We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor manager attitude”
Review of Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saigon Hotel
Ranked #102 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Newly renovated hotel. Very near to amenities and convenient to move around tourist. However the hotel is very strict when you check out. They will check all items including slippers and laundry bags. You cannot take any item out of the hotel without paying.

The staffs are very polite and helpful but their managers have attitude problem. They are rude and proud. The managers kept asking us to settle the bill every night when we come back. They are holding out passports. Not sure what's the problem and the fear about. When we asked why, they say it's normal practice????

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ZengM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 200 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here for 7 days March 2014. The reception area is very bland and does nothing to make you feel excited to be there. The staff were okay - neither rude nor particularly firendly. The room was the hotel's only saving grace. I stayed in room 804 which was very large and very clean. Again, there was nothing to excite you about the room, you could have been in a hotel anywhere. Maybe the hotel's tactic is to bore you to death with blandness and by the time you get to your room anything will seem much nicer?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I am not a person to rant, but this needs to happen.
I didn't mind the hotel until we asked for something a little out of the normal. Due to the circumstances that where not normal. My partner got robbed and drugged and what they gave him he overdosed ending up in emergency. We went to police to get a report, they were less than helpful, a nice young man from the hotel came with us and he tried to help. We asked him to ask the boss for a letter to state to insurance that we have attempted to action and they would not help, we where refused this letter. Then I started thinking about the hotel....
I am listing the issues.
A rat in the building
Smelt really bad in hall ways
Smoking in halls
Security really poor
Safe broken
Pillows hard as rock and bed also
Hotel half not finished
We arrived and got sting for 25 bfast a day for really poor food
English very poor so hard to ask for directions etc, we went to Sheraton to ask for help.

Upsides
Location great
Clean rooms
Bfast staff helpful

Rank over

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hockrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, very good amenities, very clean, spacious room, terrific buffet breakfast. Gate 1 booked this hotel for our tour group. We had no previous experience with Vitnamese hotels and were pleased with this location.

Room Tip: All of the group members were pleased with the hotel choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The rooms are large, the beds ok and the how water system the quickest to warm up I have ever experienced anywhere ( you need to be careful when running a bath as it gets very hot very quickly.) Service fine, free wi fi easy to find and use . Breakfast ok would have preferred a greater choice . Room service would ave liked some western dishes .
For the price that I paid , using agoda, it was good.
Location is superb as very centrally located.

Room Tip: Try for one of the suites as they have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very communist retro decor, ineffective air-con. Staff and location great but idiosyncratic styling a slice of 50 years ago. worth going to see this alone. If they fixed the aircon, it is a cult hotel as is. Amazing living evidence of communist attempt to jump into the 60's/70's. Really, I do not want it upgraded, just fix the air and carpets. Real olympic style hall lights from 1976? or so.It would be sad to lose this Cultural revolution icon. Fabulous location.Do not renovate,it is a classic.Electrics unfathomable,10 bedroom lights,opening windows. GO stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lhourigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are large, it is well located, and breakfast in the gardens was lovely. Aside from that the air conditioning leaked all over the floor and was not fixed. The bathroom was moldy and leaky. The hallways were not clean, and the rooms smelled musty all the time from the leaking air conditioning. Pick somewhere else!!!!! I would not go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#129 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#52 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catina Hotel
Catina Hotel
#112 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#108 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#63 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#40 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Hotel

Address: 41 - 47 Dong Du Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $58 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saigon Hotel, perfectly located right in the commercial and tourist district of Ho Chi Minh City, is a great choice of 3 star hotel for both business and leisure travelers who want to experience Saigon’s bustling life.You can easily find most of the tourist attractions, shopping centers as well as various country restaurants in just a few minutes walk. The elegant decoration of Saigon Hotel makes a great impression on you about the culture and history of a well-known place: “Saigon - Ho Chi Minh City”.Your Warm & Friendly Saigon home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing