We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best sports bar in Saigon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RED Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

RED Bar & Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $33
Cuisines: American, Bar, Italian, European, Asian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“best sports bar in Saigon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

busy and friendly sports bar just behind bitexico building in district 1. good food (for pub grub) and very friendly staff. happy hours till 9pm everyday. very busy for sports at weekends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tara_trouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night of entertainment at the red bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I went to the red bar in ho chi Minh city last night. The service was excellent, the staff and Australian bar manager were incredibly friendly and made us feel like we were part of the family. The phillipino rock and roll band that played was perhaps one of the best we'd heard in years and everyone was up dancing and singing and thoroughly enjoying themselves and we felt very glad we'd wandered over for a good steak. It was one of the best nights we'd had anywhere in ages and my husband got to watch the australian rugby league on the big screen while watching uk soccer on another. A great night had by all and we will pop in for a drink again before we go home. Gina and mark

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relax...Check!, Eat...Check!, Drink...Check!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

In case you didn't know, the "Red" in R.E.D. Bar & Restaurant stands for Relax, Eat and Drink (at least that's what the sign on the door says). If you're looking for a place to do just that with great...and enjoy very reasonably priced and good food and drinks you’ve found the right place.

RED is situated on a one way street ( a little difficult to find as you have to go around the block if you’re coming from Ton Duc Thang Street). Once you’ve found its single door entry, you’ll be pleasantly surprised to see a very welcoming bar/restaurant with hi top tables and regular low top rectangular tables. The actual bar is very long and serves any and all drinks. The wait and bar staff is friendly and speaks English very well and service is very fast and with a smile. Try the lamb burger, it is really good!!

The unpretentious bar also features a great band (mostly Filipino) complete with drummer, guitarist, keyboard and 2 singers. The overall bar space on the first floor is not very large so a band that size in there was impressive because they were amazing and the sound wasn’t blowing out your ear drums. They played some pop, R&B, Rock…a little bit of everything, but all very fun. If it’s your fancy, they’ll let you sing a song or two…or three with the band. It’s very relaxed and the crowd is supportive.

There’s a pool table in the back for those so inclined and there are big screen TV’s surrounding the bar. So whether you’re with the guys/girls or on a date, you can always glance at a screen to check out the score of your favorite match or catch up on the latest reality TV news.

I did not give RED 5 Stars because the advertising was a little over the top and misrepresented the place a bit. RED speaks of multiple levels…which is has 3. But the night we were there they were not open and did not look like they have been open for a while. I am curious what they are like when opened. The levels are very big and spacious so I’m sure they only add to the fun. RED also speaks of people dancing on the bars and getting wild, etc. That I find hard to believe as it does not seem like that type of place. But who knows. Any given night…right?

Overall, RED could become a person’s favorite hangout spot. A place where everybody, including the band knows your name. Definitely worth a visit. Don’t wear you fanciest cocktail dress or suit, you’ll be way overdressed. Just come ready to relax, eat and drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NatiBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food, great staffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This bar probably serve best food in town compare with other bars. The lambs were excellent, i tried lamb sausage and lamb burger, both were great and the prices are, not cheap but reasonable. The staffs are friendly, always willing to chat and laugh with you. Amazingly, this bar has non-smoking floor and a wooden pizza oven, heard that the pizza was great but i haven't tried. Happy hour from 9am to 9pm, 1 Tiger draft beer only costs 25k VND. Last time i visited for lunch, set costed at 170k VND for 3 courses. This place locates between financial district and high end tourists area so if you see the prices, you'll know it's cheap.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tamali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Great Bar, Great People"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I don't normally write reviews, but i feel i'd be depriving people of a great night out or of finding their new local in Vietnam "RED BAR". The food is great, cheap drinks, friendly attentive staff and for the sports minded people any sport you can think of on TV, a tournament standard pool table and a ton of dart boards to boot.The live music is also great with a few bands alternating over Wednesday to Saturday evenings.

I know a few other reviewers have mentioned this, but I think what makes Red Bar so great is that the owners and manager make you feel like you've come to their home/s for a chat and few drinks (a few often on the house). I find I walk into Red for a few drinks and leave with a few new friends, truly a home away from home

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RED Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing