We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget stay!”
Review of Anh Dao Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anh Dao Guesthouse
Ranked #448 of 856 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“budget stay!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

this guesthouse got very small room even i took the largest room they have. if u travel on tight budget, this would be a very good choice. i pay 49 usd for 4 days ans 3 nights. their staffs are very nice and friendly but limited conversation. they cant speak neither understand english very well. need to speak broken english with hand sign in order to make them understand u well. a lil bit away from ben thant market.

Room Tip: dont pick a room facing the main road. im sure u will have sleepless night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enon89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Despite the fact that we got locked in the guesthouse at 7am in the morning - this place is a great little overnight stop. It's right in the heart of Ho Chi Minhs club district (which we didn't realise) and if you're after something with less street noise - you might want to go elsewhere. But besides that - it was a pretty basic little overnight stop. Clean, tidy and provided water in the rooms. All we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kekoakaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

You are in Ho Chi Mihn as a hub? Go to Excursions as Mekong Delta, Vietcongs Tunnels, etc? If you do not need the luxury, you will not stay most part of you time in hotel, so it is a good place to stay. It is located in a backpackers zone with so many bars. I had a room with no windows, but it was cheap, what i should expect? Try to negotiate the room price, you can save 2-3 dollars. If you save more, you are my heroe! There is a lot of agencies to sell packs to the excursions around there, we made everything in the hotel. For me it was safe and the same price of the cheapest one, the best is that the hotel take care of you.
In front of this hotel, there is a restaurant very cheap. I drank many, many beers on there
Enjoy it!

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep avoid the room with windows to the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights this week, originally booked for 3 and when we told staff we were leaving they told us of a piblic holiday and called the train station to check train tickets. trains were full so they booked us an extra night no trouble. Great spot round the corner (literally) from the bars and food that most tourists (backpackers) use so you can go for a "street" beer at night then get away from the noise again, although you can never fully escape noise in HCMC. Rooms are small but that we have learnt seems to be the way on Asia. From what we saw and where we went a great spot to stay and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenseenanddonethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ho chi minh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

although the room was pretty minimalistic it had everything we needed.

what makes this guesthouse quite worth it is the staff. the nicest family operates the guesthouse. helped us with directions, maps, and some writing in Vietnamese for easier traveling around.Also they have a tour desk at the lobby with all the knowledge and helpful staff.
Also let us stay for a very low cost a half day before our flight (actually wanted to let us use a shower for free but we wanted it).

other than that the guesthouse is located within walking distance of the bar street which is pretty handy in the evening.
not the best location what with the close local market, but easy enough to get around.
We hope we can come back to Vietnam one day b/c it's a lovely country !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quangtruong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

A very nice place in the backpacker area of Saigon... Nice location with cleam rooms (with AC). We had a room on the streetside, but did not find the streetnoise too much of a bother (you're in the center of Saigon, so you'll have some streetnoise to deal with). Very friendly and helpfull English speaking staff, ready to help. We got caught in a terrible rainshower, and on arrival back to the hotel, the staff gave us some clean towels to get dry.

What may seem odd to some, did help a lot in keeping the hotel clean; you take off your shoes before going up the stairs... You can leave them downstairs, of take them up to your room, but this guarantees a clean floor at all time.

We also went on some daytrips with them (Cu Chi tunnels and Mekong Delta), very helpfull and good value!

If i was to return to Saigon one day, i'll book them again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vanzelpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Unfortunately this guesthouse is a lie! We booked this on the back of a few reviews on hostelworld and the 1 review someone has put on here, but it is very dishonest!!! After travelling from Phnom Penh in Cambodia today we ended up in the middle of district 1 in Ho Chi Minh city, a very difficult place to navigate! We had already booked this guesthouse and ended up having to get an overpriced taxi to it. When we arrived the people were very nice etc and took our bags up to our room. When we walked in we though "Hang on, I thought we booked a superior double room and we have a very small box with a shower pretty much on top of the toilet!" So we trooped downstairs with our laptop (showing the website of the guesthouse and the pictures they are showing) and told them that according to the picture etc this was not the room we had booked. The woman then decided to argue the fact for quite a while and never actually conceded to the fact that we were in fact right! Then they eventually upgraded us to a deluxe room (If you look on the website both the superior double and the deluxe room should have a desk and a bathtub)!!!! NEITHER of them do, there are NO bathtubs or desks in the entire place. I am extremely dissapointed in the incredibly small size of even the deluxe room, its not as clean as they say and IT LOOKS NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES!!!!! PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND DO NOT STAY HERE! Its a shame but its best to be honest than lie!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#168 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Sunny Hotel
New Sunny Hotel
#32 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Au Lac Hotel
Au Lac Hotel
#154 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
Galaxy Hotel & Capsule
#37 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan 58 Hotel
Tan 58 Hotel
#235 of 543 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thanh Guest House
Thanh Guest House
#345 of 856 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anh Dao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anh Dao Guesthouse

Property: Anh Dao Guesthouse
Address: 235 De Tham Str, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anh Dao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing