We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small temple, slightly overrated.”

Jade Emperor Pagoda (Chua Ngoc Hoang or Phuoc Hai Tu)
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Old and New Saigon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Also known as the Tortoise Pagoda, this figurine-filled place of worship is considered by many to be Saigon’s finest.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small temple, slightly overrated.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pagoda is not maintained well, it is smelly. Visit only if interested in tortoise. Can easily be done in abouth 15-20 mins with pictures.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NehaPradeepJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    267
    222
    67
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Small, smelly and strange. Not worth the walk!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was really disappointed when after walking for 20 minutes in the April heat to reach this prized pagoda.
I was greeted by hundreds of stinky turtles in an overcrowded pond. There were also rats running around the premise which was hilarious but I guess normal for HCMC. The pagoda itself was tiny and unimpressive. There were cooking utensils, chairs, tables, odd furniture at the entrance to the pagoda. I could not decide if it was a temple of someone’s house!
It was totally underwhelming for me and I would not recommended the effort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small temple”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Big turtle and fishes. Else than that the temple is abit too small to be a tourists attraction. You can buy birds and turtles to set them free!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Unlike many temples and pagodas we saw later in our tour, this one had a real feeling of being a part of the local people's daily lives, and the few tourists worked around worshippers. If travelling by taxi get it to wait / book a pick up afterwards because local traffic is a nightmare in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pagoda”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Small but very beautiful pagoda bang in the middle of the city. A lovely courtyard to relax in away from the hustle and bustle, watching people and the terrapins!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Emperor Pagoda (Chua Ngoc Hoang or Phuoc Hai Tu) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Jade Emperor Pagoda (Chua Ngoc Hoang or Phuoc Hai Tu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing