We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really interesting”

The Independence Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Unfrotunatley our visit to HCM city was cut short and we had very little time to sight see-but what we saw was brilliant-next time we would definitly go on the free guided tour (we though we didn't have sufficient time)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,942
    2,975
    1,745
    277
    70
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

It was free from memory. Interesting to see the palatial rooms and the beautiful decorations. A little repetitive, but the war bunker rooms below are still in the same condition complete with phones and maps as during the war, these were great.

Perhaps some sounds of ticking machines, voices of the workers and sargeants from the time would make it even more authentic feeling.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nickersMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

There is loads to see here and it's all really interesting. Free tours are available every 15mins and the tour was brilliant! Excellent value, I recommend!

Helpful?
Thank alexkateg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a little boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Go only if you have extra time to spare.
the endless similar looking rooms that we saw grew quickly repetitive and boring.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bearvcva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A different perspective”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Worth a visit if you are in Saigon. The war from the perspective of the NVA and the Viet Cong. Well preserved, very clean and neat. Rather ugly furniture and architecture. History is the thing here. As a Viet Nam vet being here and hearing the propaganda from our guide was an interesting experience. The two military tanks in front of the palace were interesting, and were supposedly the tanks that crashed through the palace gates on the day that Saigon fell. If you go, you need a guide. Signs are not in English.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The Traveling Commander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Independence Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Independence Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing