We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Saigon South Hotel
Ranked #113 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is clean, the reception is friend. Breakfast is good. Wifi speed is ok. Totally the C/P is great. If you participate the exhibition in SECC, this hotel is the best choice for exhibitor who doesn't want to spend times on traffic. It is just 3 mins by walk. However, if you would like to have nightlife, you may stay in District 1 instead. There is a bank and mall nearby, just walk distance, no more than 5 mins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony-Yeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us in ibis Saigon South during your recent trip to Ho Chi Minh City.

I am delighed to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel and felt that you experienced value for money.

We will share your comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and hope to see you back soon to ibis Saigon South

Lam Thi Ngoc Hanh
Front Office Manager
ibis Saigon South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    77
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
20
26
27
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel has only been open for a couple months, so clearly everything is clean, modern and in excellent condition.

The front desk and restaurant staff are really friendly and helpful, which added warmth and character to the hotel.

Breakfast and lunch were really good and at reasonable prices. (Breakfast included and there is a dinner promotion until the end of October for 30% off and happy hour drinks.)

Location is right across the street from the convention center, making it ideal if that's why you are in HoChiMinh City. Otherwise, it's a bit far from anything else, about an US$8 cab ride to town, and coming back can be challenging as most cab drivers I encountered didn't know it even with the address.

As is standard with Ibis Hotels, I'm told, rooms are very small. Comfortable, but small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisSaigonSouth, Front Office Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Graig TPE,

Warm greetings from ibis Saigon South and thank you very much for staying with us during your recent trip to Ho Chi Minh City. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Breakfast and Lunch at our "Oopen restaurant" as well as good service from all of our staff.

Your review has already been shared with all of our member and we strongly trust that it will serve as an encouragement to all of us to further develop on our service.

Once again, thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. And we hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon to ibis Saigon South.


Your sincerely,

Tchang Young Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed for a week at the Ibis Saigon South. The staff are incredibly helpful - their standard of english is variable but uniformaly they tried to help the best they could.

The hotel is out of the centre, it suited me because it was only a short taxi ride to the office block where I was working, but for the main tourist areas the hotel lays on a 4 times per day shuttle bus. The area around the hotel is being developed, there is a large shopping mall a few minutes walk away. The area is quiet at night.

Rooms are small but functional and in the Ibis style a bit minimalistic. It's a bit annoying the minimum aircon temperature in the rooms is 22 deg C; I found this warm at night. There's free wifi throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room number ending 01 which is at the end of the corridor away from the lifts and other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillS_LondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tchang_LEE_ISS, General Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from ibis Saigon South!

On behalf of the management and staff of ibis Saigon South, we would like to thank you for staying with us. Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your comments about our product & services.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Again, thank you for choosing ibis Saigon South. And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Tchang Young Lee
General Manager
ibis Saigon South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a brand new hotel (Accor hotels) and it is far away from the city madness situated in District 7 next to the Saigon Exhibition and Convention centre.
We had some difficulty to reach the hotel. None of the taxi drivers knew about this brand new hotel. But somehow managed with the city map! It would cost around 300000 VND from Ho Chi Minh International airport to this hotel.

The hotel staffs were very courteous and helpful. The rooms were small but clean and tidy. We stayed in the 6th floor and it was very quiet. Only drawback was that there was no mini-bar. The bathroom was small but clean.

The Oopen Pasta and Grill restaurant was freakin awesome. The food here was delicious esp the Vietnamese Spring rolls, Seafood Fried rice,Beef Spagetti and Beef Rib Eye Grill. The All you can eat buffet breakfast was $12 and had very good varieties. I have to say that this restaurant was simply superb.

The hotel shuttle bus service comes handy If you are planning to go to the City centre. It is just an half an hour ride to the city centre.

The nearby area is kind of residential and you could find many restaurants nearby esp the El Gaucho Argentinian Steakhouse, Kobe Sizzlers etc.,

Overall will definitely recommend this hotel and wish to stay here in near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tchang_LEE_ISS, General Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ibis Saigon South!

On behalf of the management and staff of ibis Saigon South, we would like to thank you for staying with us. Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your comments about our product & services.

For the while, we are really sorry for the inconvenience that you had the difficulty to get to our hotel from the airport. As our hotel is newly opened, we are trying to maximize our hotel's opening through medias, by banners and directive signages. I wish that our hotel information is well known in the Ho Chi Minh City to facilitate for the access. Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Again, thank you for choosing ibis Saigon South. And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Tchang Young Lee
General Manager
ibis Saigon South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the newest Accor branded hotel to open in Saigon situated right next to the Saigon Exhibition and Convention Centre (SECC) in Phu My Hung (District 7).

Travellers should take note that this is not a tourist area, but a new business district still under development. In addition to the convention centre, there's also many new malls and office highrises being developed in the area. Due to this, the area surrounding the hotel is very quiet and spacious, and it's a great place to stay to escape from the madness usually associated with Saigon.

For travellers staying here, but wishing to visit the tourist spots in the city centre (District 1), the hotel offers 4 roundtrip shuttle bus services between the hotel and key spots in the city centre. Otherwise you can take a taxi for approximately 100-120k VND (US$5) each way. You may need to let the taxi driver know that it's near "Paragon" in Phu My Hung area (pronounced Foo-Mee-Hoon).

The service of the staff is excellent, and shows that they have been well trained. Everyone from the front desk to the housekeeping are polite and greet you when met. All queries are answered with enthusiasm and the staff seems genuinely interested in providing a good service to the guests.

The rooms offered by the hotel are all identical standard rooms in queen size or two single size beds. I believe there are still some rooms being outfitted currently, so whether there will be deluxe offerings in the future I don't know.

The rooms are small but well designed so it does not feel cramped. The bathrooms are also simple but well appointed, fitting one person comfortably.

While overall I'm very happy with the room, there are few things I disliked:
1. The duvet and the pillow covers felt very rough, almost like paper, and was quite uncomfortable. I hope management can consider changing them to at least something like the bed sheets, which while rough as well, but acceptable.
2. The towel rail is built under the sink area, and right next to the toilet bowl, which felt rather unhygienic to me.
3. I'm unsure why the hotel feels the need to actually charge the guest's credit card for the $100 deposit, when most other hotels usually just take an imprint or records the details without processing any charges in advance. This is especially puzzling considering the hotel does not offer any minibar or premium TV channels, so there should be minimal incidental charges. This just creates more paperwork for the staff, and in the case a charge is not refunded in time, it will create a lot of frustration for the guests as well as management when complaints are filed.

I wish the best for this hotel, and hope to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: Beware there's a new building being constructed next door, so request a room away from that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tchang_LEE_ISS, General Manager at Ibis Saigon South Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from ibis Saigon South!

On behalf of the management and staff of ibis Saigon South, we would like to thank you for staying with us. Especially, we would like to deeply thank you for your comments about our product & services.

For the while, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you had during your stay.
Concerning duvet and pillow cover, we used 100% cotton for the quality of bed comfort. I suppose that this occurs due to cleaning process. So we will work closely with cleaning process to improve its problem. Concerning towel rack, your remarks would be accurate in terms of its position. But it is already installed so we will pay more attention to maintain better quality of hygiene for towels. Concerning payment guarantee, this is to secure the guarantee of stay from the system. So we try to take minimum amount to cover the total of accommodation. If the customer changes payment method from credit card in cash upon departure, it will eventually occurr certain inconvenience for our customers. So we will attentively inform to the customer about it to avoid unnecessary credit card deposit.

Your comments have certainly motivated us to further develop our service of staff for the benefit of valuable guests, such as yourself.

Again, thank you for choosing ibis Saigon South. And, we would like to welcome you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Tchang Young Lee
General Manager
ibis Saigon South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

It was just a night stay but i really had a good time. Enjoyed lovely space, everything is clean and hotel staff such friendly people, always smiling and flexible.
But if you planning to stay here, dont miss Oopen Restaurant, their foods is amazing. I had a great dinner meal with Salmon Fillet and Cesar Salad. Plus a small meal with Vietnamese Spring rolls... yeah, i have to say that...Foods here are incredible!!!

Room Tip: You should ask Receptionist a room that u can view nice bridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Picalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Merperle Crystal Palace Hotel
Merperle Crystal Palace Hotel
#116 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ibis Saigon Airport
Ibis Saigon Airport
#95 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Hotel Saigon South
Liberty Hotel Saigon South
#212 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Capri by Fraser Ho Chi Minh City
Capri by Fraser Ho Chi Minh City
#119 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bizu Boutique Hotel Phu My Hung
Bizu Boutique Hotel Phu My Hung
#141 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Saigon South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Saigon South Hotel

Property: Ibis Saigon South Hotel
Address: 73 Hoang Van Thai Street Phu My Hung | Tan Phu Ward District 7, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Saigon South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Saigon South is located in front of Saigon Exhibition and Convention Centre (SECC) and only 15 minutes from the city centre. The 1st International 3 star hotel in Saigon, it is within walking distance to Global Corporate Offices, FV hospital, Medical Centers and Shopping Malls. It features 140 stylish designed rooms with timber floors, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, 1 restaurant/bar/3 meeting rooms. Free Ibis shuttle available to and from the hotel to major corporate offices and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Saigon South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing