We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting cultural experience”

The Soul of Vietnam - Culture Show
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soul of Vietnam, the highly acclaimed and brilliantly original culture show that ran at the Saigon Opera House from 2011-13, and at the historic HCM City Drama Theatre in 2015 is no longer operating.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting cultural experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The show is held twice per month (15 and 23) and luckly we were in Saigon exactly on 23 so we couldn’t miss it.
We bought the tickets in the morning directly from the Opera’s ticket office and there were two options available: back seats for 600,000 dongs (30 USD as of August 2013) and 800,000 dongs (40 USD as of August 2013) for the front rows. We were 6 and chose both back and front rows (mainly because we wanted to take better pictures) but the layout of the Opera hall is anyway good and offers good visibility also from the back.
Be sure you get to the Opera some minutes before the show starts as they serve some Vietnamese specialities (tea, nuts) in the lobby.
The show is nice and you get to know a bit better the culture of Vietnam through the music and dances presented, each one benefiting of a short explanation in English at the beginning.
Duration of the show: 1 hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana_VP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth seeing but don't pay over $30usd/ticket.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were ushered in as we walked by and bought the $38usd tickets. The opera house is great, the inside unfortunately has not been kept up well. It's a small venue so you can see the stage well from anywhere. The performances were wonderful showing a beautiful array of Vietnam's legends including songs, dances and more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Racheal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Historical Delight”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

An entertaining show, with narrative, combining music, dance and comedy. The show takes you through the last 4000 years of Vietnam culture. Live music accompanies songs of old and new to go with dance and colorful costumes. This show is suitable for children and they even get a special little surprise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“True Vietnam”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I attended the show with my friends. Ticket is a bit expensive for what you get. The show represents both north and south vietnam, you also get free food like coconut wine before the show. Overall it was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Prakash1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Show to showcase Vietnam!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great show to showcase the culture of Vietnam - from every region in the country!
The show in the Opera House itself is already an attraction!
If possible, do not miss out this show that's only shown twice a month in the spectacular opera house Saigon!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soul of Vietnam - Culture Show also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing