We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality, no complaints”
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #13 of 453 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“High quality, no complaints”
Reviewed June 19, 2007

This hotel compares well with high quality international hotels anywhere I have stayed. Rooms are a good size, comfortable, high standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel. Bathrooms large and well laid out, also well lit; towels and robes excellent quality. Staff are friendly and courteous, although don't expect the kind of personal service you get in Thailand. Automatic power back up (generator) in the hotel so you don't finish up in the dark when the city power goes out. However, bedside lighting is not good, lamps cannot be angled and are too dim for reading. On the other hand, a comfortable desk and chair and excellent broadband internet are in the room - the latter at a considerable cost however on a 24 hour basis, so if you don't need it much, go to the Business Centre or find an Internet cafe outside.

Pool and gym are oustanding.

Breakfast is lavish with a huge array of options (but don't take the pho noodles, much better quality outside the hotel). Other dining options are limited and like many quality hotels in Vietnam there is no relatively low-cost cafe-style place inside the hotel. But there are plenty of places to eat nearby, although menus can be odd. Be warned about coffee, though: it is strong, bitter and not from an espresso machine.


Rates direct from the hotel are excellent, recommend direct booking as with most other good hotels in Vietnam.

  • Liked — Almost everything was excellent
  • Disliked — Bed lighting
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann-de-Mot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,560
    826
    193
    39
    23
See reviews for
357
1,086
157
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We usually stay at the Renaissance Riverside in a riverview room but it was fully booked for the New Years (not Tet) holiday. We were booked into the Caravelle and I was terribly disappointed. No matter what we did with the air conditioning controls ... the room was extremely cold...! My husband wanted a hair cut....was sent to the spa (which was closed for refurbishing but no one told him that.) Then sent to an expensive 'barber shop' on Dong Khoi....we did have an exceptional Asian meal for the two of us on New Years Eve (we left early the next morning for our trip back to Honolulu.

The main dining area of the Caravelle is crowded and noisy. This year we're trying the Rex Hotel for the sake of nostalgia.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room...
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Guffeygabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

The last minute packing is normal if you are too busy with work, especilly in business travel. Furthermore, this is not my 1st time staying in CARAVELLE HOTEL.

On Saturday morning,26/5/2007,woke up at 6 a.m. That morning,around 7a.m. I realized some thing is not right with my SILK BLOUSE. The laundry department mishandled three (3) of my "silk blouse" that cost USD500. I instructed 'dry cleaning' on the laundry list, and put in separate laundry bag, but they cleaned it as the regular wash. Due to the washing procedure, the color of my blouse faded and became very crumple with lots of hot iron stain..Your department personnel even hid my 3 SILK BLOUSE between other "normal cotton blouse"(working Shirt) .

They should inform me the matter. Later, I complained to the laundry department,. A staff that cannot communicate in simple "ENGLISH" attended my problem. I immediately insist to see his Manager. Instead of being attended immediately, i had to wait 30 mins before she arrive. Nothing is solved due to my flight schedule to Kuala Lumpur at 11am, and checked in at airport 9am. I actually arrived at airport beyond the stipulated time and almost missed my flight. The only compensation was free service for the mishandled blouse, which in actual fact customized & purchased from my frequently travels to Indonesia.

I sincerely hope the management improve the laundry service.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank shanacute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Very nice hotel with great service. Fabulous breakfast buffet included. Rooms were nice with a huge bed. We had an extra large room with a sitting area. We paid way too much for this hotel by going through a web site in Vietnam. Book it directly with the hotel and save half of the money. Great location.

  • Liked — Breakfast and nice rooms
  • Disliked — Paid twice what we should have by using Vietnam Agency.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

We booked the one (and only) 2 bedroom suite at the Caravelle for a recent 2 night stay. Perfect choice for us 3 travelers and would be excellent for 2 couples or people with children. Suite is HUGE! There's a long entryway with half bath. To your right is a separate bedroom with 2 double beds, full bath and good size balcony that you can step out to and watch the nightlife below.
To left of entryway is large living area, with BIG TV, sofa, chairs, eating area with table/chairs & mini bar, desk, curved picture window the length of the living area with great view. Then go through another door to 2nd bedroom that has king bed, walk in closet & large bathroom. Lots of privacy between rooms. Club floor lounge was one floor up and offered excellent service, decent breakfast & snacks. Had one computer w/internet (but more available downstairs in business center). Hotel in perfect location for walking around HCMC, near great shops & restaurants. Our entire Vietnam/Cambodia journey was arranged by a wonderful Vietnam-based travel agency Luxury Travel Vietnam. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank TEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed in the Caravelle in March while on business in HCM. I had previously stayed in the Sofitel but had not been pleased with service there during my last stays.

Reception at the Caravelle was very friendly and staff was helpful, a great difference to the Sofitel. Prices are at about the same level, but my room on the Club Floor seemed much better value. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank FranzXaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2007

This was a last minute booking as we were staying at the Park Hyatt across the street. Expedia lost our reservations but had our money. Park Hyatt had neither and had no rooms. Caravelle was short on rooms and upgraded us to a suite. Great view and great room. I would stay here again.

Loved the coffee place across the street and the little bar across the street too. Great coffee.

When visiting Saigon, bring US$. They love them there.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 453 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing