We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central hotel, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Ranked #317 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good central hotel, small room”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was visiting for a conference and decided to stay at A&Em Hai Ba Trung as it's around a lot of the restaurants and bars I am familiar with. Enjoyed my stay here in general - this was a well located central hotel that is in the heart of the Japanese district.

The room itself was small and in particular the shower/toilet/bathroom was not really well designed. It's one room and when you take a shower the water goes everywhere. The view was... well there was no view. It was a wall. Really difficult to tell if it was day or night.

Anyway - I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but thought overall it was good value for money (very reasonable cost).

I did have a problem with one particular staff member who was not very accommodating, friendly or customer service oriented. This person referred to my colleague (a local from the conference) as a liar when he asked for me at reception. Was really disappointing considering the rest of the team were reasonably nice to me.

So I probably won't stay there again, but not because of the facilities but because of that one incident.

Room Tip: Really need to get in the higher rooms for a view, but then there is only one lift. I was happy not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
17
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A decent Hotel BUT 2 SPOILSPORTS IN THE HOTEL.
1ST THE LADY at the reception - JESSICA WONG, who si OUTRAGEOUSLY RACIST and RUDE to every person who si NOT A WHITE SKIN.
she will make you feel CHEAP and UNWANTED, apart from LABELLING you as a THIEF.
This is the first and may be the only hotel (in this category) which DOES NOT HAVE A COMPLIMENTARY tea n coffee provision in the room.
Whether you use it or not they will charge you for the tea or coffee which is part of the MINI BAR(SIC), if you ask them why have they charged you, YOU WILL BE TERMED AS A CHEAP'O, who does not want to pay and cheat the hotel of a couple of bucks for the "CONSUMED TEA OR COFFEE". you will be snubbed nad embarrassed by Ms.JESSICA, who will offer to pay from her POCKET FOR THE MINI BAR BILL WHICH YOU MAY NOT HAVE NOTICED.
further the lady in specs at the coffee shop will treat you as if SHE IS PAYING FOR YOUR BREAKFAST, AND YOU SHOULD NOT ASK FOR ANYTHING MISSING OR REFILL THE EXHAUSTED BREADS OR FRUITS ON THE COUNTER. YOU DARE TO AND GET A NASTY STARE OR A TAUNT IN REPLY.
the worst experience ever in my TRAVEL HISTORY ACROSS THE GLOBE.
even the europeans or australians do not degrade you

Room Tip: Suitable for AMERICANS and EUROPEANS only. OTHERS stay away else Ms.JESSICA is there to degrade you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NEWPROBLEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEmHotel, Người quản lý at A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Mumbai Maharashtra,

Thank you for your stay during last time.

We hope you come back our hotel in next time for service you better.
We apologize for our last service. We thank you to support some useful ideas for us. We always listen to our valued guests. We has changed our service too much in time recently.

Once, We expect you come bach to service best in next time.

Thank you and best regards

Hotel manager
Van Sanh (Mr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Booked it on Agoda for 3 nights.
Check-In time we were brought to the second floor where rooms have no windows.
Then moved to 7th floor thereafter having a quick chat with the Manager.
Rooms are spacious with a modern decoration tendance on dark colors, the bathroom is huge and offers a jetstream bathtub we did not used, be careful not sliding in there if you have to go for another appointment afterwards shower business sorted !!!
The Breakfast included is in needs of improvements and is certainly the most miserable food presentation we ever had to experience in a traveller lifetime. The restaurant room is the one situated on the ground floor and presents a magnificent decoration similar to a "Rat cave" where the food is there only to fulfill with kind of a compulsory standard of service but certainly not with a desire from the management to accomplish anything else than feeding the noisy chinese guest who are screaming out in their telephone by early morning and eat with a substantial soundy mastication which make you feel more throwing up before jumping off from this frantic scenario..!!!
Avoid breakfast there is our advice until the A&Em Hotel Management will have gain some conciousness on what is a Breakfast Service Standard and on how to realise that, in this instance, it doesn't match with the great Rooms which are available to rent...certainly a matter of good reflection in a city that rocks nearly as good as Bangkok !!!

Room Tip: Avoid the windowless floors situated at the bottom of the building.. All the VIP rooms are spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peters1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We moved to this hotel from elsewhere as its location is fantastic for quick access to the best shops, bars and restaurants. We were upgraded so we didn't experience the the tiny room, and overall the room was well designed with quirky furniture and a panel to control all the different lights which confused me no end. The service was not unpleasant but we never saw the same person twice at the front desk, so it felt very impersonal, and the breakfast was poor, with food either cold or having run out completely, so we had to ask for things to be replenished on several occasions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A & Em Hai Ba Trung is a comfortable, reasonably priced tourist hotel in central HCMC. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, great shower in the bathroom. Service is great and there always was at least one person around who spoke English well. I arrived early, about 830 am and although my room wasn't ready (which is understandable), they had it made up for me within 30 minutes. When I asked about a SIM card for my phone, one of the bellmen went out and got one for me and installed it -- cost less than $10, so even if the bellman or hotel made some money on it, the price was reasonable.
Location is great, within a half block of the big, expensive hotels, easy walking distance of major tourist sites, restaurants, etc.
Good breakfast, plentiful, tasty, Asian and western entrees available.
There are multiple A & EM hotels -- not sure how the others are, but this one is fine.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms in this hotel have windows, but not sure, maybe not on the lower floors. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Although room is abit small.. but it was very comfy and clean. Service was great. When we went back there the 2nd time after our travelling to central vietnam, the hotel at this location didnt have 2 small rooms for us. So they arranged for us to go to their other branch which was not far from this one.

they arrange taxi for us and gave us excellent services until we get our rooms on the 2nd branch.

They have a few branches in the city. I think all of them are located pretty central and near the market. It was a very convenient place to stay for a relatively great price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

did expect huge on this hotel since there were loads of good reviews hotel flowing around on internet and the hotel images seemed really nice as well. Yet, to my horror, the room i booked looked exactly like on the photo id seen before, but its incredibly ... small, feel like i was staying in a boutique post box!! Immediately asked for an upgrade (and defly with extra charge) and they gave me an executive deluxe, merely 1 or 2 meter square wider than my previous room. Anyway, its a lot better and fresher with a big window looking down the street. The bed was soft and the pillow was just fab. the bathroom was fine with a lovely jacuzzi bathtub. And the best thing was the wifi, probably one of the fastest speed you would ever have in vietnam.
Never got the chance to have breakfast since they already wrapped things up at 8:30am but a guy i met on elevator said never bother to come down again!

Room Tip: Room on the back of the building would have less noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetn0thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#243 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
#221 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
#301 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#170 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
A&EM 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
A&EM 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
#269 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
32 reviews
0.6 mi away
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
A&EM Corner Saigon Hotel
#108 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel

Property: A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing