We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the vist”

War Remnants Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: War Remnants Museum is a unit under the Department of Culture, Sports and Tourism Ho Chi Minh City. Located in the museum system of Vietnam, the museum for world peace and a member of the World Council of Museums (ICOM), the War Remnants Museum, the Museum of thematic research, collection , storage, preservation and display of the material, photographs, artifacts on the evidence of the crime and the consequences of the war that the invasion force has caused to Vietnam.Museum store more than 20,000 documents, exhibits and films, in which more than 1,500 documents, artifacts, films have been applied to introduce in eight thematic exhibition frequently. In 35 years, the Museum has welcomed over 15 million visitors at home and abroad. Currently with about 500,000 visitors each year, the War Remnants Museum is one of the only cultural tourism to attract high public credibility at home and abroad.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the vist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

A great place to get a better understanding of the effects of the war on the Vietnamese. Some areas are not for the faint hearted as they are quite graphic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,386
    7,867
    2,344
    378
    190
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place to know about the Vietnam War”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The museum gave you a lot of information about the war and the photos were so real that you could feel the pain suffered by the Vietnamese people at that time. There are tanks, planes exhibited in the entrance which also gives you more real feeling about the war.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kero0329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Powerful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I went along to the war museum not quite expecting what I got. Outside there are tanks, planes
and helicopters. Inside tells the history of the war, interesting, informative and shocking. I was unprepared for the graphic pictures of victims of Agent Orange. Brought tears to my eyes and I got to the point where I didn’t want to see anymore pictures. A must see museum.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank terriede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting and thought provoking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very interesting museum. Lots of great photographs depicting a variety of things related to the war. I felt that it was extremely one-sided, however, and offered very little information on what the Vietnamese did during the war. But the agent orange section is a must-see, although quite heartbreaking. It was very crowded in the museum and actually made it difficult to read every caption. Entry fee was a good value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Certainly a bit of propaganda”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Yet it would've been a mistake not to go. Being Vietnamese American though, it was difficult to process. What really left me disturbed was the effects of agent orange that still linger to this day. I had thought the many handicapped ppl I encountered were suffering from some more random congenital defect. The saddest irony is that despite our bombing Vietnam to hell to prevent the domino effect of Communism in Asia, this country has a decidedly capitalist economy today irregardless of our efforts.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThienLanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Remnants Museum also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to War Remnants Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing