We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another must see”

The Independence Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This fascinating government building, significant for its role in the Vietnam conflict, is preserved almost exactly as it was in 1966.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another must see”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was my second trip to Vietnam and the Reunification Palace. We went on the free tour which is an absolute must and takes about 1 hour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,002
    3,066
    1,785
    285
    71
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is like a glorified public high school in the states. The best thing was taking a picture in front of the tank in front of the palace.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCSmith1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is worth visiting not just for the history but to see what a 1960s presidential palace looked like. There are many stairs and it can get very hot and humid inside. Also, you can be in and out in an hour or so leaving time to see other attractions. Won't belabor this review by repeating what others have said which is fairly accurate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigdawgChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
287 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“JUST A HISTORICAL PLACE.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

it is not exactly a great palace,just a good building with a lot of history.the southern leaders of Vietnam fought the war from here,in much relative luxury compared to the north Vietnam rebels, the Vietcong, fighting from jungles and stark depravity.ultimately the Vietcong won the war and unfurled the flag here,unifying Vietnam.

my guide miss lulu was just great.she has so much of pride and patriotism.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sanjaya58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Impressive rooms, kept well and historically important. Well worth a visit. Lots of stairs so don't miss the bunker.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Independence Palace also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The Independence Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing