We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay...”

The Soul of Vietnam - Culture Show
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Soul of Vietnam, the highly acclaimed and brilliantly original culture show that ran at the Saigon Opera House from 2011-13, and at the historic HCM City Drama Theatre in 2015 is no longer operating.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was okay...”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After reading the enthousiastic reviews for this show, we decited to book a ticket. We arrived at the 15th at Ho Chi Minh and booked a ticket for this date. We paid 600.000 Dong per person, I don't know why because normally it is 500.000 Dong and students get a 20% discount which we also didn't get.

Then the show: the first 10 minutes were nice, some performance of old legends of vietnam, nice stories, but simple performance. So far, so good. Then some parts of vietnamese opera classics. We didn't liked it. We actually didn't like much of the singing. Partly because we, perhaps, don't like vietnamese songs, but also because the music was too loud, which made it unclear. Then some more songs. In de end there are some musicians playing ancient instruments from different parts of the world and a performance to honour the street vendors. This was nice.

All togheter, we regret going to the theatre, because the show to us was not worth 600.000 dong. Money to burn and plenty of time? Take a look if you have no other plans. We cannot recommend this show.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    1
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Cultural Show”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This show is only on twice a month in Ho Chi Minh at the Opera House on the 15th and 23rd of the month. We paid 500,000 each for our tickets and thought it was excellent value for a quality production. The producers of the show are committed to giving children a positive experience of theatre. Each child is given a traditional clay style molded toy during the show. After the show if you ask they are more than happy to give the children a tour backstage. If you are there on the dates don't miss it. If not they have just started doing the show in Hanoi, also at the Opera House and i think they said every Monday.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelws70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hardly to forget this show”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Took part at some other show in different palaces in Vietnam such Ca Tru and Water Puppet in Hanoi, Royal Dancing in Hue and here is Hon Viet which became the best among for my opinion. The show was so brilliant and we were really interested in. Very talented musicians combines with professional actor and actress created and excellent performance helping us to learnt much more about this strong country.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank D2LAGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was lucky to be in Saigon on the 23rd, so I was able to see the show. It was an entertaining and beautiful performance giving me a brief glimpse into the arts and history of Vietnam. In addition to the performance here was also a nice pre-show reception. Seeing the inside of the opera house was also a nice us. If you are in Saigon on the 15th or 23rd of the month go and see it. I hear that the show is also performed in Hanoi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KenEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“nice musicians, hard to understand the links between scenes”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

enjoyed the higly talented musicians, and some nice acrobats. the links between scenes are a bit hard to get for a foreigner from my point of view, but that's definitely a nice moment to spend in the nice opera house.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tryagain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Soul of Vietnam - Culture Show also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing