We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral

Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This French-built cathedral occupies scenic Paris Square in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful...... It is a shame that all the buses park outside making it difficult to take a photo but still a quiet place inside for reflection.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    2,134
    1,831
    327
    48
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not that impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

One of the tour mandatory photo stops along with the central post office. They both show good history for the city during colonial times but really it is just another cathedral and if you only have a short time in saigon i would easily recommend skipping it to see other sights. Venturing around the streets is more interesting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMunchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cathedral”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very average architecture, very busy with tourists, nothing remotely like the Parisian big brother. Grab a coffee in one of the many coffee shops 100 yards away and watch the world go by instead, or go to the very nearby park band watch the art students doing their watercolours

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just a Cathedral”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Sorry Saigon it is just a cathedral, and all the tour buses parked in front stop anyone taking pictures.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRNSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Replica of the one in Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Its wonderful to see a replica of the Notre Dame Cathedral that one would find in Paris. Brings back memories of my trip to Paris some years ago. However i could not figure out how to enter the cathedral, and thus only managed to take photos from the outside.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank yatsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing