We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koniko Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel, they are very informative, nice and friendly.. located is strategic for tourist,
lots of food, music, people, coffee..
Room is clean, ac is work, hot water not really work in the night.. but its such no big deal
And you have to excersice before you get your breakfast 6th floor and my room in 1st floor.. there's no elevater and lift.. hahaha

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mucil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I liked the staff and the decoration of my dorm room. I stayed here 3 nights and most of the time I was the only person staying in the room or only one person besides me, which was nice because it was calm.

They could improve the cleaning - it was not too dirty but they should clean a little bit every day. When I arrived one of the guys came to empty the trash - that's it. Nothing else for the next 3 days was done... There was a dirty towel in my bed that they did not remove when I arrived. The bed was not "made" because the blanket was just a big mess in my bed so It made me think If they even changed the sheets after somebody... When somebody checked out they didn't come even to take the trash from her bed.

Anyway - I was many small stuff that was not nice - the lack of tidyness. One thing happened to me and an English girl - there was a mouse in our room! (5th floor)

The staff was pretty shocked when we told them. We let the mouse in to one of the bathrooms in the room and closed the door. Apparently the staff killed it later. We found later some mouse puup on the upper beds.

It's true what the other rewiever said - it was very noisy in the night time, around 10 pm the disco music was very loud until 12 pm or something.. I did not need earplugs because I went sleep after the noisiest time but I might have needed them if I had wanted to sleep earlier.

When I checked out they gave me a take-away breakfast. That was very sweet.

It's not so bad, but next time I will stay somewhere else with the same price (6 euros a night, breakfast included) where I don't have to afraid of the mice and that is a bit more cleaner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemppalemppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hostel is well located on backpackers street. You have everything around: bars, food, drinks, laundry, travel services - 24/7. There is a huge noise all the time: music, car horns and shout. The hotel is dirty: walls and sheets with stains, rust in bathroom, dust everywhere. It is not possible to close bathroom door because of spoiled handle. I had to use my own sleeping bag. The staff is helpful. Breakfast is included in room rate, but very basic. I don't recommend this hostel only because it is dirty.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ania-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

About 8$ per night, including a good breakfast of your choice. Good aircon, clean rooms, your own big locker, free wifi (one computer to use for free as well). And good service. You can book busses, activites etc in the reception for a decent price. The water in the shower is cold though.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

stayed in koniko backpackers for 1/12 weeks, the location is great right in the heart of the city in the backpackers area. Free breakfast which is very yummy and filling. Most of all the staff are amazing, i have a broken leg and have needed a lot of assistance. They have done everything for me even brought my breakfast in bed. I recommend this hostel, the rooms are very clean,spacious and have two bathrooms. For only 8 dollars a night it's one of the cheapest you'll find being in the capital city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Location is good and staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, we had a lot of ants in our room and decided to leave after one night. Hotel staff, to their credit, reacted quickly and were polite in helping us find somewhere else for 30th and 31st December. My real annoyance is with easytobook, who took a £9 fee and did not pass on all of the roomrate paid by s to the hostel. This meant that when the hostel gave us a refund for the days we choose not to to stay (which they did with no argument), the amount we received was circa £15 less than what we paid ( including the £9 previously mentioned).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Neel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hostel is clean and has friendly staff with a good grasp of the English language and situated within a good location. it offers really good value for money and moreover its really clean, bright and airy. I enjoyed the stay and recommend to all backpackers. I would go back!!
I stayed for 3 nights in the dorm which was spacious and clean. highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel 2
New Saigon Hostel 2
#20 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui Vien
Saigon Backpackers Hostel at Bui...
#33 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Hostel
Budget Hostel
#105 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham...
#21 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koniko Hotel
Koniko Hotel
#64 of 1,000 in Ho Chi Minh City
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 761 in Ho Chi Minh City
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koniko Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koniko Backpackers Hostel

Address: 149 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 761 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Koniko Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koniko Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing