We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, reasonably priced, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Ranked #316 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
252 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Comfortable, reasonably priced, well located”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A & Em Hai Ba Trung is a comfortable, reasonably priced tourist hotel in central HCMC. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, great shower in the bathroom. Service is great and there always was at least one person around who spoke English well. I arrived early, about 830 am and although my room wasn't ready (which is understandable), they had it made up for me within 30 minutes. When I asked about a SIM card for my phone, one of the bellmen went out and got one for me and installed it -- cost less than $10, so even if the bellman or hotel made some money on it, the price was reasonable.
Location is great, within a half block of the big, expensive hotels, easy walking distance of major tourist sites, restaurants, etc.
Good breakfast, plentiful, tasty, Asian and western entrees available.
There are multiple A & EM hotels -- not sure how the others are, but this one is fine.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms in this hotel have windows, but not sure, maybe not on the lower floors. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    26
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
5
16
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Although room is abit small.. but it was very comfy and clean. Service was great. When we went back there the 2nd time after our travelling to central vietnam, the hotel at this location didnt have 2 small rooms for us. So they arranged for us to go to their other branch which was not far from this one.

they arrange taxi for us and gave us excellent services until we get our rooms on the 2nd branch.

They have a few branches in the city. I think all of them are located pretty central and near the market. It was a very convenient place to stay for a relatively great price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

did expect huge on this hotel since there were loads of good reviews hotel flowing around on internet and the hotel images seemed really nice as well. Yet, to my horror, the room i booked looked exactly like on the photo id seen before, but its incredibly ... small, feel like i was staying in a boutique post box!! Immediately asked for an upgrade (and defly with extra charge) and they gave me an executive deluxe, merely 1 or 2 meter square wider than my previous room. Anyway, its a lot better and fresher with a big window looking down the street. The bed was soft and the pillow was just fab. the bathroom was fine with a lovely jacuzzi bathtub. And the best thing was the wifi, probably one of the fastest speed you would ever have in vietnam.
Never got the chance to have breakfast since they already wrapped things up at 8:30am but a guy i met on elevator said never bother to come down again!

Room Tip: Room on the back of the building would have less noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetn0thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights and then came back for a third night. The best service we've ever experienced in a small hotel. The staff is amazing - most friendly and helpful.
We only ate at the breakfast buffet but it was very high quality and a nice assortment. As of this date they don't yet have a full working kitchen and other meals are apparently delivered from one of their other nearby hotels.
The rooms are very nice although the bathtub/showers are a little awkward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huong Ly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have stayed a few times now, and it's always been excellent.
Haven't experienced the room size problems of others as I love large bathrooms and spa bath, so always go for the VIP A room, check their website and you'll see what I mean.
My traveling partner had a spa bubble bath most nights an just loved it. We even shared the bath one night and could have easily fitted another couple.
The room was cleaned and spotless every day, the service provided by front desk and room staff faultless. H for varying needed was immediately provided.
The view out onto the street and across the city great...
The best of all, the bed.... Superb!!!!
There may be better value for money with a huge bathroom but I'm yet to find it.
I've stayed elsewhere including Park Hyatt in HCMC so have seen others...

Room Tip: Pay more for a VIP or VIP A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triguy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pro's:
- Great location
- Big enough room with ensuite tub (Executive Double Room)
- Free and fast WiFi

Con's:
- Room smelled of tobacco upon entering, stench was gotten rid of later on
- Hot water in room was working only at times, mostly being just a little better than cold
- Room service seems to work on random times, and even then it's slow and the food is cold
- Staff didn't speak that much English at all

Overall for the price of $416 for 7 nights this hotel is barely acceptable, but I'm sure there would be worse options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. It was our first visit to Vietnam. The hotel is very well placed on Hai Ba Trung, a main street of HCMC in District 1. By Australian standards our room was smallish; bigger than a bathroom (see AUSSIETONY's review) so we must have had a different room. Our room was at the rear so we had a view over the rooftops of HCMC. One wardrobe, no drawers. There was space in the bottom of the wardrobe in which bags could have been packed but since there was no-where in which to put the clothes you had unpacked, this was not much help. In the end we played "jump the bag". Clearly locals travel lighter than farangs. Having said that, the room was spotless even if the fit-out was a bit over the top aesthetically. Who was their interior decorator? The air-con was magic, the lighting very seductive :) So seductive I kept losing things. The bed was hands down the best bed we had slept in away from home, ever. The room was properly serviced each day and "made new". The bathroom was new and always spotless. Loved the toilet IN the shower recess guys. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel rate was 1/4 of what you could pay for a western chain hotel room in HCMC. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#188 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
A&EM 280 Le Thanh Ton Hotel
#217 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#235 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
A&EM Phan Boi Chau Hotel
#298 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saga Hotel
Saga Hotel
#370 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
Asian Ruby Center Point Hotel
#291 of 454 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel

Property: A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel
Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 454 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your A&Em Hai Ba Trung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing