We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot, crowded and touristy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben Thanh Market

Ben Thanh Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Tour of Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the city's biggest, most authentic market. You can find almost anything you need here, from basic supplies to souvenirs. The food is outstanding and the people-watching is great even if you don't buy anything.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hot, crowded and touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you are mainly looking for touristy items then this is the place to go - lots of tourist t-shirts, lacquer ware and fake brands. Be prepared for friendly bartering and 'hassling'. If you won't get a chance to go to another market then be sure to check out the super-fresh seafood section!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Just_Jess0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,053
    2,251
    2,209
    757
    452
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very busy market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very busy and hot market. You can find everything you need here at very reasonable prices.
Bargaining is still necessary. Lots of clothes, bags etc. most brand merchadise will be fake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank harryv989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything here is only worth half it's price. However sellers are willing to let you bargain and sell it to you than not make a deal. Enjoy food and drinks in the market itself when you get tired from the bargaining.... At night it becomes a night market with more or less the same stuff. Get your daily tourist dose here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brendanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for street food at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The market is great however be prepared to be hassled.

At night the street food outside the market is fabulous. Try the hot pots they are brilliant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Okay after the first visit !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a place if you dont mind getting continually hasselled!!.The stalls are so packed together that its almost impossible to avoid the constant pulling of your arms to get you to stop at a particular stall.Eventually one gets used to the hassle and you just accept it.There are stalls selling decent items but there are even more selling cheap things.You just have to check before you buy.Its quite funny just how much the price drops when you threaten to walk away!!
I would say we found the best fruit shake stalls in the market costing very little so that was a good excuse for repeated visits.All in all it was quite an experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tounsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben Thanh Market also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Ben Thanh Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing