the staff was super friendly and professional, though in a relaxed way. I would highly recommend this hotel even if you think the location is a bit out the centre its all worth it i promise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Stefanie,
Thank you for talking time to share your impressions. Nothing more encouraging for The Alcove Library Hotel staff than to be recognized of the effort we spent to make our guest happy and satisfied.
We highly appreciate your staying with us and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we will have the chance to welcome you, your family and your friend soon.
Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    201
    45
    18
    2
See reviews for
88
230
73
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was such a nice hotel, incredibly helpful bright staff and beautiful modern, classy, well decorated, spotlessly clean rooms. Lovely bathrooms. The rooftop restaurant / bar was great with a great view of the city. We really enjoyed our stay here. We stayed here toward the end of our trip and the chic, quiet calmness of this hotel was just what we needed. The only thing I would have changed is they have white material (perspex?) on the windows (maybe it's ugly outside?), and I always like to look outside, no matter what is there, it would have been nice if we had the option to draw that material aside (like a blind). Otherwise thumbs up all the way.

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all the rooms where really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,
Many thanks for your sincere feedback and share your impressions. We thank you for alerting us with your concerns and suggestion about windows. We are now step by step to deliver at a high standard of service and guest’s satisfaction. We truly hope to have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the not so distant future.
Yours sincerely,
The Alcove Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

It was second time to stay the alcove for my business. I was impressed by staff kindness and wecomimg me well. My working area is dist 1 and around air port. The hotel location is best for me to come there. They upgrade breakfast quality and provide me free pick up service. (So lucky to get seevice) very silent and peaceful hotel. Thank you for your service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosea6235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, General Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Hosea,
We are glad that you felt happy and shared a memorable experience during your stay at The Alcove Library Hotel. It’s been our aim to serve our guest well with a warm and difference welcome. Our associates are always ready to assist your needs, so do not hesitate to just let us know.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Alcove Library Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel in a rapidly developing Ho Chi Minh City competes with a crop of new places opening in more central and, in short, better locations. This hotel is down a side street and a headache for taxi drivers to find.
In short, with a less than great location it needs to raise its game a bit. The breakfast in particular was pretty poor, with the bread served on the buffet toasted to a crisp. However, the staff were very helpful and friendly, and the high point of the place. Despite an impressive bookcase when you enter the lobby giving an artificially grand feel it was not somewhere I could really recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenriandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlcoveHotel, Manager at The Alcove Library Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Henri and Melissa,
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience in our hotel. We would like to apologize for your less expectation on our service. As usual, our hotel is easily found by taxi driver because its location is on the way from airport to downtown. But in some cases not many, taxi drivers will take the guest’s time to go around.
The Alcove Library Hotel is continuously improving our level of service, especially our breakfast. Your information you have given will help us to make the hotel even better.
One again, many thanks for your sincere feedback and we truly hope to have the chance to welcome both of you back and let you see our improvement.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very convenient location from airport and also from the city center.
This hotel was amazing in every aspect and reasonable price. I especially enjoyed cozy garden at ground floor. Also I really enjoyed hamburger at Roadhouse, the restaurant on the 5th floor.
I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here for my next trip to Vietnam.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeongchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We first stayed two nights in room 203 which didn't have a window. This was strange at first but it turned out to be a bonus as it meant there was no traffic noise. The room was stylish, luxurious, clean, and the bed was soooooo comfy! Breakfast was varied and tasty and the staff were very helpful and friendly with excellent English. Just what we were looking for.

We enjoyed our stay so much we decided to leave our bag at the hotel and return for another night before we left Vietnam. However, this unfortunately was a mistake because they gave us room 406 which had a few issues. This room had a window which gave a nicer appearance but made it noisier. The room had a strange smell which may have been as a result of a blocked shower drain - which we found out when the water ran all over the bathroom floor! Also this room is directly below the balcony area where breakfast is served so there is a lot of transmitted noise in the morning.

This hotel is well placed for the airport but a bit out of the way for exploring town and a bit hard for taxis to find. Five minutes to airport (about 50,000 VND) and ten to fifteen into town centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FollieAdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

it was a wonderful stay at such a hip hotel, one of very few to be found in ho chi minh at the moment. the hotel is halfway between the airport and city centre. we didn't manage to get a legitimate taxi from the airport, so we ended up having to pay 90,000 dong from a 'saigon tourist' taxi. therefore, we ended up taking the bus for the whole trip which costs 5,000 dong per trip. and the lovely receptionist, nikko, was very helpful in advising us of the routes to take. so we do suggest taking the bus, and save your dongs for food and shopping.

although we requested a queen room with a window, as suggested by another review, but the window we got was fog stained. probably to block the view of the building next door. my guess is the rooms with proper see-through windows are on the front side of the building, and are probably the larger rooms.

the bed is comfy as. slept right through the night.

the staff are very service-minded and will definitely improve. but don't expect five star service like you get in expensive hotels because at the end of the day this is a boutique hotel not a standard chain. so please don't yell at the staff if you don't get what you expected. you can tell that the staff here are giving it their best.

the breakfast here is very good, especially the eggs and bread. only wished there was more variety. we skipped the 3rd morning for some pho in town.

it was a shame not many of the guests used the garden in front. we bought a bottle of wine one night, and enjoyed it very much.

the roadhouse serves great ribs and chicken, and i here the burgers are nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
2.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#11 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#16 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#6 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
2.2 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#25 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
2.1 mi away
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sakyo Hotel & Spa
#13 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alcove Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alcove Library Hotel

Property: The Alcove Library Hotel
Address: 133A Nguyen Dinh Chinh Street | Phu Nhuan District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alcove Library Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Alcove Library Hotel, an unrivaled boutique hotel experience in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. We opened our doors in July 2012 and are located just off Nguyen van Troi street, the main avenue connecting the Tan Son Nhat International Airport to the city centre. This prime location offers great convenience to our guests, as the airport and the city are usually only 10 to 15 minutes away by taxi, depending on traffic conditions. Nestled in a charming and quiet neighbourhood street, The Alcove Library Hotel also offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city, and yet represents a perfect base from which to explore the excitement of Saigon.In keeping with our name, The Alcove Library Hotel offers a sanctuary of deluxe accommodations, architectural elegance and timeless style. Our rooms feature supremely comfortable beds and pillows, over 70 channels on flat screen TVs, and a range of amenities designed to cater to the needs of discerning and savvy travelers.Our hotel is meant to be enjoyed, experienced and rediscovered with each visit. We have an extensive library that offers a wide variety of fiction and non-fiction books for guests to borrow during their stay with us. High-speed wireless Internet connectivity is also available free-of-charge in guestrooms and throughout public areas. Our concierge service can also help tailor a personal itinerary, offering recommendations on places to visit. Our restaurant on our fifth floor, the Roadhouse Saigon, aims to offer the best burgers and contemporary fare in town. Guests can eat in air-conditioned comfort or enjoy the outdoor terrace overlooking neighboring rooftops. At The Alcove, a new level of hospitality in Saigon awaits you, where smiles abound, the service is gracious, your needs are anticipated, and your comfort is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Alcove Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing