We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the Sofitel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravelle Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caravelle Saigon
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better than the Sofitel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed in the Caravelle in March while on business in HCM. I had previously stayed in the Sofitel but had not been pleased with service there during my last stays.

Reception at the Caravelle was very friendly and staff was helpful, a great difference to the Sofitel. Prices are at about the same level, but my room on the Club Floor seemed much better value. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank FranzXaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    810
    185
    39
    21
See reviews for
338
1,053
154
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

This was a last minute booking as we were staying at the Park Hyatt across the street. Expedia lost our reservations but had our money. Park Hyatt had neither and had no rooms. Caravelle was short on rooms and upgraded us to a suite. Great view and great room. I would stay here again.

Loved the coffee place across the street and the little bar across the street too. Great coffee.

When visiting Saigon, bring US$. They love them there.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

Stayed at the Caravelle Ho Chi Minh from 3 to 5 April 2007. Booked directly with the hotel the Business package at USD158++/night

1) Swimming pool
Went to the pool on both April 3 and 4.
- Staff at the pool bar were observed eating/snacking behind the bar on both days
- One had to either go to the bar or wave hands at staff in order to order a beverage. No one would approach any guest automatically in order to offer ANY service.
- Ordered a fresh OJ one morning. It took 15 minutes for the drink to arrive. No other guests at the pool at this time. The orange juice was served in a glass and not in a shatterproof acrylic glass which is basic standard at any pool for obvious reasons.
- On the second morning I brought a can of Red Bull to the pool and asked for a glass with ice only. Was told there was no ice yet and I could go and ask at the Spa!!! Where's the basic service??? Went to the spa and was told to go to the pool bar!!
Worst thing is that the supervisor (lady in grey suit) was a witness to this and she did nothing about bit but continued chit chatting with the pool bar attendant and not caring about the guests as usual. This supervior was also observed doing her make-up by using the mirror in the gym, right in front of the pool-
- Staff and supervisor observed on both days standing chit-chatting for 15 over minutes, not paying attention to the guests again.
- There is clearly no sequnce of service in place for the pool. No drinks offered; no consistency in offering cold towels; no greeting/thanking good bye, no beverage service
- You should provide caps/head gear for the staff because thy use service trays to block out the sun from the face when walking around the pool.

2) Saigon Saigon bar
- Great view
- No cocktail napkins given to guests when ordering drinks
- No snacks/nipples served with drinks'
- Drinking straws too short for the long cocktail glasses.
- Red wine by the glass too warm
- Difficult to get the attention of staff, even when not busy
- Staff did not acknoweldge drink orders

3) Maid service
- Asked a maid for ice. Had no idea what I was talking about
- One afternoon I was resting and the maid asked if she could spray the room against mosquitos (while I was in the room taking a rest!!)

4) Reception
- No one explained hotel facilities, breakfast arrangements atc upon check in
- No one made an effort in upselling restaurants or spa

5) Front door
- Always 4 to 5 staff observed standing around, but no one would actually greet incoming/outgoing guests

6) Great Easter chocolate amenity received

Management of this hotel need to shape up if they want to compete with Hyatt accross the road.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank CopenhagenTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2007

The plusses of the Caravelle are it's location and business service - my wife and I stayed on the club floor which was quite evidently used by a lot of regular vistors, something which recommends the hotel in itself. The room we had was excellent, all the trappingsof a top hotel.
However, it does have a couple of niggling issues that might make it unsuitable for a visitor. The Saigon Bar, entrance via the 9th floor, is a popular and loud attraction. The rooms on the 9th floor close to it are definately disturbed. Although there is a security gaurd between it and the guest rooms he cannot stop the noise. However, some of the guests like to party so if you want peace, get a room away from here.
I would stay here again, but think there are other options in the area so likely to explore further on the next visit.

  • Liked — Location, quality
  • Disliked — A little bit of indifference, some of the clientelle's habits.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

Mum and I stayed at both the Caravelle and Sofitel Plaza in February 2007 - the Sofitel Plaza cost us US$5 less than the Caravelle.

Mum loved the Caravelle for its fabulous locations - walking distance to shops and restaurants. Mum also loved the breakfast - fresh and variety. She said she would definitely stay there again.

For me, I agreed with Mum (on both location and breakfasts) but I needed to have access to the internet so I could do emails and speak to hubby on skype for free (otherwise it would cost a fortune in phone calls) and the Sofitel Plaza had free broadband in the room (real easy to use - just plug cable into laptop and go!) The in-room internet at the Caravelle was not free (forgot the cost, but appeared expensive). I also liked the bathroom layout at the Sofitel Plaza much better - and the shower was better.

It is hard to say where I would stay again if we come back to HCM - if the Caravelle introduces free internet connection, then I will definitely stay there again (could not fault the location for the price we paid). Sheraton and Hyatt would have been nicer, but much more pricier.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank hotelreviews06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

Stayed here in January on business. Location is right in the main area where you can easily walk to all areas such as the market, shopping and some tourist sites. Food in the hotel was more western than anything, but rooms are pleasant and comfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JenM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2007

We stayed at the Caravelle for 4 days in Febraury and enjoyed the convenience and amenities of the Hotel. Interestingly reading some reviews recently the problems some people complained of were not an issue for us. We asked if we could arrange a late checkout as the plane to Australia didn't elave until 9pm and this was arranged by our travel agents (Travel Indochina - I would highly recommned them)- cost us some extra but the benefits of being ale to go back and shower after a day in a pretty hot city was worth every cent.
We also had breakfast included in the tariff so we couldn't complain thee and it was amongst the best breakfast around. Great pastries- almost the best this side of France, good range of cusines and options for breakfast- really good pho.
Rooms were very comfortable- we had a good view looking over the msoque and down to the river so quite scenic. Nice comfortable bed and reasonably spacious- a fairly typical 4-5 star standard room- no great character but secure, well cleaned and maintained
Pool is very nice to get in when most days were 36degrees- not a lot of sun exposure but given skin cancer warning that suits me.
the loaction is very convenient to central HCMC - we liked the Majestic a few years ago but the Caravelle has a better location for being a tourist.
Saigon saigon bar is fine- so long as the awful Flipino band isn't playing- just shocking stuff- so loud that all converstaion is drowned out and certainly not to my liking. Drinks reasonably expensive but what do you expect. Personally we liked the lobby lounge as could watch the street go by and no-where near as noisy at night. drinks the same price. Quite specatcaular at night as we were there just before Tet and the light show on the Opera House was great.
I woudl stay here again simply for its convenience and comfort

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — The band in Saigon Saigon bar
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank burgo1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic Saigon
Hotel Majestic Saigon
#42 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Saigon

Property: Caravelle Saigon
Address: 19-23 Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Caravelle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#6 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#10 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#12 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravelle Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Saigon is one of Ho Chi Minh City's leading international 5-star hotels - in the centre of the business, shopping and entertainment district, 8 km from Tan Son Nhat International Airport. The Hotel opened in 1959 with modern design combining French and Vietnamese architecture and to this day the address and service ensures we have kept our iconic landmark status in the Heart of Saigon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Caravelle Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Ho Chi Minh City
Caravelle Hotel Saigon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing