We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saigon Best Location”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #19 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2007

In front of the Park Hyatt, opposite the old French Opera. A very good location for this older 5 stars Asian own Hotel. The Caravelle has just been renovated and so far, it is my best experience in Saigon.

Welcoming staff, everybody will smile to you or propose help from the entrance to the room service. I booked a Signature room; they are in the old building (but totally renovated) area and have all comfort. You have access to the Signature Lounge with full business facilities from the morning to late. Without any additional cost, you also have free internet and free wi-fi. The top floor Saigon Bar is a must do also because you have a very beautiful overview of the city.

For the quality of service and very high standards, you pay almost half the price of the Sheraton Saigon for a much better service…
It is a very convenient location for Business travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chrisvovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,265 - 2,271 of 2,798 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2007

My husband and I booked the Caravelle based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The rooms are great to arrive to after a long trip, spacious, clean with very good amenities. We got a taxi from the airport but the hotel was happy to arrange transfer back and staff always very helpful. The concierge were happy to provide us with details of a great tailor in the city so my husband could have a suit made and also arrange for us to go on a trip to the Chi Chi tunnels. Although we booked room only we did have breakfast in the hotel one morning and found that there was a good variety of dishes to suit most tastes - including full english which was useful having visited Apocalypse Now nightclub (know locally as Apo!). Apo is really great fun with a good mix of tourists, expats and Vietnamese and seems to be busy every night! Due to the super location of the Caravelle it is really easy to explore the city and find lots of great restaurants and bars. If you turn left out of the boutique exit and walk along road there is a restaurant on right called Vietnamese House - the food is super and REALLY reasonable. We also ate in the Lemongrass which is also fab and is in the Lonely Planet guidebook (you can buy not so legitimate ones on the street if you have forgotten to purchase before you arrive!!) There are loads of bars within easy walking distance of the Caravelle, but it is worth having a cocktail (or icecream - which are huge) in the rooftop bar that over looks the city. It is worth packing an umberella though as the heavens have a tendancy to open but it dries up really quickly. We will definately go back to both HCMC and Caravelle.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ali_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

a nice hotel in an inetresting city. vey well located and the staff and locals and very friendly.

Ho Chi Minh (Saigon) is great for shopping and the food is sensational, but not much else.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinAJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We actually stayed at the Caravelle last year, in Oct/Nov, for our honeymoon. We decided on this as we had heard good reviews, and we were not disappointed. The location was fab, and as it was our honeymoon and we had just missed a special offer on the business rate, the hotel gave us an upgrade, we were also greeted with a special welcome cake. The service was faultless, and our room/suite was lovely. We loved our stay at the Caravelle.One small thing - the Saigon Saigon bar was a bit disappointing - we preferred the kitsch at the Rex! Overall though we really loved the Caravelle, and would return there again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krishv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2007

Very well located. Walking distance to most historical sites.
Nicely appointed rooms.
Efficient staff.
Reasonable value.
Would recommend.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank WLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

My daughters and I stayed at the Caravelle when in Ho Chi Minh. The breakfasts could not be faulted, service was great, fantastic central position in town but I felt overall the hotel was clean but a tad tired, Pool area was nice but a bit dated, though gym was quite good.

Overall very standard five star hotel nothing to really complain about but nothing to rave about. I was tossing up between the Caravelle and the Majestic, didnt see the rooms at the Majestic but felt the Caravelle was a lot more central, three women we did a lot of shopping so it was all there.

Must admit we did get a good deal at the Caravelle, breakfast included, try Aurora travel, located in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh, they gave us a great deal, seemed to match any deal I found on the net.

Saw the palace, bit of a bore don't bother. We just loved walking around the city experiencing the culture, we were always very safe, even walked to restaurants at night and didnt have any problems, three women alone and fine.

Thank dorothyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

When planning our Vietnam trip, our travel agent had no doubts, when we were in Saigon, we had to stay at the Caravelle. We agree with his choice and are thankful that he recommended it to us, for we were very comfortable indeed and found the location to be perfect.

We had a Signature room, on the 8th floor of the old building and had access to the Signature lounge throughout our stay. I would recommend this as great value - not only is breakfast available in the lounge, but free internet access (not brilliant, but adequate) and drinks/early evening supper is also there on offer. Avoiding the breakfast time scrum in the main restaurant in the lobby has to be a bonus and the delightful staff in the Signature lounge are happy to help with requests/local advice.

Our room was a pretty standard five star bedroom, plenty of space and well equipped. The shower was good and powerful enough to wash away and lingering jet lag, and the toiletries were high standard, "boutique brand".

Above all, it was great to have Saigon there on our doorstep. This is an hotel with a bit of bustle, some atmosphere and a place where people meet. We felt very much at home and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,707 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#11 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
Sheraton Saigon Hotel & Towers
#30 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#57 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#40 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $97 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing