We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really can't fault, value for money...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A&EM Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A&EM Hotel
Ranked #343 of 443 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really can't fault, value for money...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have stayed a few times now, and it's always been excellent.
Haven't experienced the room size problems of others as I love large bathrooms and spa bath, so always go for the VIP A room, check their website and you'll see what I mean.
My traveling partner had a spa bubble bath most nights an just loved it. We even shared the bath one night and could have easily fitted another couple.
The room was cleaned and spotless every day, the service provided by front desk and room staff faultless. H for varying needed was immediately provided.
The view out onto the street and across the city great...
The best of all, the bed.... Superb!!!!
There may be better value for money with a huge bathroom but I'm yet to find it.
I've stayed elsewhere including Park Hyatt in HCMC so have seen others...

Room Tip: Pay more for a VIP or VIP A room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triguy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
16
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pro's:
- Great location
- Big enough room with ensuite tub (Executive Double Room)
- Free and fast WiFi

Con's:
- Room smelled of tobacco upon entering, stench was gotten rid of later on
- Hot water in room was working only at times, mostly being just a little better than cold
- Room service seems to work on random times, and even then it's slow and the food is cold
- Staff didn't speak that much English at all

Overall for the price of $416 for 7 nights this hotel is barely acceptable, but I'm sure there would be worse options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights. It was our first visit to Vietnam. The hotel is very well placed on Hai Ba Trung, a main street of HCMC in District 1. By Australian standards our room was smallish; bigger than a bathroom (see AUSSIETONY's review) so we must have had a different room. Our room was at the rear so we had a view over the rooftops of HCMC. One wardrobe, no drawers. There was space in the bottom of the wardrobe in which bags could have been packed but since there was no-where in which to put the clothes you had unpacked, this was not much help. In the end we played "jump the bag". Clearly locals travel lighter than farangs. Having said that, the room was spotless even if the fit-out was a bit over the top aesthetically. Who was their interior decorator? The air-con was magic, the lighting very seductive :) So seductive I kept losing things. The bed was hands down the best bed we had slept in away from home, ever. The room was properly serviced each day and "made new". The bathroom was new and always spotless. Loved the toilet IN the shower recess guys. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel rate was 1/4 of what you could pay for a western chain hotel room in HCMC. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damian_amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

It is official I have now stayed in the smallest Hotel room ever, The toilet shares the shower cubicle there is no space to leave any luggage it is like a capsule hotel, ok for one night I was bumped from the other Hotel although confirmed by Agoda the Hotel over booked, but no compensation, just a sorry from reception, and when i arrived at the hotel not of my choice they give be the broom closet
Great I do not think

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ho Chi Minh City hotels

ChilliGarlic
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went for a cheaper, smaller hotel as we were staying more for transit than hotel enjoyment. This hotel was perfect! Funky fit out, with quirky fun details, free wifi, great bathroom, and comfy bed. Staff were helpful and well informed, making our first time in HCMC easier than it otherwise might have been. Small rooms, but really ideal for our purpose, and exactly what was advertised. There are quite a few of these in HCMC it seems, so be very clear with the taxi driver which one you're going to! Everything was really clean, and the breakfast, included, was great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilliGarlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We thought we booked a deluxe room as shown on their website, instead it was half the size and not big enough for 2 people. The staff try to be helpful but there english isn't very good. Breakfast is served in the bar below the hotel and is mostly local food but they also cook eggs as you like them. On the plus side, the hotel is in a good location - within walking distance of all the designer stores and good restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Print off your booking confirmation with the photo of the room type you have booked to make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall stars - 3 of 5

Hotel staff - 3 of 5
Restaurant staff - 3 of 5
Room service staff - did not use
Housekeeping staff - 4 of 5
Room - 3 of 5

Bed comfortable rating - 3.5 of 5

Room size – tiny

Breakfast variety - 3 of 5
Breakfast quality - 3 of 5

WIFI – 4 of 5, computer in room, good connection

Location - 5 of 5
Metro / subway proximity – N/A

Attractions / Sights - 5 of 5, most within 10 mins taxi ride (<US$5)

Free shuttle - no

Spa - did not use / not sure if they have

Room Tip - nil

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
A & EM Hotel
A & EM Hotel
#216 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
A&EM Hotel
A&EM Hotel
#340 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverland Inn Hotel
Silverland Inn Hotel
#185 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AEm 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
AEm 8A Thai Van Lung Hotel
#268 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.7 mi away
A&EM Hotel
A&EM Hotel
#169 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
AEM Corner Saigon Hotel
AEM Corner Saigon Hotel
#110 of 443 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&EM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&EM Hotel

Property: A&EM Hotel
Address: 46 - 48 Hai Ba Trung St., Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 443 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A&EM Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your A&EM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing