We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what can i say....priceless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saigon Hotel
Ranked #128 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“what can i say....priceless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

this hotel deserves much more than just a 3 star rating. the staff are friendly and very helpful. great service and housekeeping. we had two rooms; 1 double bedroom and 1 triple bedroom. both are spacious, clean, comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent. the hotel is located just opposite masjidul jamiel mosque with a few halal restaurants literally at it's doorsteps. the hotel is just within walking distance to some of the famous attractions of saigon city e.g. the opera house, the harbour, and the ben thanh market. i would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank white_celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    53
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
25
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel and can recommend it highly. The décor is fresh and modern, the staff are some of the best that we've come across in our travels. We felt like this was much more than a two star hotel with computers in the rooms and other special touches. Breakfast was complimentary and very nice, room was spacious and had an incredible view of the city. This place is definitely a rising star in Vietnam and should do quite well. Recommended for families and couples, although there is not much for kids in and around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradford70mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Unless you are booking into one of the 5 star hotels, a having a small room in Vietnam seems to be the rule. Though we don't mind it as long as it is clean and cozy. If it is not too noisy at night on top of that, well that is just gravy. Saigon hotel was like that. Nothing to much expect, but nothing less either. The place is a solid B&B style house posing as a Hotel with friendly stuff, nice breakfast and within walking distance of where things happen in HCMC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElkstAnneNLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Saigon hotel is not a fancy hotel (for 5 star hotel, there is a Sheraton across the street). The facilities are old, but they are clean. Hotel staffs are mostly hospitable, though too polite sometimes to make both side embarrassed. In general, it is a budget hotel with acceptable quality service.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Polarbear_tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My friend and i stayed here for 4 nights.
It was clean and had great sized rooms.
The clerks at the front desk spoke English well and were very helpful when we needed to be pointed in the direction is things such as ATMs, best places to shop and best places to eat.
The rooms get cleaned everyday and we also somehow managed to score a free buffet breakfast every morning (not sure if it was included but it was a suprise)
The best aspect of this hotel was it's convenient location and its friendly staff. If you're expecting to watch TV for most of your stay in Saigon then this is not the hotel for you, the reception was very bad, was not an issue for us.
We would have no problem in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kk04aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

I had booked the hotel considering price and location. I can say that it has met my expectations and slightly exceeded them in terms of how great the location was for this hotel. The place itself has its charms as it is decorated in a shabby-chic manner what with its yellow walls, fuschia pillars, old-school lock and key system and sewing machine legs for their tables in the dining area. The place has a fashion boutique on the ground floor, the dining area on the second and 2-3 more floors up for the rooms.

I had stayed in the small and simple rooms which went for $30 at the time I booked it and I'd say it's worth the price for the following reasons: wifi was available (only sporadic downtimes, which I am not too happy about, but I still got a whole lot if internet time while I was there.)

Second reason is the location as it is right around the corner of Dong Khoi, Le Loi and Le Than Ton streets. Don Khoi street has the little fashion boutiques and lovely little restaurants, Le Loi is a main street where you can find the famous Trung Nguyen and Highlands Coffee places and art galleries, and Le Than Ton is a left turn from Dong Khoi and as you keep walking it leads you to the City Hall and the Ben Thanh Market. The street of the hotel is also home to an Aussie-owned sportsbar, a posh little bar with good wine and music (also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with free wifi!), Thai, Japanese and Indian restaurants, Hair Salons, and Saigon Tourist taxi stop.

Third reason is that the experience in the hotel has a very homey- feel. I'd hope to see more cleaning on the antique furniture that designs the place, but I guess they didn't make that as a priority. Their priority was to make sure your toiletries were re-filled if used, towels and sheets changed (I had noticed they changed my towels twice!) The AC and showers all working perfectly (the shower was good what with various settings and heat!) They keep your passport and key safe for you as you head out for the day and not worry about losing them while you travel around the town. Breakfast is ok - Vietnamese Crepe was a refreshing, filling and tasty meal in the morning, and the coffee hot and ready for you as well. I was only worried about one night where I came home late and found the entrance closed - all you gotta do is knock as there is always one member of the staff who stays up to attend to their guests' midnight troubles! The staff also help you with getting information for tours you can go to (although you book it yourself) and do their best to attend to your needs. All you gotta do is smile and ask!

Some guests stay here for extended-stays (weeks!) and some do stop overs and some stay a week. Place is good for solo travellers and couples. This may be a little too high end for those who want to go the backpacking road (I think areas in Bui Vien have those types of hostels) and may be too shabby for those who want their creature comforts and regular hotel look and feel.

I liked the "quaintness" of this place.Yes, it's small. Yes, it can get tiring going up those stairs. And that darn key can get frustrating to use, BUT I don't mind going back and staying in the not so Ordinary bed and breakfast in my next trip to Saigon.

  • Liked — Location Location Location!
  • Disliked — Stairs, view (none on my side!) & Key! :P
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Joepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#108 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#52 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#88 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bongsen Annex Hotel
Bongsen Annex Hotel
#187 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquari Hotel
Aquari Hotel
#96 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#16 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Hotel

Property: Saigon Hotel
Address: 41 - 47 Dong Du Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saigon Hotel, perfectly located right in the commercial and tourist district of Ho Chi Minh City, is a great choice of 3 star hotel for both business and leisure travelers who want to experience Saigon’s bustling life.You can easily find most of the tourist attractions, shopping centers as well as various country restaurants in just a few minutes walk. The elegant decoration of Saigon Hotel makes a great impression on you about the culture and history of a well-known place: “Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City”.Your Warm & Friendly Saigon home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing