We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Building”

Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This French-built cathedral occupies scenic Paris Square in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

It looks like a smaller replica of the one in Paris. It is sourrounded by trees and just opposite the Post Office. You need to just stroll around and if you are lucky (over the weekends) you will see young newly weds taking their pre-wedding photos (with their wedding dress around the cathedral.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nur2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,336
    2,197
    1,889
    337
    52
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
544 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Good for photos on a sunny day, but that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Don't expect something grand like the more famous Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris. This is a smaller cathedral in a brownish-tan hue. I thought the color scheme was a bit odd and seemed out of place with the surrounding area. It ought to be maybe in Mexico instead.
The cathedral is located downtown with parks nearby, just opposite from the old Central Post Office. It beckons for exterior photos. Indeed, taking a few there was pleasant, but you were faced with the problem of being too far away or too close to it to get vantage points of relevance. Another minus is the horrible motorcycle traffic that came from all directions. This made crossing the streets to get good photo shots an adventure unlike any other. I didn't go inside so cannot comment on the interior.
I wouldn't say this is a 'must' visit place but if you happen to pass it, it makes for nice viewing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After the post office view, we cross the street and visited the cathedral. It opens from 8-11am and 3-4pm only. It has a nice architectural design.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mahal Kita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful building!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful building from the outside, however, the beauty is diminished but the large gates and bars put around the entire outside to keep tourists from ruining the daily masses held here. You can look in from the outside but we weren't allowed in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Racheal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templestowe Lower, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Old Church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Not exactly what I thought of as a cathedral, more like your average catholic church. Inside is not all that different either. Nice to take photos of from the outside but not much on the inside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Notre Dame Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing