We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interest building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Independence Palace

The Independence Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interest building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

After making the mistake of going after 11 (over lunchtime), we came back later in the day to visit the Reunificiation Palace - moral of the story, check the opening times! Ticket prices are minimal 30.000 dong, and it was really interesting and even without a tour guide we found out quite a lot about the place. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucyyyy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,889
    2,904
    1,714
    269
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good bit of history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I googled a few photos of what the palace looked like back when the tanks smashed through the palace gates all those years ago and nothing has changed. Apparently the tanks are still in the same places. Its a pretty cool story and well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very interesting to see... shows how President Diem lived during the Vietnam war. After it was bombed, it was restored and left to supposedly the way he lived.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank npham722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A piece of History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Well worth a stroll through, particularly the gardens featuring Soviet T36 tanks and various US war remnants. And those gates!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motueka
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Went at wrong time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Missed on on this during our last trip so made a special effort this time. Did not know it would be so busy with locals visiting. This meant that there were no English speaking guides available. This detracted from the enjoyment of walking around this historic building. There is a booklet with English explanations but this really only glossed over the many facts that I would like to have known. However, I would recommend this tour especially for those of us that remember the Vietnam Conflict.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Independence Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Independence Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing